Gregory

  • Canadá
  • Inicia sesión para ver la actividad reciente

Medallas (2)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Información de perfil

  • Información de viaje

    Ahora estoy

    viajando

  • Descripción

    This is a new profile, but I have been a workawayer, WWOOfer and volunteer for a major part of my life (~18 years), so I'm excited to finally make it official!

    I'm an artist-anthropologist having recently shifted my focus from academia to visual art and diverse forms of storytelling. I have variously worked in film, interactive art, bookmaking, printmaking, and fine arts. I have a PhD in anthropology from a Canadian University.

    I was born in the Soviet Union, but my family moved to France and then Canada when I was a kid. I grew up in Toronto, but I have since criss-crossed Canada many times. I have also lived and worked in Latin America (Ecuador, Argentina), lived and worked in Europe (Germany, France), and periodically return to Russia to visit family.

  • Intereses

    Naturaleza
    Autostop
    Ciclismo
    Actividades al aire libre
    Senderismo
    Sostenibilidad
    Animales
    Mascotas
    Idiomas
    Arquitectura
    Arte y diseño
    Artes escénicas
    Dibujo y pintura
    Bricolaje y manualidades
    Escritura
    Libros
    Películas y televisión
    Música
    Videografía
    Fotografía

    mostrar más
  • Habilidades y conocimientos que quiero compartir o aprender

    Me interesa:  

    Proyectos ecológicos

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
    Trabajo de caridad

    Puedo enseñar:  

    Práctica de idiomas
    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet
    Enseñanza
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    My goal is to optimize my skill set with my host' skill needs, so perhaps the most important skill that I can offer is that I eagerly adapt to changing circumstances, and to new environments.

    My current passion is creating visual art. My preferred medium is watercolours. For my most recent host, I created a series of 10 detailed botanical illustrations using plants from the farm. These A3-sized paintings utilized cyanotype (blueprint) photographic techniques and watercolours. I matted these paintings, and even had a chance to exhibit them at the local gallery.

    I am mostly self-taught in a number of visual art media, such as printmaking (linocuts), bookbinding (perfect-bound books), graphic design (digital software such as inDesign) and digital art (raster-based programs, such as Photoshop). I have also carved and painted wooden signs, created wooden and ceramic sculptures, and handpainted, hand-printed, and digitized my own fonts. In a Workaway context, I would be keen to expand this practice, in that I can offer to paint a mural, create a logo, or offer to work on existing designs to create a unified aesthetic that would help with branding and marketing your organization. However, please be aware that I am not a professional designer and that these skills are largely self-taught.

    I have received training in filmmaking, and I have made three feature-length films, one of which was nominated for Best Canadian Documentary in 2014. I can make you a video, edit it, compose a soundtrack, record narration, colour correct it, do some rudimentary mixing, subtitling, translation, etc. I travel with basic handheld video-, and audio-recording equipment.

    I have a PhD, and have taught university-level graduate and undergraduate courses in history, sociology and anthropology in Canada and Germany. My main area of expertise is visual anthropology and ethnographic filmmaking. During my 17-year academic career, I have worked in libraries, classrooms, and writing centres, and as a research associate, translator, and teaching assistant. In a Workaway context, this means that I can write, edit, and proofread texts, teach spoken and written English and Russian, and help you publish a website.

    Internet and computer knowledge is based mainly on self-taught skills (website-building, SEO, e-commerce, social media) and some rudimentary programming courses (C). I have a social media presence, and I built my own website from scratch, using Html and CSS markup. I am either very proficient or somewhat proficient in video editing, sound editing, website-building, and many forms of web-based software. I don't know how to program, and I think my biggest achievement was programming a unit-converter from scratch (Celsius to Fahrenheit; inches to feet, kind of thing).

    I have had a number of physically-demanding jobs. These include tree-planing (in Northern British Columbia); bicycle couriering (in Vancouver and Toronto, including in Winter), organic farming (I specialized in organic garden beds in Ecuador and Argentina). I have worked on berry-picking farms (coffee, figs, bananas, apples, cherries) and with animas (horses, pigs). I have also had a number of sales jobs, including door-to-door (Greenpeace), tele-fundraising (diverse progressive organizations), and street canvassing (Canadian Cancer Society, Red Cross). I now prefer to balance manual labour with intellectual, art-based, or computer-based work, or "soft" skills, owing to physical limitations.

    In other words, I am a well-rounded 36 year-old excited to meet new people, work to create mutually-beneficial projects, and get inspired by the one thing that truly matters to me, which is an opportunity to of creating diverse and inspiring connections with others.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Ruso: Fluido
    Alemán: Intermedio
    Francés: Intermedio
    Español: Principiante

    Más información sobre tus intereses idiomáticos
    I am happy to teach a language in which I am fluent as part of my Workaway responsibilities.

    Buscar un colega de idioma

  • Edad

    37

  • Algo más...

    I am happy to share my social media profiles, if you are interested in employing my web-based skills, or learning more about my work:

    Instagram (@greg.gan): https://www.instagram.com/greg.gan/
    Facebook (@greg.gan.art): https://www.facebook.com/greg.gan.art
    Artstation: https://gregorygan.artstation.com
    Vimeo: https://vimeo.com/gregorygan
    Website: https://www.gregorygan.com

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia
      I have no known allergies.

    • Dieta especial

Comentarios

Amigos

Fotos

Comentarios