Bruce & Kye

  • Gran Bretaña
  • Inicia sesión para ver la actividad reciente

Medallas (3)

Super Workawayer
Explorer

Información de perfil

  • Información de viaje

    Ahora estamos

    viajando

    Nuestro próximo destino:

    Chile - Desde Oct 2022 Hasta Feb 2023
    Ver todos
  • Descripción

    Hello! We are a British couple who have quit our jobs summer 2019 to live as sustainably as we can - while seeing new places, learning new skills and meeting new people. We are both in our early 50s, with 2 sons grown up and left home, so it’s time for us to do something different and help look after our planet.

    We have enjoyed volunteering at music festivals in England most summers, doing stewarding, recycling, composting, and running children’s activities. We are enthusiastic, hard workers and don’t mind getting hot, cold, tired, wet, muddy…. We like to be happy and laugh and smile - and we love sitting around a table or a fire, sharing food and stories.

    We are keen to learn more about organic and permaculture gardening/farming, and sustainable lifestyles, low impact buildings, renewable energy, composting toilets, habitat restoration and conservation. Maybe in the future we will be able to start our own project with all the new skills we learn …

    We have thoroughly enjoyed several Workaway experiences: organic gardening in Spain, volunteering on organic fincas in Costa Rica and Panama, working in a permaculture community in Colombia, farming, gardening and villa maintenance in Germany, Italy, Spain, France and Greece. We have also been working on organic farms in the UK through the Wwoof scheme (Worldwide working on organic farms). Our special ability seems to be improving hosts' compost systems. But we have learned lots about soil care, water management, and all sorts of fruit and vegetable growing tips and tricks, as well as other maintenance and building work.

  • Intereses

    Montaña
    Naturaleza
    Acampada
    Actividades al aire libre
    Senderismo
    Trabajo de caridad
    Agricultura
    Jardinería
    Sostenibilidad
    Bricolaje y manualidades
    Cocina y alimentación
    Vegetariano o vegano
    Política / justicia social
    Cultura
    Cuidado de plantas
  • Habilidades y conocimientos que queremos compartir o aprender

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Vida en una granja
    Proyectos ecológicos
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    We have spent much of the last 20 years as university lecturers, teaching and researching ecology and environmental science (Bruce) and sociology (Kye), and have a lot of experience working with young people, doing biodiversity surveys (Bruce) and environmental education (both).

    Before being lecturers, we did a variety of other jobs, including community composting (Kye), and bar and café work. Bruce spent several years as Treasurer of a local Friends of the Earth group. Kye has been volunteering for the last 2 years with a project that uses food saved from landfill to offer healthy meals for disadvantaged communities.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Alemán: Principiante
    Español: Principiante
    Francés: Principiante

  • Edad

    54 & 53

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia

    • Dieta especial
      We both try to be as vegan as we can - but are pragmatic when necessary...

Comentarios



Amigos

Fotos

Comentarios