Rainforest Retreat where we aim to live more lightly, with less, Auckland, New Zealand

Country

Nouvelle-Zélande

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 19 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    26.01.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a mature couple of former academics (he: Architecture / Urban Design, she: Social Sciences), who have left the city to pursue our dream of a slower, quieter life, more connected to nature. We've moved to a one acre property in Cornwallis in the beautiful Waitakere Ranges, about 40 minutes from the Auckland CBD and 15 minutes from Titirangi village. We're learning how to grow food, and live more sustainably, with less.

    The property is a mix of bush and cleared land, about an 8 minute walk to a lovely swimming beach. It's quiet and peaceful with amazing birdlife. There is a small house and two cabins (one is for sleeping and one we use as an office).

    We moved here in January 2021 and there's lots to do! We are looking for people to help around the property eg clearing vegetation, pruning, planting vegetable gardens, etc. If you have gardening and/or building/DIY skills that would be great. Tasks are negotiable according to skill, experience, and personal preference. We have a cabin in the orchard with a double bed, chair, drawers, heater etc.. It's completely private up there. You would have to come down to the house for meals and bathroom facilities. Would suit a single person or a couple. We have unlimited wifi and a spa pool! We also have three chickens and a little dog called Suzi who is pretty adorable. From Cornwallis you can easily explore the beautiful wild West Coast beaches of Piha, Karekare and Whātipu as well as the walking tracks of the Waitākere Ranges. Please note: some of the tracks are closed to let trees heal from Kauri Dieback, but they are slowly being reopened.

    We're looking for mature people with "green" values who appreciate quiet and the beauty of the natural world. We're thinking one or two weeks would work well. On a daily basis, we propose that guests help us with tasks for about 4 hours in the morning and have the rest of the day/evening free to do whatever. We provide accommodation (including linen, towels), meals, power and wifi. The nearest shops are in Titirangi (about 15 minutes drive), with a supermarket, cafes, an art gallery, library, post office. There is a dairy in Woodlands Park which is about 10 mins away or the Huia Store (a cafe) is 5 mins drive. Helpers are welcome to borrow our car though ideally you'd have your own car as you'd need a car to get here in the first place!
    Covid info: we are Covid-free and hope to stay healthy and well. We have both been vaccinated but are negotiable about guests. To be discussed!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are both academics: he architecture and urban design, she social sciences. Happy to help with English. Can also provide climate change education. Visitors love the many bush walks and stunning beaches in the Waitakere Ranges

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We need help managing the property eg planting vege gardens, weeding, pruning fruit trees, building steps and retaining walls and so on. If you have gardening and/or building / DIY skills, that would be perfect. We provide a cabin in the orchard with a comfortable double bed, storage and wifi. Our idea is that our helper would do about 4 hours work in the morning and then they're free to do whatever they like in the afternoons and evenings.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Serbo-Croatian: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    A double bed in a cabin in the orchard. Completely separate from main house and private. Helpers will join us for meals in the main house.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    There is no public transport to Cornwallis so a car is recommended.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    A small-medium van would be fine

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 148555854316