Caroline

  • Estados Unidos
  • Inicia sesión para ver la actividad reciente

Medallas (2)

Super Workawayer
Explorer

Información de perfil

  • Información de viaje

    Ahora estoy

    en casa

    Actividades que me interesan:

    I'm at home in the US now, but will be going out traveling again in the next few months!

    Mi próximo destino:

    Croatia
    Ver todos
  • Descripción

    Hi!

    Thank you so much for reading my profile and getting to know more about me. I traveled alone for the first time when I went to Cape Town as a university student in 2020. I loved my experience there and it opened my eyes to the joy of experiencing other cultures and learning about different ways of life, as well as finding similarities in the human experience. I am motivated by finding these human connections and learning every day! I am happiest when I am living a healthy lifestyle, I love biking, running, hiking, and trying new foods. I am also my best self when I am learning and using my skills to do something meaningful. This is why I am so interested in doing another workaway. I want to move through cultures in a meaningful way and travel slower rather than rushing from one tourist site to the next without getting a deeper understanding of the place I am.

    Some background about me- I graduated from the University of Wisconsin-Madison in the United States in 2021. I graduated with a Political Science degree and certificates in Environmental Studies, Criminal Justice, Global Health, and Gender and Women's Studies. After graduation, I moved to Maui, Hawaii and did a workaway there. I was planning to stay for three months, but absolutely loved it and extended my time there to five months. I was working at a regenerative organic start-up farm and loved learning about the environment, small business, and native Hawaiian culture. I went back home for a couple of months and then set off for an extended European backpacking trip.

    I was in Europe for a total of six months and traveled through nineteen different countries! I traveled with friends for about two months and for the other four months, I was exploring alone. I did three workaways in Turkey; my favorite one was in Istanbul where I taught conversational English to amazing Turkish adults. I learned so much through solo travel and seeing all of these countries but my favorite part of my travels was when I got to slow down and truly experience a culture. I met such amazing people during this time which has really inspired me to travel again... next adventure is Southeast Asia!

    My dream is to become a professor one day, so my future plans are to go back to school and get a PhD in Sociology. For now, though, I am learning through travel. As they say "the world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page."

  • Intereses

    Montaña
    Playa
    Naturaleza
    Acampada
    Deportes de aventura
    Deportes acuáticos
    Fitness
    Yoga / bienestar
    Ciclismo
    Baile
    Actividades al aire libre
    Senderismo
    Trabajo de caridad
    Agricultura
    Jardinería
    Sostenibilidad
    Mascotas
    Idiomas
    Escritura
    Libros

    mostrar más
  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Principiante

    Más información sobre tus intereses idiomáticos
    I think there is a lot of value in being able to speak to people in their own language no matter where you are. I know that it is not easy to learn another language and that even getting to a conversational level takes a lot of work. I am interested in learning as much as I can in whatever place I end up doing a workaway in, even if I only learn the basics. As for teaching, I am more than happy to teach English to anyone that has an interest.

    Buscar un colega de idioma

  • Habilidades y conocimientos que quiero compartir o aprender

    Me interesa:  

    Trabajo de caridad
    Cocinar para toda la familia

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Proyectos artísticos
    Cuidado de animales

    Puedo enseñar:  

    Idiomas
    Enseñanza
    Jardinería
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Ayuda doméstica
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    I would love to work in a teaching position so I will describe my skills that relate to teaching here. If you would like to learn more information about other skills and experiences that I have that are not teaching related please let me know and I will send over my resume for you!

    As for teaching experience, I have a lot of different experiences in different contexts. Most recently, a couple of months ago, I completed my TEFL class and the practicum component in which I tutored two adults one-on-one for twenty hours total. For one of these students, during our sessions, we met in person and just spent time together talking conversationally. The other student I tutored online and helped her with conversational English and idioms, and taught her about American culture.

    I also have a few experiences teaching children. I taught at a preschool for a year and taught kids aged 0-3. The preschool provided us with a curriculum which I implemented. I loved spending time with the kids and seeing them learn. I also taught a running class for 8-12-year-olds in 2021. I was responsible for planning a running workout for the class twice a week and leading the kids through it. Lastly, I was the field supervisor in 2021 at a summer program where I would go to different parks and bring sports and recreational equipment and lead kids through different activities. Children aged 2-14 came to the program and I worked with all of them. I had to be flexible and think on my feet to come up with different activities that the kids would have fun doing.

    I am also really interested in working on a farm. As I stated earlier in my profile, I worked as a workawayer on a regenerative farm in Maui, Hawaii in 2021-2022 for six months. I absolutely loved the experience and it was hard to leave. During my time there I spent 25 hours a week working on the farm and learned so much about farm maintenance, harvesting, planting, farm tours, small business, etc. This was relatively hard work but I loved it and learned that I genuinely enjoy working hard.

    As for my general personality, I am very hard working but also love to make things fun. I am a curious person and I love learning in any way I can. I am very positive and always look on the bright side of things.

  • Edad

    24

  • Algo más...

    I love reading. I think that it comes from my love of learning in general. I am always looking for new book recommendations and love giving people my book recommendations too. My favorite book is Just Mercy because it taught me about an injustice going on in my home country that I did not understand well before reading. I recently got a Kindle to travel with which has been awesome, so much easier to carry around!

    I love being outside as well. I grew up in a family that went on lots of camping trips which gave me an appreciation of the outdoors at an early age. I love to bike, run, hike, surf, and just explore. I really enjoy being active and try to get movement in every day.

    As explained earlier in my application I love learning in any way that I can, whether this is by pushing myself out of my comfort zone to try new things and grow or traveling to new places to learn about other ways of life. I am very open-minded and appreciate the way travel expands my perspective.

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia

    • Dieta especial
      I am vegetarian. I eat eggs and cheese. Besides this, I am not picky at all and will try anything.

Comentarios



Amigos

Fotos

Comentarios