Discover our lifestyle on our family farm near Lake Lebarge, Canada

Country

Canada

Enregistré comme favori 26 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    30.11.2020

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 6 jours

 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : 1 mois ou plus

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are transitioning our small farm from a pig farm to a berry/grape/tree farm. Using a number of horticultural based practices have been planting trees, various varieties of berries and cold resistant grapes. We are also raising some pigs for sale and for our own eating, as well as meat chickens and turkeys. Anyone interested in natural soil regeneration and crop growing would be helping from the "ground" up with our new endevour. We need self motivated, independent helpers who can get the job done.
    We are also looking for another individual to help with the care of our sled dogs. Again a self motivated independent helper who can see what needs to be done and follow directions is a must. A love of dogs is also a must and an open mind to the working dog vs the pet dog. We love our dogs deeply and need a strong minded individual who can work with them the way they need to be trained.
    So basically we are looking for two individuals for two different tasks.
    We have a dry cabin and a wall tent, for your residence, with water available from our pump house. Also you will have the use of the shower and laundry facilities, in the main house. Wifi is also available in the main house. A standard car is available for your use if you have a universal drivers license.
    We ask for approximately 5hrs a day, 5 days a week.
    When you contact us could you please let us know which task you are considering. Thanks.
    We live 40 minutes north of town a short hike away from Lake Lebarge.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Entretien général
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We enjoy sharing our lifestyle with travellers. Along with the farm aspect we also run a sled dog kennel. We offer a fairly rustic lifestyle here although we are not too far from town. Whitehorse is known for it artistic community and music scene as well as the history of the area. Also having a sled dog kennel, you can see how these athletes are taken care of loved and trained. Agriculture and sustainable food sources are very much in the forefront in the Yukon and we are part of this endeavour.

  • Aide

    Aide

    The help we need will include: planting of trees, clearing dead wood from forest (from our own property) and feeding and watering of the chickens, turkeys and pigs. We are also expanding our bees for honey and mead making. Prepartation of hugel mounds for planting, rock picking from the small orchard area and pallet fence building are a few other jobs to be done as is the building of a larger perimeter wildlife fence around the farm.

    We are also looking for a person to help exclusively with the sled dogs. General care of pooping the kennel twice a day, watering, feeding and exercising the dogs are the types of jobs to expect.

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have a small cabin and a wall tent for living quarters. These are both with no electricity or water. However, water can be taken from our pump house and electricity can be delivered using an inverter and battery set up. In the summer hydro is not really needed.
    Shower, laundry and wifi are at your disposal in the main house.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    With the use of a vehicle (you just need a license and pay for the gas you use) you can explore the many hiking trails in the area. Cycling is big here with some impressive races being held. Mountain biking is also popular. Some very nice coffee shops also have extensive information on what is going on in town.
    Whitehorse has a huge sports complex for reasonable daily rates. There is a great pool there as well as many fitness courses and even a skating rink.
    If you love the arts there is a tremendous amount of art culture here.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Plenty of room for a regular sized van. Not so much for a large travel camper.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Un

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 793873629416