Would you like to renovate our house by the ocean in the spectacular Lofoten Island, Norway



mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 483 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook


  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

  • Description


    We are a married couple living in our home together with our youngest son (16) in spectacular Lofoten Islands in the Northern part of Norway. Well known for its many possiblities for all kinds of outdoor activities. People from all over the world come here for hiking, surfing, skiing, fishing and hunting Aurora and a lot more.

    Our home is were you will sleep and eat during your stay with us. You will have your own room and access to all what you need in the house.

    Fall 2016 we fall in love with a beachproperty by the ocean on the inside of the Islands place is called Sennesvik about 10 minutes drive from airport and citycentrum. It is our big Project and dream to get the place in good shape and the olde little house totally renovated. We want to transform this place into a unique and spectacual resort. We need some assistent to do some different handcraft work with the house and on the property.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Lofoten has a lot to give during all seasons. The nature is uniq and spectacular. Here is a lot to experience when it comes to cultur. During hundreds of years a famous fishing has taken place every winther. The fish is put to dry outside, and are exported to other countries where you find it on your plate as baccalao.

    There are many possibilites for outdoor activities like sport, kayaking, diving, surfing, hiking, bicycling, climbing, fishing and so on. In the summertime midnightsun is an amazing experience from the end of May to the middle of July. Daylight 24 hours and then the opposite in December when there is no sun for four weeks.
    The People here traditionally lived from fishing, tourism and farming. Still the Island has many farmers and our meet from the lamb eating the green grass in the mountains has a very great taste.

    Lofoten has evidence of early settlement, and for those interested we have an interesting viking museum. There you get a great Insight of how they lived, and you can easily picture it as the muesum often has workers doing handcraft like they did before.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    Dear helper. The house by the ocean is small about 55 square meeters and need totally renovation. We start with building and reinforce parts of the foundation wall. Further remodelling some of the exterior walls, isolate, change windows, carpentry etc said in a short way we need all skills for rebuilding a house. We are mainly interested in those with carpenters experience.

    We also have started renovation the boathouse, but it’s still a lot work to to inside. Beside this building you can se a big stone. This is meant to be the innside wall for the Lofoten moust spectacular outdoor sauna, jacuzzi and spa place.
    Our WorkAwayer Antonio has already contributed with excavation before construction start.

    The largest stone look like a small cathedral and is of a rock called Monzonitt. The stone is about 2800 million years old and is one of Norway's oldest. We also have an interesting construction project with this big stone.

    If you not are any carpenters we need a lot different help on our property by the sea. We have to move stones (some are big and heavy) up from the beach when the tide is low. We also pick up seaweed. Our plan is to get a new nice grassmat on a surface that is over three thousand square meters. We advise the helper that this is hard and heavy work and does not suit people who are weak and too young. We underline, -you must be strong and can’t have any back problems. This work needs muscle powers, and you gone sweet a lot. In the darkest period from November - January we are needed to use headlights some ours during the day. You must also expect to go by bicycle some days.

    A summary of task planned in the near future:

    - renovated main house and boat house
    - picink seaweeds
    - move big stones
    - plan big roof beams
    - chop in mountain with stone wedges

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Finnish: Courant
    Norwegian: Courant

  • Hébergement


    We live in a big house with 5 bedrooms in a quiet place 3 km from the citycenter. It is possible to use our car some times when needed. You will have your own room and access to all you need in the house, but the room is small. During your stay you are welcome to be like part of the family and will have dinner prepared almost every day. We also love to learn about your way of eating and maybe we can learn from eachother. We kindly ask everybody not to bring alchohol or beer into our home.

    We are used to host guests from all over the world and enjoy greatly this type of lifestyle.

    Bodil likes to cook healthy foods. We eat meat and fish but less metat.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We very much hope to get in contact with you who want to come stay and work with us. We expect you to work and have fun at the same time. It is good if we can work about 4 hours pr day. Sundays are always free. We want to respect and treat you in a good and nice way and expect the same back. We will do our best for you to have a great experience living and working with us.

    How you can find the best way for traveling to our island. The shortest way is probably the Wideroe flight from Oslo to Leknes airport, but you can choose many different combinations of plane, train, ferry and bus. Some examples:

    1. Oslo-Bodø by train (it takes more than 18 hours), Bodø-Stamsund by Hurtigruta (4 hours): in this case, we can pick you up with our car at the Stamsund ferry terminal.

    2. Oslo-Bodø by plane (it takes 1.5 hours with SAS or Norwegian Airlines), Bodø-Stamsund by Hurtigruta (4 hours): in this case, we can pick you up with our car at the Stamsund ferry terminal.

    3. Oslo-Bodø by plane (it takes 1.5 hours with SAS or Norwegian Airlines), Bodø-Moskenes by Hurtigruta (4 hours), Moskenes-Bodø by Nordland Bus (1.5 hours)

    4. Oslo-Evenes by plane (it takes 1.5 hours with SAS or Norwegian Airlines), Evenes-Leknes by Nordland Bus (3.5 hours)

    Notice that sometimes there are direct Wideroe flights from Oslo to Leknes airport.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    max 4 hours a day five days a week. Sundays alway free.

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

N° de référence hôte : 276542478792