Help us with gardening and more in beautiful Marsh Lake, Yukon, Canada

Country

Canada

Enregistré comme favori 21 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    08.05.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a quiet retired couple. We live in beautiful Marsh Lake, Yukon about 55 km east of Whitehorse. We consider ourselves country/ rural.
    In our immediate area the lake is about 500 metres through the forest. About 10 minutes away is a sandy beach. We have a canoe if you wish to fish or go for a paddle.
    There is a Community Centre that has activities and a Pub night on Fridays. There are frequently other Work Aways in the immediate area.
    There are excellent walking trails and hiking through out the area.
    We have internet, and tv. You would have your own bedroom, and the bathroom would only be shared if there were other visitors.
    We have grandchildren that live nearby and they are frequently over for visits.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    If you enjoy gardening, you can experience northern gardening with a really short growing season. Mid summer we have almost 20 hours of daylight and 4 hours of not really dark!
    The hiking opportunities in the Yukon are spectacular. Canoeing on the lake while the sun is setting is an experience not to be missed.
    If you normally live in the city, living in a rural environment is something to be experienced. There are homes nearby, but we are situated in the forest. With other Work Aways nearby, meeting up with other adventurers is possible for group excursions into the wilds of the Yukon!

  • Aide

    Aide

    My husband is an avid gardener but recently has had problems with his hips. He will need help preparing his garden and greenhouse, weeding and watering the garden.
    We also burn wood in the winter and would like help filling the wood shed.
    We are hoping to build a deck this summer so handyperson skills would be nice.
    We have chickens, collecting eggs, feeding and watering are daily chores.
    We realize figuring out 5 hours a day can be challenging, we can be flexible about hours worked to allow for hiking and sight seeing around the Yukon.
    A non smoker is very much preferred.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Our grandsons are in French Immersion so helping them retain there knowledge over the summer would be beneficial. I have high school French from 45 years ago!

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Private bedroom with a double bed, bedding and towels provided. The bathroom had a shower and a tub, unless there are other visitors the bathroom is yours alone.
    Breakfast is often what ever catches your fancy, lunch and dinners will be provided. Cleaning up after yourself in the kitchen and bathroom is always appreciated.
    Use of the washer, dryer or clothes line are included.
    We hope you would feel that our home is your home for your stay.
    We go to town at least once a week, you will be more than welcome to come with us.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We hope you would feel that our home is yours. We are a quiet retired couple non smokers, no drug use, occasional social drinkers. We enjoy our short summers by being outside gardening.
    The Yukon is a place apart from most of Canada. Our area is called Southern Lakes Region. We have lakes, rivers, mountains, wildlife and plenty of fresh air.
    Having your own vehicle would be helpful, but we can also take you to town when we go in. Otherwise there are often others travelling in and we could arrange ride shares.
    We often have our grandchildren over so enjoying the company of a 5 and 8 year old is important to this being a successful adventure. They are both in French Immersion, a Francophone would help keep their French through the summer.
    We saw a wonderful idea on a different Work Away, your hours are flexible. If you want to take off for a few days, figure out your hours and work them to our mutual advantage. We don’t want to be micro managing your hours. Communication is essential for a harmonious relationship. We don’t have pets and would prefer you don’t come with them either.
    We ask that you complete your Covid isolation prior to arriving at our home.
    You must provide proof of travel health insurance prior to coming.
    You must provide a criminal record check from your country of origin.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have internet, our home is fairly quiet so finding an area in the house to facilitate working on line will not be a problem.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Our parking area is quite large and flat. There are trees to provide shade. There are electrical outlets if needed.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    no

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Un

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



N° de référence hôte : 443862954697