Organic garden help in Vancouver and salt spring island, Canada

Country

Canada

Enregistré comme favori 364 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    24.01.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    51.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 14 jours

  • paid opportunity

    Offre rémunérée

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I run a tiny salad garden CSA out of my back yard and greenhouse in Vancouver AND we just bought 2 acres on salt spring to develop a farm. I provide vegetable boxes to about 10 and a shop in the city! I also try to continue my yoga and dance as well, though my massage practice largely gets put on the back burn during the summer months because of my gardening. I also grow a huge squash crop on an acreage that you could help me with.

    ***UPDATE FOR 2020 SUMMER***

    I am looking for someone or a couple to come stay from April 16th onwards! Ideally looking for someone or a couple to stay for a few months at least, or even the whole season (until October).

    I get lots of applications so please tell if you have any farm experience, when you're available and all the lovely things about you!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    They will get to experience Vancouver and salt spring island occasionally in the summer... which is a wonderful city! There is lots of dance and music events around and about, they can take off during the week and explore the gulf islands. My family is super sweet and friendly. I have two boys 18 and 14 who are always in and out, hanging with their friends, playing fortnight and just generally being teens (don't know if thats a selling point or not!). The home stay would learn lots about micro greens set up and developing compost systems. I dance a lot and would be willing to take them around to the various dance communities (ecstatic, contact, blues fusion, salsa, Lindy hop), if covid allows. My husband is Portuguese and makes wonderful Portuguese food when he's not working like a fiend haha.

  • L’hôte offre un salaire correspondant au salaire minimum

    L’hôte offre un salaire correspondant au salaire minimum

    Cet hôte offre l'hébergement et une rémunération.

    L’hôte a indiqué qu'il paierait au moins le salaire horaire minimum de son pays pour chaque heure travaillée et que l’hébergement serait fourni. Il demande de l'aide dans le cadre de son entreprise ou activité professionnelle. Contactez l'hôte directement via la messagerie du site pour en savoir plus et avoir des détails sur le salaire proposé. Tous les arrangements devraient être conclus à l'avance avec votre hôte.

  • Aide

    Aide

    I run a small salad garden in my back yard and on salt spring island but the workaway person can do as much or as little intense manual labour as they like. (I literally have unlimited manual labour... but they can also wash veg, sort, weed, or clean the house). I have many garden beds in my back yard and my greenhouse needs tending there too!! Work-away person would ideally have to have a good back (cause my back is a bit funky) and be willing to do lots of weeding/watering and generally playing with all this delicious food!!, bunching, sorting, bagging, planting - that sort of thing). Some ability with small construction projects and power tools helpful but not necessary.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant
    Portugais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    The home stay would be sleeping in the front room on the entrance level, sharing a bathroom with the two boys (though we have a bathroom on the main floor as well. ) They would have access to our kitchen of course and our living room on the main floor and our back yard. We live in a sweet East Vancouver neighbourhood with many friendly neighbours. We also have a young, CUTE cat called Mittens.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are close to a sky train station (Broadway and Commercial) that can take you anywhere in the city quickly and easily. There is also a major bus route (the 99) which connects the east side to the west side. We live close to Trout Lake, so there is very sweet walking and sometimes swimming in the lake when the water is good. There is a market there every Saturday which we like to go to when we have time. The home stay can sometimes use our van if that works, there's only one car for the family so we all share and can make it work I'm sure. Also homestay is welcome to use our bikes.

    We are largely paleo (so lots of meat and veggies), although open to all kinds of different diets and habits. Homestay must be ok with the smell of bacon though! (Some vegan folks in the past really weren't ok with the smell of bacon.. but it's not everyday I promise). No smoking in the house please but outside ok. We are generally a fun-loving home, lots of people coming and going, but since covid we have been very insulted and take covid very seriously. (I have an autoimmune and can’t get covid). I do a lot of yoga and meditation (at 5:30 am) to keep myself cool, calm and collected! I

    I cannot offer payment. I could two years ago and I do t know how to change that on my profile!! I don’t have any money this year at all but would feed you well and house you.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Midday until four/ three or 4 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.9)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)










N° de référence hôte : 486194147735