Join a vegan, multi-species, intentional community near Warragul, Australia

Country

Australie

Enregistré comme favori 175 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    29.09.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    60.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 21 jours

 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Mel, Penny and Naty and we run a vegan, multi-species, intentional community. We are a community of around 100 individuals including cows, pigs, sheep, roosters, geese, horses, dogs, cats and humans. As a community we do not prioritise the needs of human residents. Instead the needs of all members of the community, including other animal species and the environment, are given equal consideration. All decisions and actions are made within this framework.

    COVID NOTES: Our doors are still open to Workawayers and we are currently applying to be able to offer travel permits for potential helpers. So if you are interstate and in need of a permit, please do get in touch as we might be able to help. All potential helpers are required to provide proof of vaccination in order to be eligible to stay with us.

    IMPORTANT NOTE: We are a completely VEGAN community which means that we do not allow any animal products to be consumed on-site. You are not required to be vegan to stay with us but you must to commit to being vegan while on-site, for the duration of your stay.

    Workawayers are asked to help out for 5 hours per day, 5 days per week in exchange for accommodation and meals.

    We ask for a minimum stay of two weeks for interstate or overseas visitors and a maximum of four weeks (negotiable).

    We have a variety of accommodation options for our volunteers to choose from depending on availability. These are listed below under “type of accommodation”.

    If you choose to stay in the main house, you will share the space with three dogs, six cats and up to four other humans. Couples are welcome and we are LGBTIQA+ and SW friendly. We are open communicators and would like you to be open with us also.

    We are located in farming country and the closest train from Melbourne is 20 minutes away, in Warragul (Traralgon country V-Line train). We are happy to provide pick up and drop off at the Warragul station.

    You can find out more by messaging us.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    The cultural exchange is about learning how to live within a small, emerging self-sufficient community along with non-human animals. You will learn all of the practical skill associated with animal care both physical and psycho-social. You will learn about the philosophy of eco-feminism and the ethics of care, which underpin our social framework.

    We hope to learn and grow from the experience and knowledge of travelers who may have much to contribute to said framework. We also provide an opportunity for language exchange. We are keen English teachers and always excited to learn new languages.

  • Aide

    Aide

    The help required is mostly hands on and can be physically challenging. Primarily, we need help with the day to day running of the animal sanctuary, which may include building projects, constructing and mending fencing, cleaning up after non-human residents and tending to their daily needs. There are also opportunities to help with other tasks depending on your skills. For example, website maintenance, blog writing, grant writing etc.

    There are some set daily tasks that must be done and beyond that every day is different, depending on what is happening. We could be building a new shelter, mending fences or waiting out the rain indoors. Whatever the day brings, you can be sure there's never a dull moment.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have a variety of accommodation options for our volunteers to choose from depending on availability. Within the main house there is the upstairs areas which is a whole mezzanine level (without a door) but with its own bathroom (with a door); or a 70's era caravan; and a separate, fully equipped 3 bedroom house.

    We like to eat communally and encourage our guests to cook, if that is something they like to do. Otherwise, we generally eat dinners together but mostly fend for ourselves for breakfast and lunch.

    We like to socialise and play board games in the evenings but are also just as happy to retire and have our own time after a hard day's work. Generally we are easy going.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    There are many bush walking tracks in the local area and some lovely national parks a short drive away. This would benefit travelers who have their own vehicle. We are 20 minutes away from the nearest town but Penny works in town 3 days / week so is able to pick up supplies on those trips. There is no public transport that services the community, however, there is possibility to borrow a vehicle if you have a driver's license.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We can discuss options with potential Workawayers and are open to this idea.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





N° de référence hôte : 161665267499