Help us in our historic farm in the northern part of Hurup, Denmark



Enregistré comme favori 311 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Badges

    Super Host

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins trois semaines

  • Description


    25/04/21 a note on the current situation with Corona Virus: * At the moment the covid-19 situation is getting better in DK, and you are welcome to contact us for a stay. We will happily receive you but we organize your stay a bit different than normally, for your and our protection :). That means that you will have to test before arriving here, and we will try and keep social distance for the first days and then test again :). There is test facilities 8 km from the farm - so quite easy. Keep safe and perhaps see you soon :).*
    Our place is an old fjord farm in the northern part of Denmark - in Thy. The farm dates back to the 15th century and the area is brimming with old history from the Bronze Age and the Viking Age in Denmark. The farm is situated beautifully directly at Skibsted Fjord - where you can see thousands of birds in the season, collect oysters, fish and swim.

    We are living 3 generations together on the farm - working and dreaming together. Me and my husband, our 2 kids age 12 and 15 and my parents that are both in their 70thies.

    We run the farm as a b&b / holiday / retreat center and we also breed Hereford Cattle … and we have Orpington chickens, a fat cat, a very tiny one and 2 Labrador dogs. In the summertime there are always guests on the farm - on regular holiday or doing a course or attending a retreat (for an example painting, surfing, yoga). In the winter time it is more quiet and I normally (but not now due to covid-19) teach a lot of yoga on the farm - and I'm currently trying to build up more retreat and course activities.

    We LOVE our old place that are in our care until the next generations are taking over, the nature, the buildings, the animals, the fruits, the garden, the water - and we ALWAYS have a lot of projects going on - and always to little time to do them all :). The farm is big and there are always a lot of maintenance work on the old houses - painting, woodwork and smaller construction work. The big projects right now are the first administrative steps of a renovation of our old stable - where we want to make a new yoga hall and a new breakfast / eating room + a kitchen and the last part of redecorating a cottage nearby the farm.
    Over the summer of 2020 we have been working a lot on redesigning a new vegetable garden, building a yoga terrasse and vegetable house ... and these projects will still need some attention in the coming months.

    The smaller projects for the rest of the year and next year (some need to do, some nice to do): we dream about constructing an outdoor sauna, an outdoor baking oven, chalk the stables inside, paint the roof, give love to our old apple forest nearby the farm, learn how to make honey, spend more time on our marketing, discover Instagram AND spend time designing yoga clothing that are not made out of polyester :).

    Who are we?
    My husbond works as a highschool teacher - and teaches philosophy and mathematics. I have several educations, in literature, modern culture, Chinese, public management and ledership, grafic facilitation and yoga & meditation (Kundalini and Yin Yoga). I mainly work on the farm, and I also run a small yoga business, where I teach classes, do workshops and facilitates retreats here on the farm. I also have a small company doing consulting jobs in the cultural sector. My parents are now retired from their jobs as journalist and nurse - and they are both very active and participates in a lot of the tasks on the farm. In the summertime we normally also have an employee living on the farm that are helping us with the cleaning and gardening.

    We are very big on food. We bake most of our bread, and we cook wholesome fresh food every day. I love to use wild nature and our own farm products in the cooking.

    We love music - My husband has a huge record collection and he's a hi fi 'nerd' - building loud speakers etc. I play the Gong, the piano and I'm currently learning how to play the church organ and the Indian Harmonium. The kids plays violin and piano. We also love newspapers, books and quality film and tv-series.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    25/04/21: Note due to the COVID-19 the activities on the farm is still reduced, even though things are slowly opening up again. But we always try to make the best out of the situation :).

    BUT NORMALLY it is like this:
    When you come to stay here you will be a part of the family and you will learn a lot about the danish lifestyle.

    You will experience how life is at an Scandinavian agriturismo farm that opens up to a lot of different people - and where the passion is about food production and preparation, a life style closer to nature, yoga, activities in nature such as surfing, gathering foods and tending to our old buildings. And we are very interested in learning new things and methods from you.

