Nicky

  • Gran Bretaña
  • Inicia sesión para ver la actividad reciente

Medallas (3)

Top Workawayer
Explorer

Información de perfil

  • Información de viaje

    Ahora estoy

    en casa

    Mi próximo destino:

    Spain
    Ver todos
  • Descripción

    I am a 41 year old female from London. I have volunteered so long I think I may need to change my profile picture soon! I look a bit older than this one. Haha! Its probably 6 years old and wind and deserts have taken their toll! Ive been volunteering for 20 years. It all started with an olive farm in southern spain. I went back year after year and still have a relationship with the host. I have experience with gardening, natural building, irrigation, harvesting and picking, natural roofs, woodland management, building compost toilets etc. I am hard working, friendly and respectful. I love volunteering because of the work, the new places and people but also the good honest exchange between people. I believe that learning skills and doing something because you really love it, not just you are being paid is just so much more valuable than money and just such a beautiful privilege.

    In London i have worked outside for over 20 years teaching horticulture to special needs, working in a wood at a forest nursery (kids not plants!), and selling organic food in markets. i have returned from 2 years in New Mexico USA where i was living in the Earthship community, volunteering on the community builds and also built my own straw bale house there. I also volunteered in Arizona with an amazing host who did sandbag building (CAL-earth style) and was greening the desert. i wouldnt say i was an expert at anything but i can do a bit of everything. I will work hard and I care about what I do and can definitely provide references that I would hope testify to that :)

    I have been back in London for the past 2 years working as a gardener for a garden designer doing beautiful projects for 12 or so clients. I have spent this last crazy lock down year volunteering for numerous organisations including cooking food and providing food bags for struggling families, looking after a young boy with Autism and at my old work that teaches special needs horticulture. I also work in the woods for organisations that do forest school and camps and am working with teenage boys right now.

    I just came back from Aberfeldy where I have worked a few seasons during the last ten years, doing forest clearing and woodland work for some friends. I felt so good being back in nature and I realise its what I want to be doing and wanted to get a bit further north this time. Right now i'm in speyside as a workawayer. I do have a well behaved dog that I rescued from Guatemala, she will be under control and not interfere with any of my work or responsibilities, but she's a bottom line. I would make sure she's ok before I start work and she will happily chill until after I finish. I have references that will attest to that.

    I have travelled for years all over the world and am an open respectful person who can get on with everyone, but also likes their own time and space. Thanks for taking the time to read my profile. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

  • Habilidades y conocimientos que quiero compartir o aprender

    Me interesa:  

    Trabajo de caridad

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Vida en una granja
    Proyectos ecológicos
    Hostelería/turismo
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    gardening, natural building, paths, woodland

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Edad

    42

  • Nacionalidad

    uk

  • Algo más...

    walking, wild swimming, exploring, food

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia

    • Dieta especial
      prefer veggie

Comentarios



Amigos

Fotos

Comentarios