1 / 4

Learn about local dance and traditions and help me preserve a historic home in Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

  • Enregistré comme favori 42 fois
  • Activité récente: 14 juin 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    I am a retired engineer, real-estate broker, and former Cajun dance instructor, currently I am a landlord in New Iberia, Louisiana. Though partially retired there is always something to do. I often need help with my emails, phone, simple task like ordering groceries, cooking and minor cleaning and driving me around. But also sometimes working on the rental properties. My home doubles as my office, but you would have a private bedroom with attached bathroom. The bathroom would shared but you will have private bedroom. During your free time you could explore New Iberia downtown. Take a canoe down the Bayou Teche, tour historic sites, and we can visit nearby Lafayette. LA.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Compagnie pour pers. âgée
    Bricolage et construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique/internet
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Culturally any guest will benefit from the exposure to the vast variety of culture represented here in South Louisiana. Dancing is just a small portion of that and I am happy to teach this myself. The music and dancing here is different than any other place in the world. An entire community revolves around the world of Cajun dance. Dancing inspires friendships and often in itself is a visual history of our local culture. In many of the dance venues there are open jams, guest who are musicians of any kind may appreciate this opportunity to learn Cajun music first hand while enjoying an open Jam session. I personally am a vegan, but Louisiana is known for its food experience and this is something any guest may benefit from by enjoying local cuisine and festivals that focus on the food and the culture that surrounds our famous dishes. Food, Music, Art, and Dance all just steps away from my front door.

  • Aide

    Aide

    -organization of my tools
    -basic computer skills and smart phone knowledge to help with my day to day
    -potentially help with minor repairs on rentals
    -drive me places (I have a van)
    -cook and clean

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Private room, in my personal home, shared bathroom

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Work time will not exceed 30 hours a week

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Un

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    This will vary depending on week, maximum 5 days a week at 4 hours a day

N° de référence hôte : 384978762579

Photos

Feedback

Senior couple looking for cultural exchange in the historic southern city Danville, Virginia
Pet care and home help in Minnesota, USA