    You will also experience a active working community - where everybody are motivated to make the impossible possible.

    When I have yoga events you are welcome to participate for free. If you are interested in learning more about how to run your own place, do retreats etc. this could alsom be a interesting place for you.

    Although it is sometimes very busy in the house, there is time for coffee or tea and a chat. We help each other with the duties in the daily life.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    There are MANY different possibilities for you to help with here on Skibstedgaard, depending on your skills and interests! Here are som of the main things where we could use an extra hand :)

    1. GARDENING! We have a VERY big garden, so if you like to work with gardening, it would great with a helping hand / try out your own projects in the garden. We have both a conventional garden with flowers etc. - and an large work-in-progress perma culture garden/vegetable garden.

    a) We still need some help in the cottage that we are working to conform it into a lovely yoga/artist cottage. So if you know woodwork, painting and landscape work we would love to work with you. The summer house overlooks the fjord and ocean.
    b) I need help preparing the renovation of our stable. Right now we spend some time cleaning up and preparing the building for the project - and it would be great with a helping hand.

    3. SMALL CONSTRUCTIONS! This year and next year I need help to renovate an old garage into a vegetable house. And I also dream of building a sauna and an outdoor baking oven.

    4. FOREST! Working in the forest - we have a little forest - part of it is with fruit trees. And the forest really needs attention. So if you have experience with forestry please don't hesitate to come stay with us. We also needs help to plant new trees as wind shields etc.

    5. ART! If you are an artist we welcome you if you want to help us giving the summerhouse the right facilities and maybe enrich it with your own art or even arrange a local workshop :). 3 kilometers from the farm the Danish national gallery are establishing a branch - so quite a lot of interesting art events are taking place in 2021/22 in the area.

    6. DAILY FARM WORK. We can always need extra help the daily chores on our farm.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Allemand: Débutant
    Français: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    German - we would all love to improve our spoken german :).

  • Hébergement


    There are several opportunities depending of the amount of people you are and the season:

    1. We have a small apartment in the main building that we rent out for turists in the season. There are two bedrooms and a living room and a kitchen and bathroom - so if you are a couple or friends, you can stay there, when we don't rent it out.

    2. You can stay in the cottage where we are currently working with the perma-garden. The summer house is 600 meters from the farm.

    3. There is a small room behind the kitchen in the main house with a bathroom, where you can stay if you travel solo.

    4. If you are the outdoor type - you are welcome to camp while you are here. We have tents etc. that you can use.

    Breakfast is informal - you help your self with cereals etc.
    We eat lunch together monday-friday - danish style.
    We eat together some nights every week, when all is home and the energy feels right - and we have good food to share :). Other evenings you fix your own food - you can use the products from the garden, and we will pay for other ingrediences you might need.

    In the weekends you eat on your own. If you stay in the apartment or summer house you cook on your own / or with other work awayers. If you are living in the house - you will get your food from us.

    We will provide bed linnen and towels. We expect that you will clean your own room while you are staying with us - and that you clean and tidy up before you leave us :).

    We love to cook - and we love to eat and try new food - so if you like to cook, you are welcome to take over the kitchen once in a while and cook your favorite dishes for us.

    Please let us know if you have any allergies.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The train station is only 3 km away from the farm - with direct connections to the near by citys. There are direct trains to Copenhagen every day (4,5 hours by train).
    The nearest airport is Midtjyllands Airport / Aalborg Airport / Billund Airport.
    The local bus runs by the farm (but not so often).
    We have bikes on the farm that you can borrow while you are here.

    We will be happy to pick you up at the train station when you arrive. If we have the time we can also arrange for you to be picked up in the Airports :).

    While you are here there are a lot of nice nature events and cultural events that you can participate in. Some stuff is for free - some cost money.

    If you like surfing the place is very close to the 30 super surf spots called Cold Hawaii.

    If you like nature - you are living right in it - and we are very close to the National Park in Thy.

    And you can also just hang out here on the farm - enjoy swimming, walking, reading, doing yoga etc. :)

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

N° de référence hôte : 526411939795