Lend a helping hand in our family Hobby Farm in River Philip, NS, Canada

  • Enregistré comme favori 9 fois
  • Activité récente: 19 mai 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Pas de minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    This is a small, 5-acre hobby farm in River Philip, Nova Scotia. We are centrally located for exploring the Maritimes, being 30 minutes from the New Brunswick border, and 1 hour to Prince Edward Island. Within 30 minutes are the rocky beaches of the Bay of Fundy, and the red sand beaches of the Northumberland Strait. We are Jenn and Eric, and we share our home with a Mini Schnauzer named Maddie and two indoor cats named Charlie and McGee. Jenn works from home full-time as a Dog Groomer, and Eric is a full-time Tree Trimmer. Our home is a beautiful, 200 year old farmhouse, and we have lived here for about 5 years. We are quiet, laid-back, and spend most of our free-time doing things around the farm and hanging out with the animals. Where we are both working more hours recently, we thought a Workaway might be helpful to keep the farm-side of things going through the busier warm months! There is always a wide range of tasks needing doing on the farm, so no matter what you're good at, your help will be much appreciated here!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Centrally located for exploring the Maritime provinces. Located on the River Philip which is known for excellent fishing. Nearby Oxford is the Blueberry Capital of Canada.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    In the gardens - starting and caring for plants, watering, fertilizing/composting, weeding, harvesting/storing fruits and vegetables, planting trees. In the barn - refilling waterers, daily checking on animals, daily egg collection, weekly stall/coop clean-out, scrubbing water buckets, sweeping. Around the home - lawn mowing, weed-whacking, weeding gardens, documenting wildflowers etc. on INaturalist, fencing projects, painting house/barn.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You will have your own furnished bedroom within the farmhouse. We will share the one full bathroom, and all other living spaces. The farmhouse is quite large, with two separate living rooms so we can spread out if we'd like to. On weekdays, when Jenn and Eric both work, it is expected that you will provide and make your own breakfast and lunch, then you're welcome to join us in cooking and eating dinner together. On weekends you're welcome to join us for the day's meals. We are a 10 minute drive from the town of Oxford, where there is a grocery store, pharmacy, and gas station. It's a very quiet place where people spend their free-time enjoying nature and the outdoors!

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    In your time off there are plenty of beautiful beaches and hiking trails to explore throughout Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, and PEI. The larger cities of Halifax and Moncton are also within a couple hours' drive. We enjoy spending time in the warm months floating in tubes down the river, where there is also excellent fishing.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    5 acres of space available including space on the gravel drive for a smaller campervan

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    If you are bringing your own campervan or RV.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 341548984349

Feedback

Help us looking after our dog in Sainte-Anne-des-Lacs, QC, Canada
Coastal farm stay; host retreats, workshops and cultural craft camps and stay with our family in Roberts Creek, Canada