1 / 5

DIY House Renovations close to Lyon City, France

  • Enregistré comme favori 17 fois
  • Activité récente: 11 juil. 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Pas de minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    Hello there!

    I am a Kenyan dad of one beautiful daughter who visits me every odd weekend (hence that weekend is mostly for her without question) in my own adventure re-building my house solo - DIY.

    Otherwise! I am an engineer in the construction industry. Degree in Civil Eng. and an MBA. Credentials which I'm currently not using because I'm on a break from the career world.

    So, as I said when my girl is around, full attention and priority is the little girl! It's also her house but don't you worry, she's tiny and full of happiness!

    I now work-from-home 100%. I do at least one thing for the renovation project every day, I am building my house hence, a lot is makeshift at the moment but with a fully functioning kitchen/ toilets /bathroom (shower +bath tub + washing machine) in the basement, fully functioning water and heating system and electricity! The kitchen is also working well semi-permanently installed…update 👉🏿(thanks to my Argentinian workaway we’ve done half of the permanent kitchen build 😊. Insulation is proper! Air ventilation is perfect for the two top floors.

    Old version; We'll sleep on the ground floor (Sitting Room) until the 1st floor is complete where I will have 3 bedrooms.

    BIG UPDATE: I had a lot of help and so, no more sleeping in the sitting room! The upstairs rooms are now habitable but will need finishing. One is currently occupied by a Ukrainian refugee that I am hosting. The room has a bunker bed and so one person (a lady) can sleep there. Now if it's a couple, I'll have to see if we'll have to rearrange so one can sleep in the sitting room. If it's a guy, then the faster we finish the renovation, the faster we'll open up an extra room!

    Whenever possible, I could assist in the discovery of Lyon, touring the city. I can help you with getting around be it on a bike or otherwise. I don't hire workers though, just mutual help will be appreciated. Three evenings in the week, I go for Salsa Bachata Kizomba dances till late night!

    If the weather allows, it's a good opportunity to try out my inflatable Kayak or bike rides along the rivers. If you like hiking and you speak Ukrainian, my Ukrainian temporary housemate could show you everywhere around our place if she is in the mood or available!

    PS: Kindly requesting workawayers to read my profile very well, in full and only to contact me when they are 200% sure they want to come. If not, please wait until you are sure to send a message. I have refused other workaways just because someone had already booked only for that person to cancel a few days to arrival. Thank you for understanding.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    DIY skills will be easily picked up! We will learn together DIY skills in construction ranging from tile work, underfloor heating- DONE, installing drywalls-for extra room or maybe creating the attic room, toilet and bathroom finishes, a lot of paint works, a lot of cleaning the compound, throwing away building wastes... small finishes, woodwork-probably a lot if I'm at that stage, and all types of small skills during renovation!

    Also a few Kenyan ways of doing things!

  • Aide

    Aide

    I am in the process of building my own house and sometimes get overwhelmed by work because it is a solo project. That means, I always have a little thing to do in the house that may require a helping hand!

    Sometimes just to bounce ideas off a second person. Cleaning up the house is something I would appreciate. In the near future, may need help installing tiles, a future toilet and bathrooms , doing dry wall, etc just pure complete renovation of a house. My first workawayers already helped me finish the installation of pipes and stencils in all the upper rooms.

    I may also need help cleaning up my wooden cabin/store and maybe fitting in insulation on it's roof and clearing webs and stuff!


    There is a lot of work to be done before the house is complete but because I'm not a pro, I cannot give fixed schedules and programs. We work as things get complete the schedule changes. if we discover we can't finish, we change and do something else. if you like fully fixed programs, I'm not your type of host... I like to believe that I am easy going but exigent!

    In case there's no current DIY (due to resources or other reasons) one is still welcome to help with keeping the compound clean or housework in general or language practice .....

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Swahili (Kiswahili): Courant
    Français: Intermédiaire

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    I'd love to improve my French if there are French speakers visiting! If you want to practice English then you are welcome. you may also learn Swahili words in case you want to do a safari in Kenya or Tanzania. I am a native English speaker.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    The sitting room is big enough and one can sleep on a mattress in the sitting room though I've now temporarily completed my bedroom and hence, no longer sleeping in the sitting room! I have good enough mattresses and bedding covers.

    The basement bathroom is spacious, fully fitted, and functioning and will be the main place for privacy. It has a washing machine as well. So, cleanliness is catered for. About the meals... I cook meals for myself but since I'm Kenyan, it's mostly Kenyan type of cooking. and I'm a poor eater. If not interesting, you can always bring anything you'd like to cook as long as we can both stand the smell of the food... I'd prefer it if we could cook together.

    UPDATE: I now host a Ukrainian refugee (since September 2022) who makes her own meals and at times makes meals I can eat but not very frequently.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    I'm very close to Lyon city! 15 minutes by bus (7kms from Lyon boundary). The house is right next to the Rhone River so you can enjoy bike rides along the river or even tour the city! In good weather, you can stay out till late and it will be an adventure coming back to sleep!

    There is a bus stop a few minutes walk from the house and other buses right across the river. My house is right next to the river hence you may enjoy the views of the river.

    In the summer, if you know how to swim, we could kayak together as I have a kayak that I teach myself to kayak when it's warm outside.

    We can go to the movies.... when the renovation works are not advancing... lol ... etc etc

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Yes.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    I have parking able to fit 2 big cars.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day

N° de référence hôte : 147734872913

Feedback (2)


Photos

Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)