Share our family life in the Quimper region of Brittany, France

  • France
  • Enregistré comme favori 13 fois
  • Activité récente: 02.02.2023

Disponibilité

  2023 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    Marcel and Judy are a Franco-American couple living 10 km from the center of Quimper (and 9 km from the beach) in a housing development in a small town. Marcel retired from the building supply business almost 10 years ago, and Judy is still active in Internet site management and the creation of costume jewelry (particularly chain mail). Marcel has moderate stage Alzheimer's disease - he is physically fit and mobile and enjoys contact with all kinds of people. We are NOT looking for caregivers - we work with professionals for fitness and cognitive activities. We have always had visitors from many places, and we would like to have Workawayers who would like participate in our life. We are relatively écolo - we compost, recycle, use solar hot water, try to eat with the seasons, try to eat locally. We do not espouse any particular food philosophy, apart from a pretty strict avoidance of food additives, and most of what we eat is home-made; we keep regular meal hours. We don't drink a lot but are perfectly comfortable with people who like an apéritif or a glass of wine with a meal. Our day generally begins with breakfast at 8.30 and bedtime is usually around 21.30.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Quimper is a lovely city, lots of old stones, corners to explore. It is known for its pottery, which has been made here for more than 300 years (and we are collectors). The outdoor markets are gateways to all sorts of interesting local food experiences. Artists and craftspeople exhibit regularly in galleries and pop-up shops. Our town has 40km of walking trails, many along the Odet River. We are happy to take Workawayers with us to whatever events and activities we are participating in, whether it is a museum opening or coffee in the local bar. Judy is bilingual, Marcel speaks French, so our house is a great place to practice French (speaking good French is not required, but the willingness to try to speak some French is extremely useful). Judy is considered a pretty good cook and would be delighted to share; she would also be happy to help a Workawayer with web projects, including building sites.

  • Aide

    Aide

    A lot of flexibility here, depending on the interests of the Workawayer. We are slowly getting our jungle garden under control, and there is always maintenance to be done there. We do have someone who cleans once a week - floors, some dusting, bathroom, kitchen - but some help with daily household tasks like ironing or dishes would be great, as well as spring cleaning type of activities (windows, kitchen cupboards, etc.). For someone who likes projects, the garage door needs to be painted, the garden sheds need varnishing, it will soon be time to plant bulbs. We hope that visitors will enjoy some time spent with Marcel and want to participate in our games, walks, etc., but it is not a requirement!

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    The Workawayer will have the guest bedroom and bathroom with toilet - both are upstairs and can be reached without going through the house. (Part of the room is used for storage, which we seldom need to access. The bedroom space available is about 30m2.) There is a television and a desk in the room, as well as space for clothes, etc. Of course the Workawayer can use the washing machine and have space in the refrigerator. Workawayers are welcome to share all meals with us. We have fiber optic Internet service, reliable most of the time, and our phone service includes international calling to just about everywhere.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Our town is part of the larger Quimper community, which means we are on the bus routes. There is a bus stop right in front of our house, but that particular route is very tied in to the school schedules. We are a 20-minute walk from the center of our town, where there is a bus route with a more regular schedule. No problem to pick someone up at the train station in Quimper! There is a lot of biking here, too, for Workawayers with bikes.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Marcel's daughters do "teletravail" when they are here. We have a fiber optic Internet connection and Judy has an Airbox that could be used if needed.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Un

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 147651792767

Feedback (2)


Photos

Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Help me with some DIY and gardening around my home within the southern suburbs of Bordeaux in Gradignan, France
Tree house and castle experience in Nans Sous Sainte Anne, France