• Irlanda
  • Inicia sesión para ver la actividad reciente

Medallas (3)

Good Workawayer
Facebook verified

Información de perfil

  • Información de viaje

    Ahora estoy

    en casa

  • Descripción

    I worked for 15 years as a carpenter in London, Boston, San Francisco and Cape Town. I've built houses from the foundation up, installed kitchens, hung and trimmed out doors and windows, hung plasterboard, built fences, decks, sheds, roofs, etc. If it involves wood I've probably built it before and if I haven't I'm usually able to figure it out, so if you have some carpentry that needs to get done and if you can provide the tools I can provide the expertise.

    I've worked in France, Belgium, the Netherlands and Germany, and if the right offer comes along I'd go anywhere in Europe. I’m Irish and we’re still part of Europe so I am legally allowed to travel and work anywhere on the continent.

    I’m not a vegetarian and don’t have any dietary restrictions but I do try and eat healthy as much as possible. As a child of the Irish countryside, I enjoy fresh milk and I like greek yoghurt with Alpen muesli, but apart from that I have no special requests: I'll eat pretty much whatever is put in front of me, veggie or carnivore.

    Re. the accommodation: I've had a few not terribly pleasant experiences with some Workaway hosts, so it'd be better if there was a picture of the bedroom on your profile.

    I enjoy travelling and have been fortunate enough to have experienced Machu Picchu, the Taj Mahal and the Pyramids up close. Venezuela is the most dangerous place I’ve been, Japan the safest and Varanasi the most unique. Peru has the most welcoming people, Vietnam the best food, Italy the best wine and Thailand -of course- the best beaches.

    I have a B.A. in English Language and Literature so I can recite the odd poem -sufficient lubrication helps- and I don't smoke or do drugs but I do enjoy an apéro and/or glass of wine at the end of the day. 4pm is the end of the day, incidentally, so if you think enjoying a glass of wine after 8 hours of construction is shocking, then I'm probably not a good fit for you.

    In my free time I enjoy reading, staring off into space and going for long walks or -depending on my energy levels- runs, so a location with access to paths, trails or quiet roads is always welcome. I’ve had four shots of the Pfizer vaccine and -because I was in Shanghai during the lockdown of March/April 2022- I've had 86 negative COVID tests.

  • Intereses

    Eventos y sociedad
    Bricolaje y manualidades
    Actividades al aire libre
    Películas y televisión
    Cocina y alimentación
  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Intermedio

  • Habilidades y conocimientos que quiero compartir o aprender

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Vida en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Proyectos ecológicos
    Cuidado de animales

    Puedo enseñar:  

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    I grew up in the Irish countryside so I have experience with a range of agricultural jobs, things like harvesting crops (apples, potatoes, etc), weeding, feeding animals (horses, cows, goats, sheep, Irish children) etc, and know which end of a shovel goes in the ground.

    I've also done some house-sitting where I took care of the animals (sheep, horses, chickens, cats), watered the plants, collected the post, etc.

    I come from a large extended family so I have a lot of -unpaid, regrettably- experience as a baby-sitter, and I worked for 15 years a Montessori teacher of children aged between 3 and 6, so I have some knowledge of child development.

    When the pandemic turned the world upside down I took some time off to do Workaway and had some good experiences, so I’m still doing it.

  • Edad


  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia
      Bad Guinness and 36c summers, particularly at the same time.

    • Dieta especial
      I have no specific dietary requirements and eat most things, but I do prefer to eat healthily. Nothing wrong with a good burger now and then 'tho.