Join our family and help with carpentry, painting, babysitting and everyday household chores in the seaside village of Baltimore, West Cork, Ireland !

Country

Irlande

mis à jour   Last minute

Enregistré comme favori 57 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    08.08.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    98.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 3 jours

  • Badges

 
Offre "last minute" : besoin d'aide urgent, tout de suite, mais aussi à d'autres périodes de l'année.
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have moved to our house in Baltimore, West Cork with our joyful 10 month old baby boy and we’re looking for some support and ideas to make this house a home. My name is Michelle and I am married to Declan. Declan runs different music and arts festivals and events, and I work in a department of traditional arts in a university, currently researching a very old Irish vocal practice and its benefits for our health and wellbeing. We are a relaxed, quiet and easygoing family - Declan doesn't drink, and since having the baby I don't drink much nowadays! We love music, arts, history, yoga (I am a qualified yoga teacher) and good food. We love our local area and living by the Atlantic Ocean. We are looking for a happy, flexible, independent non-smoking couple or individual to come stay with us, work with wood (if you have knowledge and experience of this), garden, help paint this house and help with day-to-day living. Someone who likes being around babies and is willing to play with our fun and active 10 month old is preferable. We would prefer if our workaways were over 23. We also have a preference for those who have lived away from home. Thank you!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We live in the beautiful seaside village of Baltimore (Fort of the Jewels in Irish). Baltimore has a fascinating history and is home to 800 year old Baltimore Castle. It is the main ferry port to Sherkin Island (less than 10 minutes by ferry) and Cape Clear (a Gaeltacht region/Irish language area). It is a small village, 10 minute drive or so from the market town of Skibbereen. There are plenty swimming, sailing, whale watching, hiking and biking opportunities in the area and it is a great base to explore beautiful West Cork. West Cork is home to many many artists, and many great festivals. As mentioned above my husband works in this area. We are happy to share and connect you with local events of interest. There is a vibrant work away and aupair community in West Cork so there should be plenty of options for you to get involved in. We want you to enjoy your stay with us, and we will help and support you in any way we can.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Right now we are looking for help in August.
    We’re looking for help doing up this house - if you have carpentry skills that will definitely come in handy! As I am returning to work, we will need help babysitting Liam (that’s the fun job! 😃 ) and preparing meals. Also help with a little painting in the house and general brainstorming on creative household improvements - 4 - 5 hours a day, 5 days a week. If you are good at organising and working out how to make spaces more beautiful or practical we totally welcome that! There’s lots to do, that’s why we welcome couples!
    Weekends are your own. We can provide you with bicycles or give you a lift or a ride to buses. We encourage you to get out and explore this beautiful area. We would like you to enjoy your time here as much as we enjoy having you.
    We are looking for well-travelled workaways that can stay 1 - 3 weeks and leave a mark on our home.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Irish: Intermédiaire
    Norwegian: Débutant
    Portugais: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    I work for a Norwegian university but I do not speak much Norwegian. I would like to improve! I have two beautiful Portugese nieces and I would love to speak with them a bit better in Portuguese. Many years ago I trained as an English language teacher, so I can share my basic knowledge on this!

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You will have a double room in our three bedroom house and share our bathrooms and facilities.
    We have parking space for a car if needed.
    The house is not big so we appreciate our workaways being considerate sharing the space.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    A public bus service runs to Baltimore. In the summer it is a lively village, and sleepy and quiet in the winter. There are so many possibilities for sight-seeing in this area, listening to great Irish music, exploring local history, enjoying the excellent local cuisine (there is a Michelin star restaurant in the village!) or simply being inspired by this beautiful setting. We love going for walks on the strand, or to the Beacon (landmark), enjoying pizza in the square while listening to great music on a Sunday evening. We would love to share this with you :)

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Unfortunately we cannot provide an ideal space for a digital nomad but it is possible to work from your room, or use the desk in the dining space when available. Generally we have a quiet house and we respect your privacy while you are here. Internet speed is 63Mbps.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



N° de référence hôte : 221616317988