Will

  • Gran Bretaña
  • Inicia sesión para ver la actividad reciente

Medallas (1)

Explorer

Información de perfil

  • Información de viaje

    Ahora estoy

    en casa

    Actividades que me interesan:

    Building work, joinery, diy and property maintenance. Hospitality. Sea kayaking / other boating. Generally a good problem solver with some language skills and a wee bit of musical talent :-)

    Mi próximo destino:

    Spain - Desde Sep 2022 Hasta Feb 2023
    Ver todos
  • Descripción

    I am fortunate to have travelled extensively and enjoyed many adventures around our globe. But there is much to explore closer to home these days and this fits with my environmental outlook. My children are travellers in their own right now, and I find myself with freedom to notch up a few more adventures of my own.

    For my first Workaway experience I'm heading for northern Norway, arriving early May 2022.

    I have lots of building / joinery experience and have undertaken a number of major house renovations, including plumbing and kitchen / bathroom fitting. I have also run a small hotel (10 years) and a backpackers (4 years) and have a lifetime's experience of boating / sea kayaking (BCU 4 star leader qualified). I currently manage a range of rental accommodation including some Airbnbs. My degree was in Engineering with French.

    My French, once fluent, is a little rusty. My Spanish very. I could still just about order breakfast in Indonesian, as long as it was fruit! Oh, and I learnt a bit of Norwegian before and during my recent 3 month Workaway visit to Norway.

    I have undertaken many interesting kayaking expeditions, particularly around Ireland and Scotland. Physically fit and in good health. I've done a fair bit of voluntary work, mainly in a counselling capacity. Good combination of intellectual and emotional intelligence, common sense, practical skills and, I'd like to think, a gentle, friendly and helpful nature. Oh, and I am very domesticated, clean and respectful when sharing someone's home :-)

    Fully vaccinated COVID-19.

    Particularly interested in opportunities near the sea.

    Thanks for reading.

  • Intereses

    Naturaleza
    Navegar / barcos
    Deportes de aventura
    Deportes acuáticos
    Actividades al aire libre
    Senderismo
    Vida en autocaravana
    Carpintería
    Idiomas
    Bricolaje y manualidades
  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Francés: Intermedio
    Español: Principiante

    Más información sobre tus intereses idiomáticos
    My French was fairly fluent in my 20s. I love it. But now it's a bit rusty and I need to get talking again!

    Buscar un colega de idioma

  • Habilidades y conocimientos que quiero compartir o aprender

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Trabajo de caridad
    Vida en una granja
    Cuidado de animales
    Jardinería

    Puedo enseñar:  

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Hostelería/turismo
    Idiomas
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    Although my degree is in Mechanical Engineering, I find my interests and skills have gravitated more towards building, particularly joinery. I've carried out a number of renovations and recently built my own timber framed garden room, including all plumbing and electrics. Having said that, I can turn my hand to most things. I set up and ran a small hotel / conference centre business in my home town in Ireland, where I was also responsible for all property maintenance. Oh, and I've got good computing skills too, particularly spreadsheet work, having prepared business plans, run a couple of businesses and been treasurer of a local community group.

  • Edad

    56

  • Algo más...

    I grew up by the sea. My father was an accomplished sailor and boat builder. Sea kayaking is my main hobby, and has enabled me to explore the magical coastline of my own island of Ireland, as well as neighbouring Scotland. I am quite musical, but out of practise with singing / guitar playing. Very grateful to have retained some ability to converse in French and Spanish. Having built and run a hotel business, and fully participated in raising two wonderful children (both now in their twenties) I've picked up a range of less quantifiable skills along the way too :-) Helpful by nature. I have been running my own small counselling practice for the last few years as well, very interested in helping people get the most from life.

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia

    • Dieta especial

Amigos

Fotos

Comentarios