Help around our lovely home and farm in regional Victoria, Australia

Country

Australie

Enregistré comme favori 31 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    22.11.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live on a beautiful, undulating 1600 acre farm near Willaura, Victoria, not far from the Grampians mountain range and about 3 hours west of Melbourne. We purchased the farm in October 2019 and have been very busy ever since - there are plenty of simple jobs to do around here to keep us all busy, but nothing too difficult.
    Toby is 58, an Englishman and was a commercial film producer for 30 years, prior to us moving to the country. Sally is 52, and Australian. I grew up in this area and am very happy to be back in the district. We have two daughters, Claudia (21) and Ava (20) who are both at University in Melbourne. Claudia is studying a double degree in Engineering Sustainability and Industrial Design, and Ava is studying Psychology with Honours. Both girls come home from time to time and are a lot of fun, very outgoing and easy to get along with. We also have a gorgeous Golden Retriever dog, Honey, who is 5 years old and who would love any attention you would like to give her. We are a fun, easy going family, who love good food, wine and conversation, and meeting people. We are also both fully vaccinated for Covid-19 and my daughters will be both receive their second dose by the end of October 2021.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are a happy family and welcome your stay with us, and we can offer the opportunity to experience country Victorian life. If you're hoping to improve your English skills we're happy to help. If you don't have your own transport we are able to assist with getting you to the local train station. If you are coming to us from Melbourne or the airport by public transport, you would need to make your own way to the towns of (either) Ararat or Hamilton by train, for us to collect you. I believe there is also a VLine bus available from Melbourne to Wickliffe, which is only 15 minutes away.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Our home is about 15 minutes each way from the townships of Willaura and Lake Bolac, west of Melbourne. We are on 1600 acres, and are surrounded by lots of beautiful, undulating country side (with thousands of sheep and plenty of kangaroos!).
    Workaway travellers coming here would need to enjoy the peace and quiet of country life. We are happy to pick up travellers from the local train station (about 30 minutes away), however I anticipate you will be best placed with your own vehicle, if you'd like to explore the area in your own time. We are close to the beautiful Grampians mountain range and Halls Gap, which are both well worth a visit, and approximately 1.5 hours from the pretty coastal town of Port Fairy and the southern Shipwreck coast.
    In addition to running the farm, we have a large garden and 3 bedroom home, and need help doing day-to-day, simple chores to keep on top of everything, and to have it all looking need, tidy and clean.
    Gardening work might include watering, weeding and planting, mulching, and carting away (or burning) debris. Having only recently purchased this property, we have pretty much demolished the old, uncared for garden and are in the process of planting out a new garden, including lots of trees that will occasionally need watering, especially in the summer months. I'm also about to embark on building my vegetable garden, which is really where my passion lies.
    Around the farm we have many plantations of trees that constantly need tidying up and wood collected for home fires, with the messier bits stacked in bonfires and burnt on the spot - my idea of fun, burning stuff, and then returning that evening to check on it, preferably with a glass of wine in hand! :)
    In the back yard and work area, there is always plenty of painting to be done, and general tidying up. We'd have lots of small jobs around the property for someone with carpentry or building skills, or for someone who knows how to operate a chainsaw safely (preferably with a chainsaw operators certificate).
    Help inside the house might include general duties such as vacuuming, mopping, dusting, cleaning out cupboards, stacking and emptying the dishwasher, setting the table for meals and (less regularly) polishing silver and washing windows - however we have a cleaner who comes in once a week, so I see most jobs being outside, particularly now that we're heading into the warmer months. And we would love our dog, Honey, to be given lots of attention and the occasional walk (if we are unable to take her ourselves). She'd be in heaven. We also have chickens to be fed, and daily eggs collected, and in July / August we may need assistance with orphaned lambs that need to be bottle fed.

    So as you can see - there is always a lot to be done, but none of the work that we would ask you to do is difficult. Ultimately, we want you to leave having enjoyed your time with us.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Italien: Courant
    Allemand: Débutant
    Français: Débutant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You will be staying in the house we live in and we have one bedroom with a queen size bed available (for either one person or a couple to share) and use of the main household bathroom. If we don't have anyone else staying at the time, the bathroom would be exclusively yours, as Toby and I have an ensuite. From time to time we might have a second bedroom available, also with a queen size bed. This will depend on whether one of my daughters is at home, or we have friends to stay. We provide full board - all meals, snacks, beer, wine and accommodation obviously. We really want you to feel like you're at home and are comfortable and have everything you need to enjoy your stay with us. Toby is a fantastic cook and if you enjoy cooking, he'd be happy to teach you some of his favorite recipes or learn some of yours. Whilst we don't mind if you smoke, we ask that you don't smoke inside the house.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    During your own time, we would recommend a day trip to the Grampians, which is very close by. We don't, however, have a car available for travellers to use, so it would be beneficial for you to have your own car. The southern Shipwreck coast and Great Ocean Road is also only 1.5 hours away. A visit to the town of Port Fairy is also highly recommended.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






N° de référence hôte : 184618965228