Steve

  • Irlanda
  • Inicia sesión para ver la actividad reciente

Medallas (1)

Explorer

Información de perfil

  • Información de viaje

    Ahora estoy

    en casa

  • Descripción

    I am a full-time worker who would like to spend part of my summer holidays working and living in a French organic or permaculture system for just around 2 weeks in late July or early-mid August 2021.
    I would love this to be a Naturist environment. I am usually naked at home, and it would be great to have more opportunities for social, outdoor naturism. I am bisexual with a few 'friends with benefits' but no serious attachments at the moment. I am a calm and mature guy, and I'm happy to be celibate during my workaway placements.
    Organic and sustainable food production and networks are a major interest, and I have past experience as farm worker and horticultural crops work. I have a university degree in organic farming and a masters degree in rural development.
    More recently, I got into geographical information systems (GIS/SIG). I completed a masters degree in GIS and I have been working in this technology for the last 11 years. I would like to apply GIS techniques to the analysis and management of complex cropping and food production systems, such as relay intercropping. I have the idea that this technology, sensitively applied, could help to optimise the sustainability of crop production and labour management. Ideally, I think it could help to somewhat reverse the depopulation and mechanisation of food production, bringing more people back into these activities in a productive and sustainable way.

  • Intereses

    Playa
    Naturaleza
    Acampada
    Autostop
    Yoga / bienestar
    Ciclismo
    Actividades al aire libre
    Senderismo
    Agricultura
    Sostenibilidad
    Animales
    Idiomas
    Películas y televisión
    Música
    Tecnología
    Cocina y alimentación
    Política / justicia social
    Cultura
    Historia
    Autodesarrollo

    mostrar más
  • Habilidades y conocimientos que quiero compartir o aprender

    Me interesa:  

    Trabajo de caridad

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda doméstica
    Hostelería/turismo
    Práctica de idiomas
    Enseñanza

    Puedo enseñar:  

    Jardinería
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Vida en una granja
    Proyectos ecológicos
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    In the 1990s I worked in organic dairy farming, and I did a full season of organic horticultural crop production work. Since then I did a Batchelor degree (BSc Hons) in Organic Farming at Aberystwyth University and a Masters degree in Rural Development at Newcastle University. I worked for a year or so at the Organic Research Group in Aberystwyth, and I also worked in socio-economic research in the Aberystwyth School of Business.
    I also have a masters degree in Geographical Information Systems (GIS/SIG), and all of my employed work in the last 11 years has been with this technology. I would like to move into working in projects that apply this technology to organic and sustainable food production systems.
    In 2019, I had two weeks in a WWOOF placement in Dorset, England, and I very much enjoyed my time there. This was doing mostly horticultural work and kitchen work. I also have some useful kitchen skills and I love cooking.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Intermedio

    Más información sobre tus intereses idiomáticos
    I am mostly interested to learn more French, which was my favourite subject at school, but then I didn't practice much for a long time. However, for the past year I have been learning and practising daily with the Duolingo app, and I have been making a lot of fast progress, often doing average 1 hour per day. Therefore, I would really love more opportunities to spend time in French-language environments and my aim is to become fluent in French. I am fluent in English, and I can provide help to English-language learners, but this is not currently my main linguistic interest, as I am mostly interested to learn French.

    Buscar un colega de idioma

  • Edad

    58

  • Algo más...

    I have had both my covid vaccinations now, so I will be able to travel with the digital covid travel certificate after the middle of July.
    I recently moved from Scotland to Ireland. I grew up in England, and I have lived and worked in many places around England, Wales, Scotland, and now also Ireland. I have family in Ireland and I have an Irish passport.
    As a student, I did quite a lot of European travel, spending time with other international students in Scandinavia, Germany, Slovenia, and Italy.
    I do a regular yoga practice, usually around one hour. It is a modification of a novice Ashtanga sequence, and I try to do this most days.
    I enjoy fairly slow-paced cycle touring. I love most kinds of music, art, and literature. I love movies and drama series in foreign languages to watch with subtitles, and in the last few years, I have watched an unhealthy number of wonderful Korean dramas, as well as others, including French of course.

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia

    • Dieta especial

Amigos

Comentarios