Experience the immense, remote, quiet Arctic while helping out on permaculture project in Northern Norway

Country

Norvège

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 168 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    22.01.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 13 jours

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 1 semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    IMPORTANT INFO BEFORE YOU APPLY
    1) Very extended response time may occur, due to not being online on a regular basis.
    2) Please inform yourself on national and regional covid-19 guidelines and follow any restrictions accordingly.
    3) NO WIFI availability for digital nomads etc.
    4) Unfortunately can't offer transportation. We're situated 14 km. from nearest busstop.
    5) We have one DOG and two CATS, be aware in case of allergy.


    Hi,
    This place is remote and quiet.
    In the winter months of november-february, the land is submersed in the darkness of polar winter (= NO SUN), and snow, which can last from october til around may...are you ready for such kind of "silent, dark retreat"?
    It offers many spectacular experiences, though, e.g. aurora borealis.
    In summer, of course, we have midnight sun, which means 24/7 daylight.

    This is an old post WW2 farmhouse, which we're slowly transforming into an arctic permaculture project/educational health retreat. In process, mind you.

    While daily tasks on the property often require more than two hands and a set of eyes, my partner is located in Denmark with only occational visits up here. So I choose to occationally host guests and change agents who seek another kind of Arctic experience than that of the ordinary tourist.

    We're located on the brink of 69/70 degrees northern lattitude, in the bottom of a Norwegian fiord, bordering the Finnmark Plateau.
    Wilderness is all around, offering immediate access to mountains, rivers, forrests and sea. In spring, we have a waterfall running through the back yard just next to the front door...

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Here, you'll enevitably become wiser on ALL THINGS NATURE.
    First and foremost, you'll get a chance to stay in a place with no noise and no light pollution, where the arctic nature is all around you...

    The house is remotely situated in a "corner" of the finest arctic nature, near the protected national parks of Kvænangen and Reisadalen, and close to fiord and rivers.
    Bathing or fishing in the fiord is 1 minute away from the doorstep, as is a hiking or skiing trip in the mountain in the backyard, which will eventually lead you to the Finnmark vidda. There are plenty of polar wilderness and wildlife experiences to find within the 370 acre property itself (A year ago I saw a family of two European Lynx right outside the kitchen window).

    NB: Bring your own equipment for leisure time (eg. skis, tent, fishing rod etc).

    Here is your chance to practice off grid life. Although we have eletricity, mobile phone and other modern ammenities, wilderness is really just a couple of steps away: Pine forrests, mountains, rivers and fiords...

    I'm Danish and have been living uphere for about 7 years, but you'll get the opportunity to learn a lot about local/regional history and culture, especially if you venture out into the local community...

    Our house is a small, old fashioned post-WW2 farmhouse. Built in 1952 by local resettlers who returned from the south of Norway, after the majority of the population in Northern Norway had been forecefully and dramatically evacuated by the nazis as war was coming to an end. Their lives were severely affected by the fierce nazi war strategy, which outlined bombing and burndown of all settlements north of Tromsø (Scortched Land Strategy).
    The local familiy's home was (re)built with support loans from the Marshall help, and is traditional for the time it was built (= very retro)...

  • Aide

    Aide

    Staying here means participation alongside us in whatever everyday tasks we have to get done (depending on weather and season):

    FARM WORK eg.:
    - Fencing field
    - Retrieving seaweed from shore
    - Building hügel raised beds
    - Sowing seeds and nurturing plants
    - Planning and building a sensory garden

    WOOD WORK eg.:
    - Retrieving cut down trees
    - Cutting wood with chainsaw, manual saw or ax (only by instruction)

    MAINTENANCE AND BUILDING PROJECTS, eg.:
    - Painting staircase walls
    - Repairing and painting old windows
    - Installing doors
    - Building orangerie, recycling materials
    - Building mobile henhouse, recycling materials
    - Building mass oven
    - Laying new floors
    - Building wood decks outside houses
    - Building shelters and benches
    - Building wood shack

    GENERAL HOUSEHOLD:
    - Retrieving firewood
    - Preparing meals
    - Washing dishes
    - Vacuuming
    - Washing floors
    - Cleaning toilet and bathroom
    - Cleaning windows

    ANIMALS:
    - Feeding two cats
    - Cleaning cat litterboxes
    - Making sure they're inside when dark (because of lynx).
    - Checking house temperature and electricity

    HOUSESITTING:
    - Checking heating and electricity in case we're away.

