Besoin d'une paire de bras supplémentaire pour la saison de ski, Blue Mountain, Canada



Enregistré comme favori 546 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    93.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 3 jours

  • paid opportunity

    Offre rémunérée


  • Badges

    Top Host
  • Description


    Hello Workawayers
    We are a family of four that really enjoy hosting friendly, fun, outgoing travellers :)
    We live in a lovely small town located on the shores of Georgian Bay, close to beaches and ski hills. We are located 2 hours north west of Toronto in the Town of the Blue Mountains. Our house is beside a conservation area with the Beaver river running by and plenty of trails and nature out the back door. We are a short walk to the Artistic town of Clarksburg affectionately known as "Artsburg" with several art galleries to meander thru. We are a 20 minute walk to the quaint town of Thornbury with several tourist boutiques a few coffee shops, plenty of restaurants with great patios over looking the river and the bay, a few pubs a winery, a cidery, a cheese gallery and a beautiful harbour.
    We have two lovely, lively boys 14 and 10 that we sometimes need help with. I work in the ski industry at one of the private ski clubs in our area (usually means I'am kept busy from Oct.-April) and many other ventures and volunteering keep me busy year round while Scott is in the construction business.
    We are a short drive to Blue Mountain Resort, Scenic Caves, Wasaga Beach and everything they have to offer. With so many year round activities we are considered the play ground to the city. Some of the activities in the area include hiking, swimming, fishing, rock climbing, canoeing, kayaking, windsurfing, kiteboarding, snowshoeing, ice fishing, x-country skiing, skiing, snowboarding, skating and much much more.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️The Greyhound bus does come to Thornbury, *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️however there is no public transportation in and around our area.

    Our philosophy is that you have come to discover this amazing place that we call home
    and experience as much as it and we have to offer
    So please put down your phone and look out the window, or better yet go outside and play :)

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    there are lots of opportunities to experience many different activities in our area
    from skiing in the winter to rock climbing in the summer, there are many great companies that will take you out and provide you with the equipment and lessons, however there is a cost to some of these activities and transportation will need to be considered.
    At our home you will have access to snowshoes and bikes, depending on size we may have ski or snowboard equipment that could be used. There are many seasonal events that we attend , often you are able to join us, again some of these may have a cost
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️This experience is like life, the more that you put into it, the more you will get out of it.*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️

  • Aide



    Please know that while all applicants will be considered , we will be looking for helpers with specific skill sets and experience, (please see below), our preferance for hosting is as described by the workaway site, however we would be willing to pay for skills/time that go beyond that description and MUST be discussed prior to arrival, thanks in advance for your consideration and understanding.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️We are always looking for *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️
    People that enjoy spending time doing things with kids, has the initiative to plan and execute fun and interesting activities with the boys (this means you are able to do this without mom always making the plans for you) or AN ACTION HERO !!
    They are excited about sports, adventures and enjoy arts and crafts. During the winter they love to toboggan out the front door and participate in ski lessons. It would be great if you are interested in skiing or snowboarding and if you are a competent skier even better (this is not a prerequisite). If spending time on the hills interests you then please be aware that while it is often easy enough for us to get you to the hill you will be responsible to purchase your own lift pass.
    If this is the role that you are interested in, then you need to understand that it is not baby sitting that we are looking for but more of a camp councillor or activity guide. Our expectation is that you will be able to come up with activities to do with the kids from biking the trails to tennis or golf or craft activities, painting or going on adventures ( we don't want someone sitting around watching the kids play video games all day). The kids will also need to be fed and watered through out the day, its not hard it just needs to happen preferably without a mess left behind)

    ***Winter 2020/2021 please contact us as we will have limited availability due to covid.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️SPRING/SUMMER 2021 . ONE POSITION AVAILABLE MUST HAVE PREVIOUS EXPERIENCE (IF YOU ARE TRAVELLING AS A COUPLE AND YOU BOTH HAVE A MINIMUM OF 2 YEARS EXPERIENCE LISTED BELOW WE WOULD CONSIDER HOSTING BOTH OF YOU)
    April and May garden work, outside, shovelling, planting, moving brush....
    June - Sept ( possible 2 positions depending on experience)
    *️️️️️️painting inside and out
    *️️️️️️construction / building
    *️️️️️️must not be afraid to do physical or dirty work.

    Please understand we are welcoming you into our home and into our family, keeping your room and the bathroom you use clean makes for good roommates and that if it has not been specified as one of your tasks we would expect that help in preparing meals and tiding up after would be a part of being a family :). These are things that happen 7 days a week.

    And while we are generally flexible with our tasks and timelines it is preferred that things be done in the mornings, as this has the potential to allow us to have you join us in afternoon activities. We generally don't run on a Monday to Friday schedule (mon-fri work week with Sat, Sun off) so you will need to be flexible, however like already mentioned we are flexible so If you have a preferred day to try to see or do something please let us know in advance and we will accommodate to the best of our ability.

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant

  • Hébergement


    Your accommodation would be a bedroom in our home, or possibly staying in one of our little trailers.
    Bathroom for workawayers is inside downstairs,(we do use the shower). We do have laundry facilities that can be used but we ask that you respect the hours of preferred use (hydro is cheaper from 7pm-7am)
    We provide 3 meals a day, usually you organize your own breakfast and lunch, dinners we often have together and help with preparing dinners or setting/clearing the table is expected.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️please note that while we are happy to host different diets we will not be changing our shopping list to accommodate specifics , but we are always happy to have you join us at the grocery store for any items you may need to purchase :) also we do not purchase alcohol you will be responsible for that if you wish to drink.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ while we do have unlimited wifi it is our expectation that you are here for the experience and not to disappear into cyber worlds, *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️IF YOU NEED TO CHECK YOUR PHONE EVERY 10 MINUTES PLEASE DO NOT CONTACT US!.*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    There is a ton of stuff to do, especially for the outdoor enthusiast, you can go it alone or with one of the tour companies to help you along the way. With a thriving artist community at our doorstep, several galleries and shops to meander through, we are referred to as the gallery district. On the shores of Georgian Bay provides many beach areas close by with lots of water activities and of course we live in ski country with several small ski areas a short distance away.
    Some of our time during the summers will be spent camping and cottaging so there is plenty of water activities and fun to be had. Our property backs on to a conservation area that has several hiking and biking trails or snowshoe x-country ski trails depending on which season you arrive. We have bikes and snowshoes that can be used on the trails out the back door or to head into town. During winter if anyone is looking for a ski or snowboard workaway, the times we need help with would be perfect and you can check out Blue Mountain for pass options.(please note that while Blue Mountain is called Mountain it is really a hill, on an escarpment)
    Things you may wish to look up ahead of time , Thornbury, Clarksburg, Blue Mountain, Scenic Caves, Freespirit Tours. (One thing to note although there is plenty to do that is free, there are also a lot of activities mentioned that can be done but do have a cost associated, also there is limited public transportation)

    P.s. Backpackers welcome ;)

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    let us know what you are looking for and we will see if this works for all

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    contact us and we will see whats available

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4 - 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

the challenge
the winter
the summer
the boss
the Fisherman
the family

N° de référence hôte : 176992562942