Learn about being self-sustainable at our family farm on Vancouver Island, Canada

Country

Canada

Enregistré comme favori 107 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    20.11.2020

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    89.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 8 jours

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 1 semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live on a small organic homestead/ farm up on a mountain close to the TransCanada Trail with my two children.
    Beautiful forest with trails starting right in the back of our house, valley view.
    There are 15 acres of land with gardens, a small orchard, 2 large greenhouses, animal pastures and a pond so far.


    Our projects include:

    -everyday chores like firewood, pruning back trees and bushes, weeding
    - help in my pottery studio if possible
    -planting, landscaping, making firewood, everything you need
    to do on a homestead
    - hanging out with our kids
    -fencing a new area for berry bushes and nut trees
    -propagate trees and berry bushes
    -setting up more animal shelters, including fencing
    -cultivating new soil and build new garden beds
    -growing more medicinal plants
    -improving our compost system
    - collecting seaweed from the beach
    - maintaining two greenhouses, from seeding to harvest
    - pruning
    - harvesting and saving seeds
    - canning, dehydrating, preserving food and medicinals
    - tree planting
    - preparing and applying biodynamic preparations
    - various renovations in the house
    -finishing our huge permaculture hugel bed

    I have a fully equipped pottery studio set up.

    We live approx. 15-20 minutes away from the closest shops and town.
    I go to town frequently as my 12 year old son attends various activities, we are only 13 minutes from the Waldorf School and 20 minutes from the ocean.
    I also have a 8 year old little girl.
    Our interests lay in living a simple life in peace, connecting with the land and creating beautiful things.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Entretien général
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide à la maison
    Pratique d’une langue
    Projets artistiques
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We speak 2 languages, English and German.
    I am happy to share my knowledge about farming, growing food, healthy eating, pottery and many other passions of mine!
    My place is like a retreat on a little mountain in the woods, if you like a quiet meditative lifestyle with lots of nature and time spent in contemplation than this is a good place for you.

  • Aide

    Aide

    At this time of year in fall and winter I mainly need help in the house and outside with garden clean up.
    I have a dog that needs to be taken care of when i go to my Art Shows and Markets

  • Langues parlées

    German: Courant
    English: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    guest bedroom, private bathroom on separate floor in above ground basement.
    Food available but due to my irregular work schedule I can not cook meals and most helpers in the past have been happy to make their own food.
    Kitchen has anything you would need and I am happy to buy food that you like even if I don't eat it :)

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Helpers at my place have been very independent in the past years and i have received positive feedback about it.
    I have used other hosting platforms for the last 10 year and just added workaway.
    If you want to go there and check out our reviews or pictures, pls do!

    I usually have a few tasks or projects going at a time and they can pick each day what they want to work on, so it doesn't get too boring.
    I am very happy about initiative and projects you want to start on your own if it improves and benefits the land.

    Vancouver Island is a vibrant place with amazing nature to explore everywhere! Kayaking, whale watching, hiking, etc. your own vehicle would help with that. I will go to town every now and then or to Victoria one night a week. There are lots of young people growing food in this area, good food available always!
    Lots of art, music, dance, yoga, meditation, etc.

    My kids love to play with helpers!

    I am a single parent and it is way too much for me to take care of the land, the house, my kids, my business and everything else that is going on by myself. Help is much appreciated.

    When I work I usually work all day in my studio and am not around too much, when my kids are here with me, I am cooking and playing :)

    We have had many great helpers stay with us long term, many of them coming back several years in a row or for visits.
    Right now I am looking for shorter stays around 1- 2 weeks , but am open and flexible.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




N° de référence hôte : 319442919229