Landscaping, Projects, Helping with the Kids and Meal prep on a little paradise on Vancouver Island, BC, Canada

  • Enregistré comme favori 238 fois
  • Activité récente: 14 juin 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins trois semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    US AND THE LAND:

    Our little family is on 50 acres in the Comox Valley of Vancouver Island, British Columbia. Black Creek is tucked between crystal clear streams, mountain lakes, wildflower meadows and beautiful white sand beaches - it's a quiet little paradise in the North end of the Comox Valley.

    Here we, Christina (38) and John (37), live with our family, Julianna (6) and our son Finn (18 months). We also share the land with dear friends Hartley (28) and Emily (29)

    We have a small retreat centre here and occasionally host groups but also have a cut flower farm, 10 acres of pasture, 40 acres of forrest, a few farm animals like chickens, ducks and goats and 3 dogs.

    A FEW HIGHLIGHTS OF OUR AREA:

    Saratoga Beach - epic white soft sand beach (5 mins), Oyster River - many spots for walks and plunges (5-10 mins), Salmon Point - a gorgeous Ocean-side 5km well maintained path (5 min), Nymph Falls - epic waterfalls and swimming holes (20 mins), Comox Lake - beautiful for walking, hiking and swimming (30 mins), Cumberland - super fun little town with great restaurants, the best ice cream and right beside epic mountain biking and hiking (25 mins), Mount Washington - alpine meadow hiking and camping (25 mins), and so much more!

    LENGTH OF STAY:

    We'd like a minimum of a 3 week commitment and would welcome a longer stay. There's a lot to do in this valley and we'll gladly try and help you make the most of your stay.

    FOOD:

    We will provide kitchen staples as well as a weekly allowance for groceries. Either you can take a car and hit the local grocery which is a 5 minute drive or you can give a list to us and we can do the shop. When time allows we'd love to share meals together.

    TRANSPORT:
    You can take the ferries and arrive at a bus stop that is a 5 minute drive from our house. There is infrequent public transit that can take you to town that is about a 10 minute bike ride away. We have a couple of bikes and a car available for occasional use. You can tag along for grocery shop runs into town and borrow a vehicle once in a while to go to the mountain, beaches etc and you're welcome to tag along with us when we go.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    Aide dans une ferme
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Getting back to the land!

    Connecting with nature.

    Connection with the wisdom of traditional cultures; we sometimes play host to sweats and ceremony.

    We have a network of very cool folks in this neighbourhood that you can connect with.

    We have a great outdoor gym and do workouts all together a couple times a week.

    We love to cook together and share meals outside.

    We have access to amazing outdoor activities: Stand Up paddle boarding, mountain biking, fishing, hiking. Stunning beach 5 minutes away, a beautiful riverside park that you can walk to, alpine meadows, lakes and hiking are a 25 minute drive. 4 funky little towns with lots to explore a 25 min drive away.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    This would be a 5 hrs/day position. You would be living either in the barn described below or in a beautiful tent with mattress and hammock that is near the geo dome described below and the outdoor kitchen and shower.

    Chores:

    We've got a number of daily and weekly tasks that we'd like support with such as caring for animals, watering gardens and lawn care


    Projects:

    We have an abundance of garden and landscaping maintenance each year that doesn't require skill so much as willingness to learn and move quickly and efficiently.

    We're thrilled anytime we can play host to a builder.
    Next up? a sauna, swing set, ropes course, pizza oven and outdoor gathering area.


    Meal Prep:
    We've hosted a chef before and loved it. Cooking for big groups to eat all together, filling up the freezer and processing foods from the gardens are all super valuable for us.

    Childminding:

    We'd be very grateful for daily playtime with our kids, age 6 and 18 months.

    So what does this look like?

    Creating some structured activities whether it's play, art, language or learning for our daughter. Any Spanish language experience would be great as our daughter is learning Spanish as we live in Mexico half of the year.

    Julianna loves to be physical, adores active playtime and creativity whether with art, imagination games or exploring outdoors. J is in day care 2 days a week so help for us here would look like excited and enthusiastic engagement, following her lead with make believe and imagination, getting on the bikes and going for a bike ride, playing on the trampoline, making forts, learning basic math, abc's, Spanish practice, art time etc.

    With our son, the big help would be attentive and engaged babysitting. Stroller rides around the farm, safe playtime and engagement via books, new sensory experiences


    A few things we've learned from hosting the last couple years:
    - We love duos or couples!
    - We happily match efforts you make in trying to make your stay with us meaningful, meaning that we notice when you show up on time, and work hard.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    We are actively working on Spanish!

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have 3 areas available for work aways to stay.

    1. The Barn: is a fully furnished and newly renovated gathering space with living room, bathroom, kitchen and bedroom. This is a space we use for hosting retreat groups but when there are no groups occupying the space we want to open it up to Work-Away.

    2. The Sleeping Dome and glamping bell tent: We recently constructed a new 22 foot diameter geodesic dome and adjacent bell tent that are set up for retreat guests and Workaways. Adjacent is a (beautiful) composting toilet (made by a french furniture making workaway!), outdoor shower and camp kitchen (complete with stove, oven, fridge and coffee set up)

    3. RV site: If you have a trailer, camper-van or small RV we have a fully serviced, 30 amp site with septic hookup adjacent to the flower farm.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We share the land with another young couple. Between us there's a lot of fun things we can connect you with – we've got a good bit of experience on the island and can direct you towards many sorts of adventures.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We installed StarLink internet so our uptime and speed is looking good!

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have a beautiful, fully serviced 30amp RV plug and sani connection site that is perfect for campervans and small rvs

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    MAXIMUM 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 533753836141

Feedback (5)



Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








Help us around our family farm and discover Canadian culture in Beautiful Nakusp, Canada
Come work on Galiano Island, Canada