mis à jour  

Découvrez le village historique de Cherven dans le nord est de la Bulgarie

  • Bulgarie
  • Enregistré comme favori 354 fois
  • Activité récente: 26 mars 2023



 Séjour min. souhaité : Une semaine ou moins



  • Description


    As we move into spring, work will continue on a project to turn an existing balcony into an indoor winter garden space. I am also going to part enclose another open fronted roofed area which is currently used for storage and as a workshop. I am using a traditional natural building method in Bulgaria of infilling a wooden framework with old recycled mud and straw bricks ( known as karpitch ) on both these projects. These will then be covered with a mud/clay plaster. I have been collecting old wooden doors and windows to use on these projects and am currently cleaning them up to be ready for repainting.

    Other tasks include preparing the ground for vegetable growing, sowing, planting and other land management tasks

    My name is Carol and I am originally from Scotland. In 2006 I came to Cherven for a short holiday and left 6 days later having put a deposit down to buy the old abandoned property on the outskirts of the village. Cherven is situated in the Rusenski Lom Natural Park and is 40 kilometers south west of Ruse. Within 2 years I had given up my old life of working 9-5 and reinvented myself as a "quasi peasant" . I grow a lot of vegetables ( organically ), keep chickens and rabbits, have a dog and cats.

    I enjoy having working guests come to stay and to share this beautiful spot with magnificent views.

    There is always plenty to do including for example, clearing land, weeding, planting, harvesting, making compost, basic building, including working with mud and straw ( cob building ).

    There are always lots of ongoing projects which are often weather dependent and whether you have the skills or not to help take them forward.

    There are guest bedrooms in the upstairs part of my house, which is now a 100 years old and was built with mud and straw bricks. This part of the property has its own access, a kitchen and toilet/ showering facilities. Good wholesome food is provided. There is excellent wifi access.

    I am particularly interested in people who enjoy land work and gardening and/or who have basic building trade skills but have generally found that everyone has something to contribute.

    I am flexible in terms of tasks and time input and we can agree what would work for both of us.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Opportunity to experience life in a rural Bulgarian village. Develop skills in food growing, sustainable living, building with natural materials.

  • Aide


    Gardening/ land help, basic building, DIY and renovation

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Bulgarian: Intermédiaire
    Allemand: Débutant
    Français: Débutant

  • Hébergement


    I have two guest bedrooms in the upstairs part of my house which has its own access, a functioning kitchen and a toilet/ shower room.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Cherven is situated in the Russenski Lom Natural Park and is well known in Bulgaria for its medieval ruins, caves and rock churches. There are lovely walks in and around the village. There is a post office, a library and a general convenience store with a bar in the centre of the village and also a lovely outside cafe/bar by the river at the foot of the medieval attraction.

    The nearest ATM accessible by public transport is in Ruse: our nearest city ( 40 kms to the north east ). Ruse is also the only place you can get public transport to Cherven. There are two buses on weekdays to and from Ruse and one on a Saturday and Sunday. Ruse, situated next to the Danube river and the border with Romania, has a very large and beautiful central square area which is known as "Little Vienna", because of its layout and architecture. A great place to hang out on days off people watching from the numerous pavement cafes.

    It is also possible to take a trip to Bucharest from Ruse on the Bosphor Express ( a slow train which runs daily between Bucharest and Istanbul ). Bucharest is 60kms from Ruse and there are also direct buses from the airport or the centre to Ruse which can be booked online.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    I have a very good internet connection

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours a day / 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 000000000254

Feedback (14)


Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.9)

Échange culturel: (4.8)

Communication: (5.0)

Cuddle my cats high up in the Rhodopi mountains, Bulgaria
Help needed with DIY and vegetable/herb gardening in Ostrov, Bulgaria