Sarah & Henry

Desde: Gran Bretaña

  • ...

    Tipo de cuenta

    Cuenta conjunta

  • ...

    Viajar a

    España

  • ...

    Fechas de viaje

    18/04/2019 - 04/12/2021

  • number of facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    766

  • Medallas

    Top Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Nuestra situación

    viajando

  • Descripción

    We are a couple with two young boys, and we'll be leaving the UK for Spain in December 2020 with no time limit to return. We have a wide range of skills, tonnes of enthusiasm for living a sustainable life & a knack for community-building, and we love to travel!

    Since we travelled in Latin America & India from 2012 to 2016, Sarah has been working as a yoga teacher, specialising in mother & baby yoga, Henry has been working in TV, and we have learned the vital skills of parenthood! In 2019, we travelled around Europe for three months & Workawayed with our little boy, Sam, so he could enjoy the benefit of staying with local families & really experience the areas we visited. Now we have another son, Leo, and would love to introduce our boys to new cultures, languages & ways of life.

    We have become more & more disillusioned with life in the UK and want to live a harmonious life, close to nature & in tune with the rhythms of the seasons. We are on a mission to experience new things, meet interesting people and try everything once (or more).

  • Intereses

    Montaña
    Acampada
    Deportes de aventura
    Yoga / bienestar
    Ciclismo
    Trabajo de caridad
    Jardinería
    Sostenibilidad
    Animales
    Idiomas
    Arte y diseño
    Blogging
    Cocina y alimentación
    Vegetariano o vegano
    Política / justicia social
    Cultura
    Autodesarrollo
    Cuidado de plantas
  • Habilidades y conocimientos que queremos compartir o aprender

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Vida en una granja
    Proyectos ecológicos
    Cuidado de animales
    Trabajo de caridad
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

    Podemos enseñar:  

    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Hostelería/turismo
    Práctica de idiomas
    Proyectos artísticos
    Enseñanza
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    Sarah:
    I have a degree in Psychology, I love people & animals and see everyone as equal. That's how I treat people, mutual understanding and respect is important to me. I love talking, learning from others/about others, I'm sociable and inquisitive by nature. I have a lot of experience working with vulnerable people, adults & children.

    I studied Art at school / college and have been working around Latin America painting walls, designing murals & gardens.
    As a trained Psychology and health teacher I have managed up to 50 people, trained other teachers and counselled staff through difficult political union issues, and although I do not believe in the education system we have in the UK anymore, I feel strongly that children are given access to develop life skills and look after themselves.

    Leaving all this behind and in search of a radically new path, we are following our dream of one day being hostel owners and working towards self-sufficiency: We have particular interests & have developed skills in:
    - Permaculture & aguaponics
    - Natural eco-construction & using various tools safely
    - Macrame jewellery making
    - Mosaic
    - Documentary development.

    Henry:
    I have a university degree in Communication Studies (ie. sociology, media & film studies, journalism, law, linguistics, psychology...), including print media, radio & video training. I have very good use of English and love communicating with people.
    I have years of experience working in the television industry, working with scripts and video research. I started out in TV news, so have a firm grounding in accuracy and working at speed, as part of an efficient team. I have worked in a variety of environments, in the UK and Australia, from live public events and concerts to small private conferences to huge entertainment extravaganzas, and work closely with everyone from celebrity television presenters & executive producers to studio floor managers & electrical engineers. I am used to being thrown in at the deep end and having to work efficiently with new crews of people, while also being a team of one and taking responsibility for my own work.
    I love photography, having studied it at secondary (high) school, and travel with several cameras! I have been asked to take photos for some friends' weddings and have contributed pictures to websites.
    I was a member of my local youth theatre company and studied Production Technology at secondary (high) school: I helped to stage plays, assisting the director and guiding the technical departments in my role as Stage Manager; I was often involved in set building (utilising carpentry skills) and lighting & sound design (using electrics).
    I have had lifesaving training and worked as a swimming pool lifeguard for 4 years.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio

  • Edad

    39 & 43

  • Nacionalidad

    British

  • Algo más...

    We took Spanish lessons at the start of our travels and have improved since then through conversation & experience, although we are now a bit out of practice. We would say we are now at a high-intermediate level.

    We had lots of experiences with volunteering in Latin America; for example:
    - helping at a school for children with special needs;
    - helping at an after-school educational support project & adult English classes;
    - running several different hostels & guesthouses;
    - painting wall murals in different hostels;
    - garden design & landscaping;
    - animal husbandry at a rescue & rehabilitation centre;
    - various work on chacras / fincas / small farms: permaculture, adobe construction, mosaic, building solar-powered electric fencing, constructing steps, fruit harvesting and preservation, vegan cooking...;
    - researching & writing scripts for a film project about German immigration in Chile.
    We have also

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia
      No

    • Dieta especial
      No

Fotos

Comentarios