Building a self-sustaining lifestyle in Őrség, Hungary

  • Hongrie
  • Enregistré comme favori 50 fois
  • Activité récente: 10 juil. 2023



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine



  • Description


    Dear Workawayers,


    After 15 years of a beautiful, meaningful, joyful and spiritual wandering in the world, I decided to settle down and start a self-sustaining lifestyle in my beloved country, Hungary. In August, 2018 I was very fortunate to be able to purchase a beautiful piece of land in one of the most attractive part of Hungary, in Őrség. Őrség is located in the West at the border of Slovenia and Austria. The area has been announced as a World Heritage thus it is a very ancient, powerful and energetic part of Hungary. The village - where I own a 3300 m2 land with a river at the hedge - called Szőce. It is a very small village but with a very big heart.

    This area is full of touristical attractions, lakes, rivers, thermal spas, tracking places and very high energetic places. I would mention here the Energy Field in Dobrovnik/Slovenia that has 26 energy spots where just by sitting tremendous healing can be experienced by the visitors. So indeed, Őrség is full of magic and attractions.

    My dream is to start a self-sustaining living on my land. I already have a yurt and a mobile home that will serve as my home. Besides these things the land and the whole project have to be started from scratch. Basically I have no experience in farming, plantation, ground working, building compost toilet, shower, etc so I would love to host anybody and everybody who can help me in all this. In a longer term I wish to host retreats on the land and build a community as well, but this is for the more distant future.

    I'm planning to start the field works in June and can host 2 Workawayers at the same time. As the project starts from scratch, all the tools, machines, etc need to be rented or purchased, depending on the possibilities. I'd be very happy to share this project work with anyone and everybody who has skills, experiences and knowledge about self-sustaining living, and in return they can discover the beauty of this World Heritage called Őrség.

    Personally me I have no experience or knowledge about self-sustaining living. I wish to exchange your knowledge with mine that concerns yoga, health, vegan life style, etc. The most important is that we both learn something new on the way and spend quality time together.

    I hope to host you soon!

    UPDATE 2023 MAY:

    Dear Workawayers,

    4 years has passed since I started this project in Hungary and there are many things that were fulfilled and changed since then. I would like to give you an update about these changes.

    With the help of 3 helpful workawayers, 4 local people, my parents and many others We managed to put the Yurt on to land with a temporary foundation. We built a summer kitchen, planted 12 fruit trees and the hedge that serves as the fence for the front. The garden was started & maintained by 3 gardeners but this year I would like to build
    Wooden Raised Planters.

    If you feel like you would be a great support to this project please feel free to contact me.

    Much Love,

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et construction
    Aide dans une ferme
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    All the Workawayers can benefit from the beautiful sightseeings in Őrség, thermal spas, tracking, lakes, nature, touristical attractions, energy and healing fields located very close to the land. This is one thing.

    The other thing is that I'm very happy to share everything that I learnt during the 15 year of wandering in the world:

    *️️️️️️️️️️ Yoga daily practices
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Meditation techniques
    *️️️️️️️️ Working out
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Breathing techniques
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Inner work methods
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Vegan lifestyle
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Hula-Hooping

    I wish to work on this project with Workawayers who would be happy to work and also spend time in nature and do daily yoga/meditation practices together with me.

  • Aide


    I'm searching for Workawayers who have experiences, knowledge and skills in the following fields of work in this project.

    1. Working on the land:
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Cutting grass
    *️️️ Maintaining the hedge
    *️️️️️️️️️ Creating a garden
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Planting vegetables and herbs
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Maintaining the river bank
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Maintaining the trees

    2. Yurt
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Putting together the yurt
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Constructing a wooden foundation for the yurt
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Placing this wooden structure on the land and place the yurt (6m Diameter) on it

    3. Mobile Home:
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Painting the outside surface
    *️️️️️️️️️ Put linoleum inside
    *️️️️️️️ Renovate the roof & front of the caravan
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Creating a small garden and sitting area around the caravan

    4. Landscape
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Creating pathways on the land
    * Constructing a holder from wooden pallets for the chopped trees for the stove
    * Cleaning the space in the small forest area for placing a cabin there in the near future

    5. For remaining self-sustained:
    *️ Compost toilet
    *️ Compost area
    *️ Outdoor shower
    *️ Creating the water system for collecting rain water

    If you have any skills and experiences in these activities, I'd be very happy to host you in Szőce.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Hungarian: Courant
    Hollandais: Intermédiaire
    Russe: Débutant

  • Hébergement


    I can accommodate 2 Workawayers at the same time. It is optional:

    *️️️️️️️️️️ Tent for the most adventurous ones. The tent would be placed on the land.
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Bed in the Mobile Home that is placed on the land.
    * Mattress in the Yurt when it is not under maintenance.
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Bed in a room for 2 persons on the neighbouring land, with shower.

    At the moment the situation is quite nomadic on the land so I can provide only these possibilities to sleep. The bath can be taken in the outside bath, in the small stream at the end of the land, or very occasionally at the neighbour. The food will be prepared on the land. As I follow a vegan lifestyle, the food I will provide will always be 100% plant based, either raw or cooked outdoor. I have to inform you that non veg food can be taken by the Workawayers only outside of the land and it would remain the responsibility of the guest. As my philosophy is based on non-violance, I do not support non veg eating on the land. But I can promise you that all the food will be prepared with love and will be very tasty and delicious...

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    To reach Szőce from Budapest or Vienna is possible by bus. There are major cities around this village such as:
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Sopron
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Szombathely
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Zalaegerszeg
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Graz

    *️️️️️️️️️️ Energy park in Dobrovnik/Slovenia
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Vadása tó - one of the greatest lake in Hungary
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Thermal spas
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Tracking & Biking ( Bikes will be provided)

    Bus stop is located not far from the land.

    Workawayers would be picked up by me in any of the big cities around the village. This has to be arranged before arrival.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Cet hôte a dit qu’il acceptait les personnes voyageant avec un animal.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 519975837396


Rejoignez une communauté ouverte et dynamique, partage et bienveillance en Hongrie
Help me with my goats in a little Hungarian village in Zala County