Hang out with us on our farm in accessible wilderness and constant interaction with interesting wildlife in Falkland, Canada

Country

Canada

Enregistré comme favori 3 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    13.09.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 11 jours

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My husband and I live in the forest between Vernon and Kamloops, BC on a ten acre parcel. There are horses both big and small, cats and a dog. We are building a series of pathways through the forest to provide riding and walking paths for meditation and fun. There is also a building for a central kitchen and shower that is being created to enable guests to stay more easily. This building is made from primarily recycled materials and is nearing completion of the framing. The intent is to create a space for artists to join together in learning and developing their craft whether it be writing, painting, acting or speaking. I am an artist who also spends much time with animals and with organic farmers. Workawayers will have a space of their own to sleep in but will share amenities with the family. The land surrounding us is full of wildlife, trees and wild herbs and foraging opportunities. Town is only a half hour away with many amenities and lakes. A river with a great swimming hole separates us from the highway about a mile away. If you would like to experience wilderness without the discomfort of rough living, this is the place for you!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    The benefits of hanging out with us on our farm is the readily accessible wilderness and the constant interaction with interesting wildlife. We are also involved in a variety of healing arts for animals and humans. Further, I work in several artistic mediums - paint, wordsmithing, drawing and fibre arts. Our book collection is large and eclectic. I am a scientist, wildlife rehabilitator and plant pathologist as well as an actor, director and dramaturge. The interests are varied, the land is beautiful and the food is great!

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    I am looking for assistance in several areas. You do not need to be able to do all of these but skills in one would be terrific. One project is completing the kitchen house with me which involves the final framing and placement of the trusses and roofing. Then the project will move inside for window installations, insulation and finishing. The second building project is the creation of an outdoor stage with lighting. I am also looking for someone to plant and help with gardening and food preparation for storage. I would also love to find someone who likes to run a chainsaw and create wilderness pathways with me. All work combines self directed work with collaborative work with me.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Interested in trying to pick up more French or Spanish

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    There are two small bunkies (solid building with a bed - either a double or twin but no water) close to main house but private with an outhouse close by. Laundry, shower and kitchen are part of the main house and can be used freely by the helper. Dinners are definitely planned and shared but breakfast and lunches are more personal timing. Food will be worked out for preferences with the worker and shopping is generally once or twice a week. I am a vegan, non-grain eater but my husband has no dietary restrictions and eats a normal diet. We can accommodate all diets easily!

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Travel from the house can be easily accommodated as my husband works off farm daily and goes in several directions. The Okanagan valley has brilliant summer activities with lakes, hiking trails, theatre and ongoing events. I have a kayak, paddleboard, fishing equipment, bicycles and rollerblades that can be taken to town for activities. I love a good lakeside afternoon and there are many to choose from.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Although we are out in the wilderness, I have a reasonable connection via cellular hub. There is a few places within the main house where a workspace can be set up and used.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have plenty of space for anything from motorcycle through to large RV. Power is not quite as easy but can be made available in low wattages.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Can accept any pet that is friendly with other pets and does not chase horses.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 388371131757