updated  

Help us with our DIY and gardening project and enjoy swimming and canoeing on the nearby lake in Filipstad, Sweden

  • Favourited 372 times
  • Last activity: 29 mai 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are looking for fun people that want to join the team and help us here Värmland/Sweden - right next to the lake!
    As it looks like right now the next workawayproject will be two weeks in september 2024.
    Over twenty wonderful workawayers (from fourteen different countries) have been here already to spend one week or more with us in year 2023 and 2024.
    So are you ready to join in aswell? Contact us today!

    We enjoy living in our timberhouse in Sweden built around 1880 that we restored and rebuilt during the last ten years.
    Our house is placed right at the lake in the middle of the beautiful nature in eastern Värmland 15 km outside small town Filipstad .
    We, that is: Anja (55 years) used to work as a teacher in Germany and now moved to Sweden, and Harald (56 years) born in Sweden, studied in Germany. We both love music and Anja sings in a local rockband. We also collect vinyl and are super interested in classic cars - Citroen, Volvo, Saab - and enjoy roadtrips also in our old VW camper.
    Over the last twenty years we have had many people from several different countries staying with us and helping us out with all kind of projects while restoring and building the house and garden.

    Canoeing, swimming and fishing and hiking is fantastic here on our lake and you can use the canoe and the fishingboat to explore the lake with its small islands that are just outside the front door. We also have an amazing woodfired saunahouse and a privat little beach with a large sundeck.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    With us you can get to know what it is like to live on the countryside in Sweden. But we have also travelled a lot ourselves and love sharing what we have learned and are excited to hear your stories. As we speak swedish, english and german you have the chance to learn or improve these three languages. And you have the chance to improve your workskills as we like to share our experience and like to show you how things work. Above that we can guide you to canoeing, hiking, fishing and many other outdoor activities in the nearby area.

  • Help

    Help

    All different kind of tasks in the garden and around the houses: Gardening, carpenting, painting, maintaining the buildings. You need to enjoy being outside most of the time and to do physically tasks. You do not need to have any special skills but you will have the chance to learn different techniques.
    The projects will vary a lot over the days and typical thing we do could be:
    - taking care of the garden such as removing old grass, trimming bushes, preparing planting
    - taking down smaller trees and preparing firewood
    - painting the buildings with the famous swedish Falu-red colour, painting windows
    - carpenter tasks like renovating or building a new deck at the lake, putting up a new wooden-building, maybe build a green house
    We will always do the tasks together with you and we make sure to suggest tasks that will be suitable for you!
    The hours can differ depending on the weather. Sometimes short days, sometimes longer days.
    But be prepared to work physically!
    In exchange you get the possibility to stay where Sweden is at its best, and where other people wish to spend their vacation: right next to a beautiful lake with crystal clear water!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    Harald grew up bilingual swedish/german and we both have been traveling a lot. We find it always interesting to pick up new languages .

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will stay in a separate building just 30 meters from our main house: Six beds in two bedrooms with wonderful lakeviews and a shared bathroom with shower and WC.
    We eat and cook in the main house. Usually we enjoy preparing all the meals together so hopefully you are interested in that too! So far we have been able to enjoy fantastic lunch and dinners, barbecue etc with specialities from a lot of different countries. The kitchen in the main house has all the equipment you might need. And we make sure to buy all the supplies to create and cook together.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You are very welcome to bring your own car or camper. But also without your own vehicle you will have the chance to explore the stunning nature around the house because it is all within walking distance. The outdoor adventures and nature sights should be your main interest and focus while staying here on the beautiful countryside since it is one hour drive to the next interesting city.

    For shopping we can take you along in our car to small town Filipstad (20 min away). There are public transportations connecting Filipstad but not all the way out to our house. Karlstad and Örebro are bigger cities in the area and Stockholm, Göteborg or Oslo can be reached within three- four hours by bus or train.

    Your stay with us can last from a few days to several weeks depending on your plans and what projects are going on here. We focus on sustainable restoring and woodconstructions that blend into the nature we are surrounded by. We try to re-use old materials and are crazy in love with second-hand things and quality things made in Sweden. Carpe diem is most important to us and doing work should be fun and not feel boring. We will work together and the helping hours will be spread out over the week depending on the weather situation as most of the work will be outside.
    We like to socialize with people but as you will have your own little house you always have the chance to be on your own inbetween if you want.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We work from home online a lot and can provide internet access of course if you want to work on your own projects.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We travel in our own camper (old Volkswagen T4) sometimes and therefor especially welcome anyone who wants to bring his own camper. On our private ground you will find amazing parkingspots with a stunning lakeview.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Just let us know what kind of pets you want to bring and we can tell you if it works. A single dog is usually fine.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 265868316917

Feedback (14)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)



















Venez-nous rejoindre dans notre ferme bio familiale à Hörby, Suède
Rejoignez-nous et découvrez nos retraites silencieuses à Karlshamn, Suède