Assist with our home and yard, cooking and companionship in Gibsons, BC, Canada

  • Enregistré comme favori 52 fois
  • Activité récente: 12 juil. 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins un mois

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    I am now looking for someone available and suitable who would like to be our next helper. We now have a helper for June, July and August -2024. We will need a helper in September, October, November and December 2024. I prefer
    a 2 or 3 month stay if possible.

    We prefer someone who can do a longer stay such as 2-3 months provided everyone feels it’s a “good fit”. One month is our minimum.
    We live in Gibsons on the Sunshine Coast in B.C. Canada. The view from our property is spectacular, the ocean, mountains, and islands are magical. You can rent a kayak and explore the islands nearby. We live in an area with many artists, writers, and lots of cultural events. The hiking is diverse with waterfalls, lakes, and creeks as well as many beaches for swimming.

    It's a great location if you love nature, hiking, cycling, swimming, kayaking, and attending outdoor concerts or the Writer's Festival. Currently, I need caregiving help as my husband has cancer and is 95 years old (much older than me!). I can’t keep up with his needs and maintain our property, which involves a lot of physical work in both house and yard. The chores would include chatting with Ivan (companionship) who is a very interesting elder. He crossed the Atlantic in the Arctic Fox II using celestial navigation many years ago. He is cognitive, engaging, warm-hearted, and passionate about social justice and world peace.

    I am still working part-time which increases my need for help. I only work about 12 hours per week so I have lots of time to assist and support my helper. I will need more help with cooking and meal making, house cleaning, yard and garden work, painting, and if you can drive in Canada that would be a benefit. I need someone home on occasion to ensure Ivan is safe if I have errands or time commitments up to 2-3 + hours.
    I am flexible to some degree with the hours worked but would hope for a total of approximately 20-25 hours per week. You will always have 2 consecutive days off or 2 separate days each week. We all help with cooking meals, and you can help yourself preparing a meal, especially lunch. I would prioritize days when I need help and other days when I need less or no help.
    My hope is that we openly communicate and make plans based on my needs, Ivan's needs, and your plans. I have lived in Gibsons, BC, Canada for over 39 years.
    I am an ESL teacher so I would be glad to help you with any language improvement. I love hiking, photography, swimming, fiber art, and travel adventures. I would be happy to show you some beautiful trails with great views. I am a fiber artist with a small studio and I enjoy sharing my silk painting skills.
    My husband was a mariner, and math teacher and has terrific stories about his life at sea. He does have cancer now but is still a little active, though his health is declining. We treat our volunteers with respect and clear communication, and our goal is for everyone to enjoy life. We look forward to hearing from you. I usually meet potential helpers on Skype or WhatsApp or Zoom.
    Warmest Greetings, Evi and Ivan

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Compagnie pour pers. âgée
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique/internet
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    I am a qualified ESL teacher and would be glad to provide some ESL classes during the week. We live in an area where hiking, kayaking, swimming and cycling are enjoyable. We have many interesting events in our area including a Writer's Festival, Craft Fairs, Outdoor free musical events, A jazz festival and many more opportunities to learn about the West Coast of Canada. I am a fiber artist and would be happy to teach techniques for painting on Silk. I would be delighted to show you some of my favourite lakes and hiking trails.

  • Aide

    Aide

    1) elderly companionship (conversation) 2) House cleaning 3) Some cooking of meals and serving meals 4) Driving if you have a permit (errands) 5) Gardening and yard work when needed 7) Watering plants 8) Painting a small room (optional) 9) Sweeping and mopping balcony 10) if you have repair skills often work comes up and we have all the tools and equipment (optional)

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Débutant
    Français: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    I would love to improve my Spanish and my French.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    There is a very comfortable living space that I created in the back of the living room with a gorgeous view of the sea and mountains. Several dividers make this space private and there is a bathroom just steps away. There is a comfortable bed, large desk, shelf space, drawers and a computer chair, air conditioner, and cupboard to hang clothes in. The living room is generally not used as we have our own bathroom and a spacious bedroom upstairs where I work.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    During your time off you can go to Vancouver. It is only a 40-minute ferry ride away. There are always interesting events in the city, great parks, theaters, live performances and lots of multi-cultural events. You can also join a kayaking group, a hiking club, or a song circle. If you prefer quiet beaches, there are many. Swimming in either the sea or lakes is enjoyable until late September. There are pubs, restaurants, classes in art and writing etc. that you can attend. We live 2 blocks from the library and it is only 5 minutes to the lower town and government dock.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have a good internet connection (unlimited) We do not have any pets. We do not smoke and do not permit smoking in the house, only a good distance from the house. We only have one room available so can't accept families.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    A small van can be parked in our yard.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Un

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 159421392949

Feedback (1)

Feedback


Live in one of the most beautiful parts of the province and help with various house project in BC, Canada
Help in the garden, fun landscape projects in Central Kootenay, BC, Canada