Help us finish our earth-house in Whanganui Bay, Lake Taupō

  • Nouvelle-Zélande
  • Enregistré comme favori 82 fois
  • Activité récente: 27 sept. 2023



 Séjour min. souhaité : Pas de minimum



  • Description


    Mauri ora and welcome from Gabriel. I want to share with you my culture and the way we live on our papakainga (māori homelands). I live in Whanganui Bay on my ancestral lands with my partner and our three young children. Here, you will be immersed among my family and our traditions and ceremonies as they arise.
    We have 2 dogs and 3 horses that help us live sustainably.

    Whanganui Bay is a place you have to experience for yourself. I cannot describe how unique and beautiful it is to live here.

    You will have to be ok with simple living/camping. As you will have no running electricity or water in the caravan. We will provide you with lighting and water. You will have gas for cooking and fridge if you wish. And you are welcome to use our generator for charging your devices.

    You will learn sustainable building practices and be involved in our earth building projects. Work with clay, pumice, lime and straw. We have adapted this building technique from the ancient Romans. We can also show you how to create a food garden and build an earth oven as these are my next projects after completing our humble earth house.

    Somethings you might want to know :)
    - Learn sustainable building practises
    - Learn about growing your own food
    - Meet other workawayers in Turangi
    - Go on endless adventures in the Bay
    - Excellent cellphone reception
    - Access to electricity
    - Daily trips go to Taupō township
    - Easy and fun work
    - Private caravan close or far away

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    You can live and learn about the Maori culture.

    How to cook in a puia
    Earth building
    Fire building
    Rock climbing
    Motorbike riding
    Horse riding
    Trout fishing
    Child minding

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    What working with us looks like….

    Earth building:
    You will help by learning to make the clay mixture and apply it to the outside of our earth-house which is only
    6m long x 5m wide x 2m high. It’s a tiny earth house.

    Depending on the weather and how hot it gets. Work can start in the morning around 8am. Stop during midday. And restart later in the afternoon. This will give you time to go for a swim have lunch or explore Whanganui Bay. Some of my family may invite you to stay for food and drink that could disrupt our work and I’m happy for that to happen.

    On days where the weather isn’t hot we will work throughout the day from 9am-2pm.

    Child minding:
    Alternatively, you can help me by minding my children while I work on the earth house. And or we can take turns. My children love to explore and go for bush walks, ride their motorbikes, go kayaking, walk to the waterfall, visit their family. They love cooking and baking. Play games, create art. Or simply play on their iPads. They are very loving and easy going kids who just love to have fun and eat food. Occasionally they will have a power struggle between the two older kids but can easily be distracted from that with something fun.

    Not essential but if you like to cook you are more than welcome to help with that as well at any time of the day.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Maori: Intermédiaire

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement



    We have a self contained two berth caravan next to our house (we can relocate the caravan if you prefer to stay next to the lake 1minute away from our house).

    The caravan has two single sofa beds or it can be converted to a king size bed. We lived in this caravan for two years so it has seen better days but it is still functional and is cosy.

    We provide fruit and veges from the garden and vegan basics - rice, pasta, oats, flour, etc. You are also welcome to bring your own food to share with the whānau/family in our communal gatherings.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    There are so many things to do in Whanganui Bay we may be remote but we are in the middle of all the towns.

    National Park
    Mt Ruapehu

    Traverse the Tongariro crossing and climb Mt Doom for “Lord Of The Rings”fans. Experience geothermal walks and relax in the hot pools in Tokaanu, Taupō and Rotorua - all within an hours drive.


    We have young children so we expect our home to be treated respectfully.
    We are easy going, adventurous, respectful, kind and loving people.
    We like to socialise with our family and have heaps of fun.

    We expect you to help with Earth-building and help us entertain our children if we are doing the earth building.

    Because we live on our Māori ancestral lands, at anytime an occasion can be called for an event that we will participate in and afterwards eat and celebrate with the family. Which you are welcome to attend.

    Sometimes we have school groups that visit us for outdoor education.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il aimait accueillir les digital nomads.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Cet hôte a dit qu’il acceptait les personnes voyageant avec un animal.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 2-4 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 297283226259

Feedback (1)


Help us with building and fixing some fences and gardening in Rural Manawatu near Feilding, New Zealand
Gardening help for a Kiwi family in North Canterbury, New Zealand