DIY, Gardening and help with the land on a small homestead in La Valle, rural Wisconsin, USA

Country

États-Unis

Enregistré comme favori 89 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    15  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    17.11.2021

  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    127

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 5 jours

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    A big hello to potential Workaways!

    Our family has hosted for about 15 years as our children grew. Today, our kids are adults, home during the worst of the pandemic, just beginning to travel and go back to school now. My husband and I are most often empty-nesters finishing up work and doing upkeep on our 150 year old house. We still have outside stone masonry work, painting, tiling, a construction project or two along with permaculture landscaping and seasonal gardens and greenhouses. You are most welcome to lend a hand to all of these projects. No particular skills are required, except for a sense of humor and a willingness to be open to experiences; We'll teach you the rest if need be. We barter with some Amish families, so if you are interested, you can get a glimpse into their world as well. We provide all the food and we will feed you well. If you want to help with the cooking and prep work, that would be great.

    We have 2 dogs (border collie mixes), 2 cats, and 4 chickens.

    Our lives include, not just the jobs at hand, but plenty of fresh air, sunshine and fun. We love camping, kayaking, music, drive in movies, hiking, painting, lots of cooking and eating, bonfires, bike riding, and star gazing. Our diet is vegan and we eat a whole food plant based diet. We love cooking and creating healthy, delicious food. We're interested in meeting new people and learning different ways of being, thinking, and viewing the world. The pandemic is still ongoing, but we are all vaccinated and will only host vaccinated guests who are willing to take appropriate precautions against covid exposure.

    We have a bedroom or two for guests that can accommodate a couple people . We prefer stays of at least a week so we can get to know each other. We most often have longer term stays, which are fine too.

    You're treated like family when you come here, so if you are looking to get away from life and be by yourself, this is probably not the place for you--there's usually too many people to make it a solitary stay.

    There is an Amtrak station and a Greyhound bus stop about a 1/2 hour away from us and we would be more than happy to pick you up to get you here. Rural Wisconsin does not have a lot of transportation options.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Our talents and interests vary widely. We have an artist, a writer, a computer tech, a budding avian expert, a music producer/spirit distiller, and a jack of all trades in the family. A few of us play/are learning ukulele. Some of us are writing books. We are learning how to cook for vegans using whole foods, avoiding sugars and anything processed. Our kids are coming and going from college and travel, so never sure how many will be around at any given time.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We need help finishing the remodeling of our house and gardening/land management. We have mad building skills, and we have rebuilt most of our house and redesigned most of our land, but there is always more to do. But with your help, we hope to get this done while enjoying life and making new friends throughout our country and the world. By the way, you will never work alone, as everyone pitches in around here.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Interested in learning Spanish. We know some basics, but have no chance to practice, so we lose it quickly

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have a couple extra bedrooms in our home that will be all yours. Right outside of it is a common area. There are 2 bathrooms, a living room, dining room, a large kitchen, and 2 decks.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are located in a naturally beautiful area of our country with woods, lakes, cliffs, lots and lots of nature, and four distinct seasons. We regularly drive to larger cities about 1 1/2 to 2 hours away, sometimes to Chicago. We are close to many gorgeous state parks and recreation areas. We are more than happy to drive and explore the area with you.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have decent WIFI, so if you work remotely, it shouldn't be a problem

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    There is space for campers to park. There is water hook up

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    We can accommodate pets, hopefully your pets will get along with our pets

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4-5 days a week












N° de référence hôte : 449571692554