Apprenez l'anglais avec nous et aidez avec des projets de bricolage/construction - sur les rives du Tennessee, USA

Country

États-Unis

mis à jour   Last minute

Enregistré comme favori 1044 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    47  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    27.11.2020

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    88.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 3 jours

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
Offre "last minute" : besoin d'aide urgent immédiatement mais aussi à d'autres périodes de l'année.
  2020 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 2 semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a well traveled family on the Tennessee River. We have had visitors from all over the world. We usually have several projects, some very interesting, some mundane to make this a better place for ourselves and travelers. We are looking for people, 1 or 2 at a time, who want to help here and enjoy the peaceful rural river life. We take a proactive role in correcting your English grammar and word choice, during daily conversation, for those that want English improvement. [TO APPLY SEE FORM BELOW]

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We like people who can blend into the household. We love to talk and visit with our guests, and in the course of a stay we will learn a lot about them and they will learn a lot about us, we enjoy our together time and alone time and free time. We can let our guests know what there is to do around here. You can go with us when we go to town.

    You can benefit from cultural exchange because of our frank discussion with you of what it is like to live in the United States, to live in Tennessee and to live in this area of the state. We participate in discussions with you on life in your area of the world and contrast that with life here. Also, we are always willing to take you wherever we go and so you can see more of the area. You can learn the use of tools and construction habits. And by immersion learn English in a more conversational way.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Help is varied, but it usually involves hand or electric tools. There may be carpentry, gardening, maintenance, dock, boat, deck help, concrete help, and odd projects. Etc. we try to tailor what needs to be done with your skills and abilities or your desire to learn certain skills. Many times volunteers arrive mistakenly thinking they will just clean and organize and cook. This is NOT the case. More likely the help is similar to construction than anything else. We also need a proficient web developer. If you've been told that you're HARDWORKING, PROACTIVE, THOROUGH, and tend to PAY ATTENTION TO DETAILS then I can't wait to hear from you. The general plan is to exchange 5 hours/day for a sleeping area as well as food (meals or ingredients to prepare meals) will be available and a day off.

  • Languages

    Langues parlées
    English: Courant
    Spanish: Intermédiaire
    Italian: Intermédiaire

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You will most likely have your own room but some times sharing is necessary. You will have your own Bathroom and shower area. We prefer that you can eat with us. We are looking for someone who can make themselves part of the household. We share house chores, cleaning, cooking, putting away.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We like people who can blend into the household. We love to talk and visit with our guests, and in the course of a stay we will learn a lot about them and they will learn a lot about us, we enjoy our together time and alone time and free time. We can let our guests know what there is to do around here. You can go with us when we go to town.

    We live on a beautiful river. Be sure you understand that we are in a remote location. 25 minutes from a little town, but only 1 hr and 40 min from Nashville. Most enjoy the rural tranquility and peace of the location, but some find it more quiet than they would prefer. You should google-earth our location.

    Google "mid-cumberland humphreys county" for a link to our local car service that can pick you up and drop you off for side trips, arrival or departure. It is very reasonable and so far very reliable.

    We try to promptly reply to everyone who inquires. SEE BELOW
    NOTE: Only volunteers with COMPLETED profiles with PHOTO will be considered. Please include, desired month/time of year (approx.) AND DESIRED LENGTH OF STAY.

    Sorry, no pets in the house. We can accommodate pets only outside.
    ------------------------------------------------------
    WHAT TO DO: You MUST answer each of the following questions. IN THIS FORMAT

    Where are you from:

    Name(First/Last):

    Phone number (if you have one):

    Email (print):

    Male or Female:

    Age:

    Height (males only) _____ (cm?or In?)

    Weight (males only) ______ (Kg or Lbs)

    How long would you like to work (short term is okay):

    What date can you start:

    Purpose of trip:

    Do you have any MEDICAL condition that would restrict your activity (explain):

    Any Dietary Restrictions:

    Any common foods you will not eat, list them:

    Do you consider yourself clumsy?:
    On a scale of 1 to 10 (with 10 being VERY clumsy and 1 being NOT AT ALL clumsy) how clumsy are you:

    Where are you now:

    What is your current living situation:

    Are you a smoker?

    Will you be solely responsible for Medical Expenses due to sickness or accident?

    How are you arriving (car/plane/bus/other):

    What special skills / talents do you have - (please be specific without exaggeration):

    Did you read our entire profile:

    What else do you want to tell us:
    ----------------------------------------------------------
    Some of the recreational activities volunteers have done from our homestay: *️️️️️️️️️️️️SWIMMING*️️️️️️️️️️️️WALKING*️️️️️️️️️️️️HORSEBACK RIDING*️️️️️️️️️️️️MOTOCROSS RALLY*️️️️️️️️️️️️RIFLE TARGET SHOOTING*️️️️️️️️️️️️RUNNING*️️️️️️️️️️️️KAYAKING*️️️️️️️️️️️️FISHING*️️️️️️️️️️️️MUSICAL JAM SESSION*️️️️️️️️️️️️NASHVILLE*️️️️️️️️️️️️MEMPHIS*️️️️️️️️️️️️KNOXVILLE*️️️️️️️️️️️️ATLANTA*️️️️️️️️️️️️TOWN SQUARE MUSIC*️️️️️️️️️️️️SEMI PRO BASEBALL*️️️️️️️️️️️️PRO HOCKEY*️️️️️️️️️️️️GRAND OL OPRY*️️️️️️️️️️️️MUSEUMS*️️️️️️️️️️️️ELVIS GRACELAND*️️️️️️️️️️️️COUNTRY WESTERN CONCERTS*️️️️️️️️️️️️ART OPENINGS*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️some are seasonal, some require overnight travel, some are when available.

    Note: Please do not bring us gifts. However, if you are coming from home and you can bring something YUMMY that is HOMEMADE we especially love that sort of thing. Thanks.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il aimait accueillir les digital nomads.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hrs a dayfor 5 days with two day off

The fiberglass and foam KAYAK made by me and volunteers on it's maiden launch. It goes very well.
Peng (China) and Matthieu (France) reinforcing the fire pit.
Nico and Gaelle, a volunteer couple from France, did more outside fun activities in 3 weeks than others in an entire summer. Very well organized.
Sometimes I make pizza from scratch.
Joan, Elliot (a volunteer from France) and me.
Shiina working on the big SLIPCOVER project. :)
Joan and a volunteer from Japan
A Guest from NYC
A guest from Peru.
A sunrise view from the house.
Joan, me and my daughter.
Inside the house.



























N° de référence hôte : 14327715474c