Come and join our permaculture based project in the Bay of Plenty, New Zealand

Country

Nouvelle-Zélande

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 127 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    10.01.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 1 semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a permaculture based project. We love what we do and love to share and learn together.
    We live in a rural setting just outside of Katikati. There is a beautiful walk at the end of the road, to an ancient kauri tree. Beaches (swimming and surfing) are 20 and 30 mins away in either direction and the beautiful Te Puna Quarry Park is also a short drive away.
    We also work in Tauranga, so close to the opportunities a bigger city brings.
    Being right in the cente of the kiwifruit and avocado growing area, there are many growers and packhouses seeking seasonal workers at various times of the year.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Entretien général

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are a permaculture based project. We love what we do and love to share and learn together.
    From our experience and feedback from previous travelers, the things that you can learn here are:
    - a simple way of living... we don't have wifi, we have very limited power, we cook and eat mainly from the garden, we live mainly outdoors, we don't have much stuff, we appreciate nature and the small things and we love having people here.
    - the beginnings of a permaculture project... because we are a young project and a lot of what we do is starting from nothing, it's really easy to see the basic beginning steps, which people report are much harder to see on an established and well polished permaculture property. So if you are wanting to do something like this back home, here is the ideal place to see how.
    - learning together... we also make heaps of mistakes that you can learn from. We are not too shy to tell you about all things that haven't worked and what we messed up. We are always learning, studying and looking things up, which we like to share with you also. And we are really keen to hear about things that you have seen and done at other places, which we can then try out here.

    You will experience a simple way of living on the land, without power and wifi.

    We eat wholesome, organic, mostly plant based foods and like to share our cooking ideas and recipes also.
    We have a cat, 5 rescue chickens and the neighbours dog occasionally comes to visit too.

  • Aide

    Aide

    PAID BUILDING WORK AVAILABLE:
    We have paid building work available to anyone with skills, knowledge and a passion for a challenge. We are looking for someone to build an insulated plywood yurt floor and some custom annexes, which we have partial plans for, as well as decking and pergola... please be in touch if you are keen! Ideally we would manage this as part work exchange (usual workaway conditions), with extra paid hours, but open to options.

    EARTH BUILDING OPPORTUNITIES:
    We are also planning an earth building project this summer. Please message us if you would like to come and help us prepare for this over the next months or if you are keen to be added to the list for a cob and/or light earth, plus earth rendering workshop or a pizza oven making workshop (dates tbc)
    ..............

    We have availability from the 3rd November onwards.

    Work times vary greatly.

    We expect 25 hours of work per week and are fairly flexible with how these are divided over the days and how many days off you have...

    We prefer helpers to stay for 2 weeks, so we can get to know you and spend some quality time together, but will accept shorter or longer stays too :-)

    We accept friends travelling together or couples only, as we find this works a lot better in our setting than solo travelers, as with a small child and not much indoor space to socialise, we find solo travelers are not very happy here. If you are traveling alone and want to stay please message us mentioning why this will work, how great you are and what makes you able to entertain yourself :-)

    Some of the projects over the next months include:
    - carpentry tasks (we need a carpenter, builder or experienced diy-ers help! - please mention your skills when you message us)
    - weeding and prepping gardens for planting (we have a couple of new beds that need double digging) - once we have harvested some of the early crops and garlic...
    - making compost
    - planting trees and shrubs for a wildlife and foraging hedge
    - light landscaping in many areas
    - and more...

    For suitable helpers, there may be childcare tasks available while we work. Please let us know if you are interested in this.

    We love helpers to have a project to work on start to finish during your stay. We have some ideas of what we need but you could come up with your own too!

    In addition, helpers will be responsible for washing the dishes and may be asked to contribute to meal prep if we need a hand.

  • Langues parlées

    German: Courant
    English: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We can provide accommodation in our caravan (queen bed) or a beautiful spot for your own van.

    We provide 3 wholesome vegetarian meals daily. If you need extras or like to snack between meals, please bring your own.

    Please note that we are aiming to live free from plastic and waste to landfill. If you must bring rubbish (especially plastic bags, humus and yogurt containers etc) onto our land we ask that you take these with you when you leave. We are happy to take care of recycling (clear plastic bottles only), paper and compost.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We live rurally and the area is best suited to people with thier own transport. If you dont have a car, we can pick up / drop you in Katikati or Tauranga on the days we are going there.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have plenty of space for vans and motor homes, mostly flat :-) The deal remains the same whether you stay in your vehicle or make use of our accommodation.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    25 hrs per week, 2 days off, flexible

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






N° de référence hôte : 498819987721