Nancy

  • Estados Unidos
  • Inicia sesión para ver la actividad reciente

Medallas (2)

Super Workawayer

Información de perfil

  • Información de viaje

    Ahora estoy

    viajando

    Mi próximo destino:

    Spain - Desde Jul 2022 Hasta Ago 2022
    Ver todos
  • Descripción

    Hello! I'm a 26 year old business strategy professional born and raised in San Francisco, CA, USA. I studied Business Administration and Sociology at UC Berkeley, where I graduated in 2017. I lived in California for 25 years before moving to Berlin, Germany, where I have lived for the last 8 months. While I am a native English speaker, my parents were raised on Chinese farms, so I've grown up a hard worker with an appreciation for language and cultural exchange.

    I have worked in the tech industry for 5 years, but I plan to take 1-2 months off from my traditional career to volunteer through Workaway before starting at Stanford's Graduate School of Business in September. I am looking to practice my Spanish while working hard. I would love to have great conversation with my host and exchange worldviews along the way. I love having meaningful discussions to learn more and share more.

    In my spare time, I love to live a vibrant life! Having grown up in California, I enjoy all things outdoors: hiking, biking, camping, climbing, and stand up paddleboarding. I also enjoy hip hop dance...even though I'm not very good :) Having fun is what matters, right?

    I am fully vaccinated with 3 doses of Pfizer Bio-N-Tech.

  • Habilidades y conocimientos que quiero compartir o aprender

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Jardinería
    Cuidado de animales

    Puedo enseñar:  

    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet
    Enseñanza
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    CHILDREN, TEACHING, TEACHING ENGLISH: I took care of children ages 4 to 12 at summer camp for 5 years, where I received formal training and learned by experience how to befriend and have fun with children while keeping them safe, happy, and healthy. During university, I volunteered as a teaching assistant at an international school where I taught English as a Second Language to high school students. Since most of the students came from Central America, I used my Spanish skills to teach them English.

    FARMING, GARDENING: My Workaway experience includes working on a farm in Sweden for one month and Colombia for 1 month. There, I helped take care of the animals, plants, and carpentry (building cages and fences). I have 4 years of experience volunteering at a community-based farm dedicated to the renewal of local, sustainable food systems. I dug, planted, weeded, plowed, harvested, fed animals, cared after animals, and more. I have also helped care after three different shared gardens/farms in my community.

    BUILDING, MAINTENANCE, PROJECTS: I have helped build structures made of wood, mud, etc

    ANIMALS: I helped with chickens and other animals at the community farm I volunteered at for 4 years. I also loved volunteering at an animal shelter cleaning up after the animals, walking them, keeping them company by playing with them, keeping them calm during transition periods, etc. I basically spent entire days at a time with the animals and had a great time doing it!

    SERVING: I worked in a restaurant making and serving pizzas for a summer. My boss commended me for my quick learning and customer service. I love making customers happy!

    SPANISH: I studied Spanish in school for 8 years, and I lived in Spain for 5 months.

    Nonetheless, I will do any task with enthusiasm and interest. I’m not afraid to try new things, and I’m eager to learn and do a great job. I’m a hard worker who does everything with a smile.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Chino (mandarín): Fluido

  • Edad

    26

  • Nacionalidad

    United States of America

  • Algo más...

    I enjoy conversing with and befriending people from different backgrounds, as I find it's the best way to learn more about the world and improve myself. I’m a quick learner, always eager to learn new things and try new experiences.

    Seven years ago during university, I lived with a host family in Madrid for five months. We loved every second, from playing with the daughter to talking about our cultures. In addition, I have previous Workaway experience working on a farm, taking care of children ages 3 and 6, and doing household chores. I loved getting to know the family so much -- I would be grateful for the opportunity to do this again before I head to business school.

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia

    • Dieta especial

Comentarios



Amigos

Fotos

Comentarios