Jake

  • Gran Bretaña
  • Inicia sesión para ver la actividad reciente

Medallas (1)

Good Workawayer

Información de perfil

  • Información de viaje

    Ahora estoy

    en casa

    Mi próximo destino:

    United Kingdom - Desde Jul 2021
    Ver todos
  • Descripción

    Hi, I'm Jake!

    I am a hardworking 23 year old guy from the UK looking to volunteer in England and Wales.

    What I'm looking for:
    Farms and smallholdings with a strong interest in self sufficiency,

  • Intereses

    Acampada
    Senderismo
    Jardinería
    Bricolaje y manualidades
    Libros
    Cocina y alimentación
    Historia
    Cuidado de plantas
  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Alemán: Principiante

  • Habilidades y conocimientos que quiero compartir o aprender

    Me interesa:  

    Mantenimiento general
    Vida en una granja
    Proyectos ecológicos
    Cuidado de animales

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    Grew up in a semi-rural home and have experience with chores inside & outside, chopping wood and maintaining old outbuildings (pointing, replacing joists & flooring). As I've been at home a lot more this past year due to COVID, have embarked on several little projects using old hand woodworking tools- so would say I have at least a basic familiarity. I can do simple home DIY stuff like painting and putting up shelves.

    In addition to chores around the garden (mowing, weeding, digging, pruning...), I've grown my own veg the past couple of years. I've added low structures to the garden such as stone steps and raised beds.

    I cooked most of my own meals for the last 3-4 years and used to wash up in a restaurant, so am a decent cook and washer-upper. Cooking is also something I enjoy so would be happy to help out in the kitchen. Not vegetarian by choice but many of my family members are, so comfortable with a meat-free diet.

    I'm a quick learner, and once I know how something is done I can crack on and do it independently.

    One thing I can see being a potential problem is that I don't currently have a driving license and won't be able to get one in the immediate future. This just means I would prefer a place with access by public transport and/or lifts available.

    #Update- 18th August

    I'm just coming to the end of a month and a half volunteering with Phil and Michelle at Dyfed Permaculture Trust. I've really enjoyed my time here and I'll write a more extensive review of the place and people (both great!) at some future point.

    In addition to the time I spent here hand-haymaking (which I found fun and rewarding), I was able to improve my understanding of several aspects of managing a smallholding. I improved my general handiness by doing a few little jobs such as making a sliding wooden bolt and housing, gate latch, clothing hooks and other bits and bobs around the trust.
    I also picked up some general construction tips from working with Matt, another resident at the trust, on a couple of projects. Realistically I'm still more of a cutter, measurer and tool hander-over than a skilled builder but I think I'd be handy to have around.

  • Edad

    23

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia
      no

    • Dieta especial

Comentarios

Amigos

Fotos

Comentarios