1 / 4
new host  

Come to our beautiful place and help us take care of the horses and reindeers in Inari, Finland

  • Enregistré comme favori 42 fois
  • Activité récente: 10 avr. 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    Hei! I am a reindeer herding Sámi living in Karasjok, Norway and Inari, Finland. I work as a veterinarian as well. I have my own private practice, which gives me a certain freedom. I grew up in reindeer herding family and these extra ordinary animals are a huge part of my life. During the winter time, we have to take extra care of our reindeer. Some of the animals are taken home for special care. I also have riding horses that I love to spend my with.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    While at your stay, you will learn about the life of reindeer herding Sámi. We are the only indigenous nation in Europe. You will get to know to these extra ordinary animals of ours. Each animal is an individual. The tame ones have also names. We have also male reindeer, that are able to pull sledges.

  • Aide

    Aide

    I am looking for a person, who already has experience to work with animals and horses to help around at our home. I don't have business activity, but I need help in our private daily life.

    Requirements:

    -driver's licence
    -preferably some experience with animals
    -flexible and compliant person, with a good sense of humour
    -independent and self-initiated personality
    -to be able to work alone and in a team
    -good health and physical condition
    -good communications skills
    -good knowledge of english (or finnish, norwegian, swedish, if you are not fluent in english)

    Either You would need to take care of the horses in Karasjok, Norway or our reindeer in Inari, Finland.

    If taking care of the horses, it is also possible to ride the horses, if you are an experienced rider. (As an experienced rider, I mean that you need to have very good control of your own body, have a steady mind and good sense of humour. You can't be afraid of the horses nor unsure of yourself, when riding. Both horses can do basic dressage work, jump and they are ok when riding in the forest. The older one is able to do higher level dressage exercises and jump higher fences, if the rider is confident enough. I have a big riding arena, with good surface.)

    Stable work consist of cleaning, taking horses in and out during the colder weather, checking them at least twice daily, changing rugs, filling water buckets, monitoring the health of the horses and treat for example wounds if needed and all other basic maintaince work.

    Depending on the situation and weather, you would need to help to take care of the reindeer. You don't need to have any knowledge of reindeer in advance, because I will teach you all the important things about the reindeer and reindeer husbandry. You need to be able to drive a car during the winter time.

    Daily work with reindeer consist of feeding the animals, monitoring the health of the animals, helping me or some other family member to do basic maintaince work like simply fence reipair, helping with hay, separating the reindeer, treating sick animals etc. I wish that you would be comfortable to treat the sick reindeer by yourself, in case if all the family members are busy. Reindeer are located in Inari, Finland.

    Working hours might vary day to day. Therefore I hope to find someone, who is flexible. I need you to help out at least 5 days a week. Of course you are allowed to have free time as well. Schedules will be discussed with each workawayer individually.

    There is space for 1-2 workawayers.

    Contact me, if you are interested to help me out. Tell me something about yourself, your experience with animals and when you would be able to visit us.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Estonian: Courant
    Finnish: Courant
    Sami: Courant
    Norwegian: Intermédiaire

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Free accommodation.

    Own room with your own bathroom in our house in Karasjok, Norway.

    Own apartment in Inari, Finland.

    Food is provided free of charge naturally (breakfest, lunch and dinner). There are grocery stores nearby the accommodations, if you want to buy something special for yourself.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    I will pick up helpers from the nearest airports like Ivalo, Lakselv, Alta or Kirkenes. If you are travelling by train to the North, I will help you to find the connection transportation. The easiest way to get here is by airplane.

    There is skiing center in Saariselkä (70km away from Inari), if you like to go to skiing or to visit a spa on your free time. Cross country skiing is also possible in both towns. There are Sámi museums in Karasjok and Inari, if you are interested of history and culture. Lots of winter activities are available in both places, if you are interested to see for example huskies.

    If you have anything else on your mind, please contact me. I will discuss about all details with each workawayer.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    We can discuss about pets.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Working hours may vary between approx 4-5 hours. 5 days a week, but I would appreciate, if you would be willing to help out when the help is needed during busy season.

N° de référence hôte : 432286638152

Photos

Feedback

Un peu d'aide avec les enfants et les tâches ménagères serait bienvenu, île de Kimito, en Finlande
Spend time with an international family with two small children in Southern Pohjanmaa, Finland