• Gran Bretaña
  • Inicia sesión para ver la actividad reciente

Medallas (4)

Top Workawayer
Facebook verified

Información de perfil

  • Información de viaje

    Ahora estoy

    en casa

    Mi próximo destino:

    England, United Kingdom
    Ver todos
  • Descripción

    Hello, and thanks for reading my profile. The last 4.5 years have seen me completing over 46 hostings through cultural exchange schemes which have ranged from housesitting, to hard core gardening. Alongside my own skillset and experience, I have learned so many new skills and gained much knowledge and insight from a diverse range of volunteering roles.

    I ended my travels in SE Asia where I volunteered with a few charities. I was an english teaching assistant to some of the slum children of Siem Reap in Cambodia; Helped and supported a charity for disabled children in Hoi An, Vietnam as well as offering life coaching from a Wellness Centre., I volunteered at an elephant sanctuary in Chiang Mai which involved a lot of poop scooping. All these roles proved to be life changing experiences. My last 12 months were spent 'locked down' in Spain and I have now returned to the UK.

    Aside from the above, below is a brief outline of what I have done and where i've been so far :-
    6 months each in South Africa, British Columbia and New Zealand. 12 months in Queensland/Victoria/NSW, Australia, 3 months in SE Asia on various charitable projects.
    What else ............ I have transformed a neglected and overgrown lemon tree orchard and a perennial lilac walk both of which included extensive invasive weeding. I've cleared out bush and dead wood. I have painted a kitchen and been part of a team who painted a cottage. I also painted the basement of a house I housesat at. I've volunteered in a tourist information office, cleaned and cooked.! I've milked cows at a dairy farm and hand milked goats. Tons and tons of gardening and weeding, hospitality, housekeeping and house sitting to name a few. I've learned to use an industrial wood splitter and used a range of garden equipment. I would be suited to helping you prepare your small B&B/hotel for new guests. I have also cleared out, cleaned and reorganised many host's kitchens, pantrys and laundry rooms. I don't do heights so anything involving ladders or climbing trees would be a no no.
    I love music, reading, writing, photography, meditating, coffee and chocolate and walking/hiking. I have an interest in mindfulness, budhism and meditation and this is something I would like to develop further. As well as being philosophical and reflective, I can be seen rocking it out to the sounds of Bruce Springsteen and Bon Jovi, as well as meditating on some hilltop with the sound of silence.

  • Intereses

    Yoga / bienestar
    Trabajo de caridad
    Películas y televisión
    Cocina y alimentación
    Eventos y sociedad
  • Habilidades y conocimientos que quiero compartir o aprender

    Me interesa:  

    Compañía para ancianos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Vida en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Trabajo de caridad
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    My background skillset:
    I have a diverse skillset which includes being a qualified Life Coach, reflexologist and reiki healer. I have spent 5 years as a dementia adviser and my last employment was with the NHS Extensive Care Service which involved working with people with long term conditions such as COPD, Diabetes, Heart disease etc. I have set up many social and support groups which have been a great success largely down to my energy and enthusiasm and my ability to be able to motivate people. Over the years I have engaged in several volunteering projects, but more notably working with offenders on probation to help them overcome obstacles and empower them to lead more fulfilling lives. I believe that everyone has potential regardless of their circumstances. I was also an Airbnb host in the UK and took pride in offering top quality accommodation and was consistently awarded a 5*️️️️️️️️️️️️ rating.
    I welcome the opportunity to work with hosts who embrance the Workaway ethos and as can seen from my feedback, I am hard worker with a good sense of humour. I am happy to offer a maximum of 5 hours of work a day, 5 days a week, in exchange for board and lodging, wifi and my own private room over a 7 days period. Being a more mature volunteer means that I can bring a wealth of experience and maturity to any host I am likely to work with alongside energy and enthusiasm. I am very honest and reliable and always smiling and laughing and very enthusiastic given the right circumstances.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Edad


  • Nacionalidad


  • Algo más...

    : I'm very happy to be flexible with working arrangements/hours but it is useful to have this agreed in advance to manage expectations on both sides.
    : I do not expect free food or free accommodation, I shall be working in exchange for it and i work hard.
    : I am also on Helpx where I have many more references.
    : I enjoy a healthy diet with fruit and vegetables, wholegrains etc, but I didn't gain this physique without the indulgence of fish and chips, ice cream and chocolate, so i'm fairly easy to please on the food front. However, I cannot eat fresh raw tomatoes (although can eat cooked in sauces), and I don't drink cows milk. I prefer soya, almond or coconut milk, but everything else dairy is ok, its just milk.

    To summarise I have a positive attitude towards work and a willingness to learn and develop new skills whilst helping you to achieve your goals/dreams. I am great with people and work well as part of a team, but equally I can be happy in my own company

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia
      Raw tomatoes, (not allergic, just can't eat them, fine in sauces etc), Cows Milk

    • Dieta especial
      No cows milk, prefer soya/almond/coconut, but ok with other dairy products




Fotos de competición