Welcome to our family, experience French life style in Vendée, France

Country

France

Enregistré comme favori 193 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    15  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    16.05.2022

  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    74

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 17 jours

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hey there ! Are you looking for an immersion in a French family to share active daily life, to boost your French with a teacher, and to visit our historical region ? Welcome at home !

    I am a French teacher (literature and language skills). My husband, Dominique, is a technical auditor in electricity and fire safety. From July 2022 we will work only from home and will be traveling quite frequently on business trips.

    We share our life between two places : an apartment in the city center in Angers (Loire Valley) and a country house in the south of Vendée. There is an hour and a half drive between the two places. Because of Laurence's job, we may also have to travel for quite a long time in France or abroad and, in this case, we will search volunteers to take care about Owen, who will be homeschooling from July 2022. It means that you could have to travel with Laurence (and Owen) during a few weeks.

    We are a family who loves to discover different cultures by travelling and meeting foreigners. We love cooking, discussing, playing board games (a lot !), reading, gardening, traveling the world, meeting friends, laughing, swaping our home, visiting our region and our country. We love art, photography, cinema, literature, history, politic, philosophy, world cuisine.

    We have got 3 very sympathetic and openminded children : Zoé (2000), Noah (2003) and Owen (2012). From July 2022, we will just live with Owen because Zoé will study in Paris and Noah in Angers.

    We have two cats, Kochka and Licorice. We also have a little lovely Cavalier King Charles called Poppy.

    The house in Vendée is an old house that we have been renovating for ten years. It is located in a very small village in the countryside of South of Vendée. There are a lot of things to manage in the house and in the garden (1,5 hectare) and the list of works evolves all the time.

    We therefore expect polite volunteers, respectful of people and places, curious to discover deeply our culture and grateful for the efforts we will make to share it with pleasure, motivated for work as well as for fun, having the sense of humor and last but not least..... clean !

    We care about the environment and we expect that volunteers respect our way of life regarding the economy of water and energy. For the same reasons, we have a healthy, organic and rather vegetarian diet (but not exclusively).

    So if you want to come here, be openminded, enthusiastic and easygoing !

    Sorry, we don't welcome smokers.

    I like reaching out through a Skype session as to get to know each other before the real meeting :)

    Our profile is written in English so we can reach more people on Workaway's platform. However, we expect volunteers to be able to interact with us in French as Dominique and Owen don't speak English, and to make our daily life easier ! So please, write us in French to show us your motivation !

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    - You will share our daily life : meals, outings, discussions... and you will improve your french language !

    - I can help you to study french language, thanks to my job.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We are looking for two types of volunteers :

    ** someone who can stay at least 1 month to participate in Owen's education (teaching languages ​​-English, German, Japanese-, sports, creative arts, sciences) and to do housework. To take care of Owen 3 hours a day, it's necessary to be patient, imaginative, creative and to speak French (A2 minimum). If I need to travel for work, I will take Owen most of the time, so you have to come with me !

    ** someone for specific works in the country house in Vendée : paint doors and windows, mount a wall and grout it, install a gate, garden, plant trees or flower beds, cut and store wood, take care of the vegetable garden ... Volunteers can stay at least two weeks.

    We can welcome 2 volunteers in the same time.

    We don't look for specific skills. Just some resourceful and meticulous people. All work of renovation or garden is done with us as a team. We always explain how to do it and provide you with the necessary equipment.

    We appreciate volunteers who know how to cook and can easily prepare lunch. When Dominique and I do the renovations, we can't prepare the meals at the same time. That's why we need you!

    We ask for 25 hours of working per week but it's flexible, it depends of your needs and ours. As a family ;)

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Français: Courant
    Anglais: Intermédiaire
    Allemand: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    I'm always interested in improving my english skills. Very important for me to find someone who can help me to brush up on my old German skills !! And I want to learn Asian languages : Korean, Mandarin, Japanese. I am a French teacher so I can really help you in grammar, vocabulary, literature, history, written skills, prepare for a DELF-DALF exam.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You will benefit of a bedroom with bathroom.

    We provide you 3 meals a day. I wash your clothes. We share a family life with regard to leisure and outings.

    We ask you to bring clothes that can be ruined or stained and safety shoes.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Our place in Vendée is situated in the crossroads of the biggest places of interest of the region : Puy du Fou, Marais Poitevin, the Atlantic coast (Les Sables D'Olonne, Jard sur Mer, La Tranche sur Mer...) , big cities as Nantes, Niort and La Rochelle, a lot of little castles (Talmont, Saint-Mesmin, Bazoges...).

    However, it's very isolated and there are only 400 inhabitants in our village ! Any shops or clubs. So you must really love the countryside to come to our place. If you want to visit the region, you need to take the bus, the train or the car. And there is nothing less than 20 minutes to one hour away by car !
    I can help you to organize your trips and visits and I will also be happy to show you the region and the sites you are interested in. The best solution for visiting the region by yourself is to rent a car.

    To arrive at home, there are two main airports : Nantes and Paris (CDG or ORY). Then, you will have to catch a train or a bus (it's cheaper) to La-Roche-Sur-Yon or Luçon. We can pick you up there.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il aimait accueillir les digital nomads.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have a plot of one and a half hectares.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Just non-dangerous and well-behaved dog especially with cats. No cats (because of ours), no rates.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    25 hours a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.8)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)












N° de référence hôte : 522357562797