Pallet wood projects and gardening in the Dordogne, France

  • Enregistré comme favori 32 fois
  • Activité récente: 3 avr. 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    I'm Howard. I'm from the UK originally, but now enjoying life in the Dordogne, France. I typically host a Workaway couple and we work together on garden and carpentry projects. I use wooden pallets to build tiny houses, tables, vegetable beds, garden boxes, gates, doors and wood stores, with lots more ideas and plans coming up.

    A little about me: I have 4 grown-up children, and recently 2 grandchildren, with another due in 2024. I live in a rural area surrounded by fields, which produce corn, wheat or sunflowers during the summer. There are beautiful walks, cycle tracks, markets and coffee shops & restaurants close by.

    For work I'm the chairman of a company that builds living reefs (ccell.eco) to counter beach erosion and rebuild some of the coral reefs we've lost through climate change. Our recent projects are in Mexico, Israel, UK and the Maldives. I'm also a member of a group where we run sustainable living workshops and build tiny houses. Our tiny houses are made from wooden euro pallets. I'm happy to share what I know, help you with your sustainable journey and learn a ton more myself.

    I also write a blog with practical startup advice called mynaked.life. Subscribe to receive one email each month with a new startup theme and featured blog.

    My home is a converted stone barn dating from 1882, with 4 bedrooms, study and a combined lounge, dining area and kitchen. I have about a hectare of land, with a large swimming pool and a cabin, which I recently built with the help of friends. I'm gradually converting my home and garden to live in a more sustainable way, and eventually want to be completely off-grid.

    I speak intermediate French, but mostly converse in English. I also have a cat called Ginger - actually it belongs to my neighbour, but he seems to prefer living with me and the neighbour is cool.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    This area of France is pure country living with lots of farmland. But it also has an amazing history through the middle-ages; there are many chateaux close by and some beautiful towns and cities, like Perigueux, Bergerac, Brantome and the historic sites of Sarlat, Domme and St Emilion. All with amazing stories to tell. And then the magnificent city of Bordeaux with the longest shopping street in Europe and amazing tram system. There is a frequent train service into Bordeaux - I'm happy to run you to and from the station.

    And if you fancy just lazing by the river, there is a lovely river beach about 10 minutes by bike.

    The village in which I live has a pub/restaurant that usually has a menu for under €20, which includes a starter, main, dessert, wine and coffee. The menu changes each week. At the weekend it hosts live music.

  • Aide

    Aide

    In 2024 I'm hosting from April to June and again in October and November, with a minimum stay of 2 weeks. I'm looking for a couple to help with pallet wood projects and keep the garden in good shape. Around 4 to 5 hours a day, five days a week - working in the morning after breakfast until lunchtime, and then you get the rest of the day for yourself. It would be helpful if you're happy to use garden equipment - like a strimmer, lawn mover, hedge trimmer and wood chipper. For the pallet build projects I have a workshop and can teach you how to safely use the equipment if they're new to you. I have all the necessary safety equipment.

    But overall you can do as much as you're comfortable with - no pressure! There's plenty to get involved in.

    I'm a tidy person and would ask the same of you.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Intermédiaire

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    I've loved the French language since I was 11 years old and had to give a speech to the local French mayor and officials during a school exchange trip. So, having the opportunity to continue learning is a real bonus for me. If English is not your first language and you want to learn it, I can help.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You'll have a large double bedroom with big sofa (pictures attached). It is south facing with its own steps out into the garden. There is also a smaller single bedroom with a lovely sleigh style bed if needed. The mattresses in both bedrooms are firm and comfortable. I can offer you your own bathroom with a shower and bath, and access to the rest of the house. I also have a washing machine, which you're welcome to use.

    You are free to enjoy the garden, patio and also the swimming pool, which is open from mid-May until the end of September.

    I will provide you with food. Maybe let me know beforehand if you've any food likes or dislikes or any dietary constraints. I do eat some meat and fish (and can't resist a BBQ ) but am increasingly plant based these days. I'm happy to share the cooking if you have local dishes from home that you like preparing. I'll buy the ingredients and you can cook the meal.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    I have bikes that you can use to explore the countryside, or cycle into the next village for bread and pastries. There you'll also find a pharmacy, supermarket, post office, coffee shops and a bank. There is a bus service at the end of the road that infrequently runs between the larger towns, so you need to time your journey.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    My wi-fi connection is pretty good (I can stream Netflix without interruption) and I have plenty of quiet workspaces, including a cabin with a desk in the garden.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    I can accommodate a camper van, although the access is quite narrow and close to the house. You'll need to watch out you don't bump the satellite dish! It's no problem if you prefer to stay in your camper - I can run a cable out to you.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 519849915857

Feedback (4)



Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)