Joanna & Kristan

Desde: Australia

  • ...

    Tipo de cuenta

    Cuenta conjunta

  • ...

    Viajar a

    Australia

  • ...

    Fechas de viaje

    14/09/2018 - 14/09/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    765

  • Medallas

    Explorer
    Super Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Descripción

    JUNE 21st, 2020 Update:

    The dynamic duo is currently an uber uno. K is stuck working in Melbourne, but Jo badly needs to be on a farm somewhere!

    To be clear: there is one 29-year-old fit, active and very capable woman looking for some nature to love in the Victorian region.

    I enjoy all kinds of physical work, from mucking out stalls to felling trees. I especially want to learn more about growing crops and general farming, as well as developing skills in building/carpentry and furniture making. I love working with animals, in all contexts. (I have a chainsaw license that’s valid in Scotland, however I’m not sure the insurance legalities of me wielding a chainsaw in Aus.)

    I'm studying full-time online at the moment, so I'd prefer to be doing that in the country, looking after some animals, or crops, with some fun projects to work on. It's holidays at the moment, so I can work full days.

    I'd also like to do farmstays / propertystays during semester, however I would be limited to 2-3 hours of work per day. Depending on your needs, I'm open to suggestions. I'm an ideal housesitter/farmsitter!

    I have a lot of energy, and a deep passion for a life that is active and connected to nature.

    I'm great with animals (really), and will look after your animals as if they're my own.

    The most important thing to me is that my hosts value my time. Our previous workaway experience, while largely fantastic, has made me wary of those (few) who take advantage. I am not your average 21-year-old backpacker. I have skills, I work hard, and I value my time. I need clear goals and explanations, and clear communication. In return, I guarantee honesty, openness and integrity.

    Please feel free to contact me with any questions.

    NB: I am gluten intolerant, much to my daily woe. If you're unable to cook GF, I'm happy to cook - but I do see that as 'work' time. I'm happy eating carnivorous, vegan or vegetarian.

    ~

    Previous profile, which all our reviews relate to:
    ~

    We are two very active, energetic people who love being outdoors, and love having projects to work on. We both come from country/farming backgrounds in Australia, so we have a lot of diverse experience between us. We are also huge animal lovers, so we get excited about anything involving animals!
    We are capable, hands-on, try anything, learn everything kinds of people. We are both physically fit and strong, and definitely not afraid of getting muddy.
    We will be appreciative and considerate of all our hosts and their property. We are doing farmstays because we want to learn, and to experience the natural beauty of new places, but mostly because we genuinely enjoy hard work and meeting great new people.
    K is very good at carpentry, manual labour, basically anything - he's a very usual bloke!
    Jo is also great at manual labour, and enjoys all things related to renovation, and likes to help with the building projects. She likes gardening and garden maintenance, with a special penchant for pruning!
    Professionally, K is a computer programmer, so he can offer tech help. Jo is an English teacher, so she can offer lessons and speaking practice.
    We are especially eager to learn about farming, as our dream is to one day own our own farm.

  • Tipo de ayuda

    Jardinería
    Construcción
    Mantenimiento / bricolage
    Cocinar / compras
    Ayuda en una granja
    Otra
    Ayuda en proyecto ecológico
    Ayuda en casa
    Ayuda con animales
    Turismo
    Ayuda de caridad

  • Que habilidades tienes?

    Farming, gardening, manual labour, tech support, English teaching, cleaning, cooking, carpentry, pet and animal care.

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido

  • Edad

    29 & 41

  • Algo más...

    Please feel free to contact us with any questions!

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia
      No

    • Dieta especial
      Jo can't eat gluten :( but K can eat EVERYTHING.

Fotos

on walking duties for our friend's puppy
housesitting this precious boy
gardening, looking after the strawberries!
Our last day looking after these two precious pups
Sanding a varnishing the floor of the cabin
The cabin has curtains! I remember how to sew!
This is the little cabin Jo worked on. She painted the door and door frame, finished off the previous paint-job around the eaves, sanded and varnished the floor, dug the splash base and filled it with rocks, and even made some curtains.
K driving the tractor, Jo happily burning things
road crew! Filling in pot holes
Pruning! And wearing fabulous (borrowed) pants.

Comentarios