Experience permaculture and off-grid living in the mountains of Cadafaz, central Portugal

  • Portugal
  • Enregistré comme favori 56 fois
  • Activité récente: 20 sept. 2023



 Séjour min. souhaité : Pas de minimum



  • Description


    Hey! this is a a permaculture, food forest, off grid living, nature experience project in central Portugal. This is not a typical farm as you might image, this is a steep valley with big trees, a stream running, huge ancient stone walls and different terraces. It's a magical place that'll give you the feeling of being in the middle of nowhere.

    I'm Jessi, I started all of this around 3 years ago and I've always planned to have workaways here (I did workaway myself quite a lot and I only enjoy this platform). Now there's basic comfort here (no "luxury") like electricity, a nice outdoor kitchen, showers, compost toilet, camp grounds.

    The idea here is to protect a natural piece of forest and ancient architecture, to bring this place back to live by living here in a respectful way, admiring natures diversity and creating an edible landscape where everything's connected and people come stay and see the beauty in all of this. My passion is growing food for sure, getting my hands dirty and then see the magic happen. But there is so many different things to do here ALWAYS. We'll chat about your interests and skills and find the right thing to do for each and everyone. Some days we'll all work together, other days I'll give tasks. There is a lovely dog living on the farm as well!

    There's quite a nice community around here, lots of people doing lots of different things.
    Mountain life requires a minimum level of fitness to move around. I'll promise you'll adapt very fast

    My farm is not a business. I go work seasonal and live from savings.
    Most of the produce is used for my own need ( hopefully volunteers soon). I sell some edible flowers to a restaurant and make chutneys and similar things for markets but volunteers are not involved in this.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    I did workaway myself in many different places and Oh how beautiful,intense, interesting these experiences were. The people you meet, the things you learn, the places you get to see, shared meals, shared laughs and deeep talks.
    My goal is to teach permaculture, so be my guest and learn about permaculture, experience off grid living and see Portugal's beautiful nature here in the mountains.
    Life here in the mountains is different, you'll see people living in the smallest villages, meeting for a coffee or a beer in the next biggest village, less stress, lots of smiles and village culture, beautiful rivers and waterfalls, walks, sunsets in the moutains, wildlife,...

  • Aide


    ~ Gardening : working in the greenhouse, seeding, planting, preparing garden beds, composting, mulching, watering, weeding..
    ~ Clearing land : cutting back brambles, clearing stone walls, moving organic waste, clearing overgrown spaces
    ~ Building : there's always building projects (big and/or small) going on here, people with skills and experience in building very welcome there will be the right project for you to work on (trellis, fence, furniture, ...)
    ~ Pathways and stairs : making everything more accessible here on the farm is an ongoing project, many pathways that need improvement and stairs to be built ( I'm open for own ideas etc.)
    ~ cooking and keeping the place clean : sharing meals, cooking for the crew, cleaning dishes,etc.
    ~ looking after the dog : there's Taji the cutest most loving dog , I won't force anyone to be best friends with her ( I know some people don't like dogs) but in some cases I'll need people that are overly excited to look after her while I'm away :)
    ~ I have a very good connection with my neighbors here and some days we'll help there with some work

  • Langues parlées

    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Portugais: Débutant

  • Hébergement


    Shared out door kitchen (with roof of course) fully equipped
    Depending on season i have a little room with wood burner or tents, I have everything you need for sleeping comfortably (blankets, pillows, matress etc)

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Couples welcome
    Travellers with own car/vehicle welcome
    I like to have my personal space, I need my time alone to recharge but I'm also very social, i like to make work fun, music is always around, vegetarian food only, i go on little adventures around the area and happy to take workawayers on their day off, but I also really need people that can entertain themselves and know how to be happy in pure nature. There's lots of walks around, the beautiful crystal clear Ceira river is in walking distance.
    I like working and I'm really looking for people that feel similar and are very enthusiastic about getting sh*t done and learn from each other!

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    I welcome people travelling in vans but the parking for the van is a 5min walk from the farm

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    I have a dog but she loves company, of course you'll need to look after your pet and make sure it is social friendly with humans and and other animals

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 484372331562

Feedback (3)


Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Besoin d'un coup de pouce au jardin, Azoia de Baixo, Portugal
Besoin d'un coup de main dans nos jardins, dans notre centre de méditation à Monchique au Portugal