    Workawayers who can teach special and creative craftsman's skills are much appreciated.
    Weekends are free of housework in case you wish to venture into nature or out to community.

    The Arctic climate offers a challenge, which requires special agricultural measures, thus we're in the process of planning for next summer's gardening of micro green and herbs.

  • Langues parlées

    Danish: Courant
    English: Courant
    Norwegian: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    ACCOMMODATION FACILITIES:

    MAIN HOUSE:
    - 1 guest room ( 8 m2) with one single bed on loft*
    - 1 guest room (8 m2) with two single beds on loft*
    - 1 x extra spare room ON LOFT* (8 m2) with one bunkbed (two sleeping spaces)... limited space for luggage, due to the use of the room as a "library".

    *Mind you, the staircase to the loft is really steep, so unfortunately the rooms are not suitable for physically challenged people.

    ANNEX/GUEST CABIN (NOT available during winter, and reserved for paying guests):
    - 1 x bedroom with one bunkbed and a sleeping couch.
    - 1 livingroom with simple kitchen facilities (no sewage, no water, no toilet, no bath)

    SHARED FACILITIES in main house:
    - Toilet and shower (1)
    - Kitchen (1)
    - Livingroom (1)

    Interior is held more or less in simple, traditional 1950-standard.
    NO TV ---- NO INTERNET.... but an assorted selection of books, and loads of arctic nature.
    *No smoking inside buildings.
    *Two CATS and a DOG access most of property (except guest rooms, unless you let them). Special curfew rules apply for them due to wild life predators roaming the property (lynx, fox and sea eagles).

    FOOD is NOT automatically included in your stay, but when I randomly cook, I will make sure to cook for my guests too. You are welcome to use the kitchen for cooking your prefered traditional dishes, or trying out new ones.
    Nearest conveinience store is 18 km from the property (!), and with no public transportation, you have to plan shopping.
    I have one private car with just one passenger seat, and as long as it's functional (which it hasn't been lately) I make weekly shopping tours for your conveinience, if needed. I do not lend out the car for solo trips.
    A refrigerator shelf and a cabinet shelf is offered for your convenience. Pluss cold storage space in basement.

    ACCESS to big barn with spaces for creative expressions, relaxation, contemplation and so on... It willl also be one of the projects to undergo a transformation over the next years...

    WEATHER CONDITIONS:
    In WINTER season from october to may you must bring very warm winter clothes, and expect plenty of snow, thus reduced accesibility in mountains without skis or snowshoes. Normal temperature in winter is around zero to minus 15 degrees celcius, but bear in mind it's coastal climate, which can result in cold winds.

    in SPRING/SUMMER/AUTUMN, temperatures are more like subcontinental climate, and last year we had several weeks in juli with temperatures between 25 and 32 degrees celcius, but the more normal temperatures range from 8-20 degrees in summer, from may to october. It feels warmer due to dry air. Bring clothes for quick weather shifts at all times, since the arctic can offer extreme changes within a short time spand.
    ... Bring mosquito repellant in summer, if you're prone to be their primary food source...

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    PLEASE NOTE: VERY EXTENDED response rate may occur due to not being online on a regular basis.

    No public transportation (!) near the house, which is part of the rural charm.
    65 km from Sørkjosen Airport, and 120 km from Alta Airport.
    270 km north of Tromsø, 330 km south of North Cape....

    Bus # 150 from Tromsø or Alta, once a day...
    14 km from E6... a tiny step off the main road, maybe a huge step into yourself...nature is here welcoming you....

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    I accept workawayers with dogs, if the dog is not aggressive and doesn't chase after cats and/or wildlife.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Appr. 4-5 hours' work per day's stay


N° de référence hôte : 387989152962