Catherine & Matthew

  • Estados Unidos & Nueva Zelanda
  • Inicia sesión para ver la actividad reciente

Medallas (3)

Super Workawayer
Explorer

Información de perfil

  • Información de viaje

    viajando

  • Descripción

    Kia ora! We are Catherine and Matthew, and we are looking for our next place to call our temporary home.

    Catherine is a world-traveler originally from the United States (Alaska!) who loves cross-cultural exchange, meeting new people, the outdoors, hiking, camping, sailing, river rafting, kayaking, surfing, diving, and pretty much any physical activity. I speak English and Spanish fluently. I also enjoy cooking and learning about native plant and bird life. I have work experience in adventure tourism, horticulture, and general labor. In addition to using work exchange as a means of travel and making new friends, I hope to learn as much as I can about farming/permaculture from my hosts. I'm excited now to be making my home in New Zealand with my partner, Matthew.

    Matthew is a Kiwi, born and raised in Northland on a lifestyle block. I like tramping, camping, hunting, kayaking and paddle boarding, and working on/rebuilding old cars. I can fix/build almost any kind of motor and have experience working as a refrigeration/air con technician, in retail, and as a general laborer. I also play and can teach electric and acoustic guitar, and I'm good at fixing and rebuilding computers as well. I'm looking forward to seeing more of New Zealand and eventually the wider world!

    We met a year and a half ago, became friends, and then slowly built a (very unexpected!) relationship as a couple. We are now committed partners and are excited about traveling together. While we look forward to traveling abroad, we want to use this time to explore our own backyard in New Zealand!

    We are looking for a host on a farm or lifestyle block who wants help with eco projects, building/maintenance, gardening/permaculture, animal care, or similar. Ideally we'd love a situation in which one or both of us is able to acquire paid work nearby while we also fulfill our commitment to you in exchange for accommodation. We are minimalists and happy to live in an outdoor setting - in fact, we own a small self-contained camper van that we could even live in if that suits you (hopefully with access to toilet/shower though!). We are looking for a longer-term workaway (a month or more).

    We are kind, easy-going, clean, respectful, and responsible. We both work hard, are strong and physically fit, and put 100% effort into any task we are given! We look forward to meeting you, new friends!

  • Habilidades y conocimientos que queremos compartir o aprender

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Vida en una granja
    Proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales

    Podemos enseñar:  

    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Hostelería/turismo
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    Catherine: English and Spanish languages; backcountry skills (I am a hiking, kayaking, rafting, and horse packing guide); sailing (experienced live-aboard crew); animal care, particularly horses; general gardening and farming (experience working on a kiwifruit and tamarillo orchard); cooking; general maintenance and labor; First Aid/CPR.

    Matthew: auto maintenance; computer/IT skills; refrigeration/air con technician; backcountry skills and experienced hunter; animal care, particularly horses and cows; general maintenance and labor; guitar lessons; First Aid/CPR.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido

  • Edad

    36 & 20

  • Nacionalidad

    USA, New Zealand

  • Algo más...

    We are very hard working and will put 100% effort into any project you give us! We learn very quickly and would be excited to learn new skills while volunteering. We look forward to hearing from you!

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia
      Matthew - lactose intolerant, shellfish allergy

    • Dieta especial

Comentarios



Amigos

Fotos

Comentarios