Jamie

  • Canadá
  • Inicia sesión para ver la actividad reciente

Medallas (2)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Información de perfil

  • Mi situación

    en casa

  • Descripción

    Oh hey there! My name is Jamie and I am from around Toronto, Canada! I am 23 years old with a passion for outdoor pursuits, trying new things, and intellectual stimulation and development.

    I graduated from university in 2018 with a Bachelor of Science degree where I fused my passions for medical sciences and the french language. I spent my last year of studies on exchange - living in Singapore for 10 months. I have always been keen on traveling and living in Singapore allowed me to see a country through the eyes of the people who live there.

    Since I was a young girl, I have wanted to pursue a career in healthcare. After working jobs caring for individuals of varying abilities and diseases, I wasn't feeling quite fulfilled and decided to try something completely new - tree planting!

    BBC listed tree planting as one of the world's toughest jobs. Growing up camping, hiking, and kayaking (and in search of a new challenge), I decided to take a risk and go live in the bush in northern British Columbia and Alberta. The risk paid off - I loved it! I realized that while healthcare may or may not be for me, I really enjoy working outdoors and working my butt off.

    I decided not to return to school in September and would like to spend the next year making good use of my EU passport. I would like to explore Europe, focusing a good bit of my time in Ireland and France, until the next tree planting season begins in May. My dad was born in Ireland and I have visited some family a few times, but would really like to explore those roots for a longer period of time. I am really interested in France, as I would like to bring my french back up to the bilingual level it once was!

    Through Workaway, I really hope to try new things, challenge myself, and get to know the places I visit through the eyes of wonderful people who live there!

    As mentioned, I love being outside and active, so many of my hobbies relate to that. I love camping, hiking, rock climbing, snowboarding, and surfing (although I am not an overly experienced surfer). I also love to draw and paint (pencil, charcoal, and oil paints are my go-to) and read (anything from fictional fantasy to memoirs to non-fiction science novels).

    I will try anything once and although I am a quick learner, I take constructive criticism really well as I am someone who takes pride in giving 100%.

    I look forward to hopefully meeting some new hosts, who will hopefully become friends and sharing stories and experiences!

  • Habilidades y conocimientos que quiero compartir o aprender

    Me interesa:  

    Jardinería
    Proyectos ecológicos
    Hostelería/turismo

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Vida en una granja
    Cuidado de animales
    Práctica de idiomas

    Puedo enseñar:  

    Compañía para ancianos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Proyectos artísticos
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    With tree planting, your pay is determined by the number of trees you plant, so the harder you work, the more you make. I learned that I am far more capable of pushing through countless obstacles to achieve my goals. I am an extremely hard worker and my work ethic screams dedication - I will always put 100% into everything I do. We worked outside in all sorts of weather conditions, surrounded by bugs of all sorts, and bear encounters.
    I worked collectively with clients in homecare, their families, and other members of their care team to deliver care, such as personal hygiene, feeding, toileting, and light housekeeping, while ensuring the client remained independent and their dignity was conserved.
    I have lots of experience in customer service through home healthcare, spa, and fast food jobs.
    I have been involved in visual arts since childhood and can provide that service to decorate your home or provide some guidance in your artistic pursuits.
    I have done work with my step-dad, who is a contractor so I feel comfortable using most hand and power tools.

    I am a diligent, creative worker who takes initiative to get work done and make sure it gets done well!

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido

  • Edad

    25

  • Algo más...

    My family loves board and card games - classics like backgammon, chess, cribbage, and euchre. We play loads more and I would love to learn new games, as well as share the ones I know.

    I am big into documentaries as well - always searching for ways to learn and stimulate my mind!

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia

    • Dieta especial
      Vegetarian

Comentarios


Amigos

Fotos

Comentarios