Alexis & Victor

  • Estados Unidos & Colombia
  • Inicia sesión para ver la actividad reciente

Medallas (2)

Top Workawayer
Explorer

Información de perfil

  • Información de viaje

    Ahora estamos

    en casa

    Actividades que nos interesan:

    We love to be outside! Jobs that allow us to have ample time in the outdoors, either for the work itself or in our free time, are ideal for us! We enjoy being able to learn new skills and practices!

  • Descripción

    We are a young, active, vegetarian married couple that left Bogotá in July 2021 in favor of seeing Colombia, Ecuador, and Peru through Workaway experiences. We are going very slowly, staying with hosts a week or two each, in order to get to know the area we're in and also see our projects to completion.
    Projects that interest us most are planting trees, gardening, cooking, animal care, and anything else physical and/or outside. Language exchange and childcare opportunities are also welcome. We are always looking to learn new skills to challenge ourselves, so we are not intimidated by trying something for the first time.

  • Intereses

    Montaña
    Naturaleza
    Acampada
    Deportes de aventura
    Fitness
    Yoga / bienestar
    Baile
    Actividades al aire libre
    Senderismo
    Vida en autocaravana
    Agricultura
    Jardinería
    Carpintería
    Sostenibilidad
    Animales
    Mascotas
    Idiomas
    Arte y diseño
    Bricolaje y manualidades
    Escritura

    mostrar más
  • Habilidades y conocimientos que queremos compartir o aprender

    Nos interesa:  

    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Compañía para ancianos
    Vida en una granja
    Proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
    Hostelería/turismo
    Trabajo de caridad
    Proyectos artísticos

    Podemos enseñar:  

    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Práctica de idiomas
    Enseñanza
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    We are both open to learning anything new. We like to work physically but have creative opportunities as well.
    Since we both worked on cruise ships for a few years, (how we met) we are extremely flexible* with schedules and activities changing by the hour. *Except that we are not open to being apart of animal agriculture.
    Alexis is a licensed Health Teacher with nearly a decade of experience with children in some capacity, but wants to try something new. After university, she moved to Korea to teach English. Upon her return, she was a substitute teacher of all ages and subjects while also working with kids and adults with a range of different/disabilities. Next, she worked in the Kids' Club/nursery onboard cruise ships. Most recently, she taught English online to students in China, something she also did while backpacking around Europe for 8 months. Alexis can check/update grammar of profiles or other documents if desired.
    Victor has worked many jobs in a variety of fields, mostly sales and communications. After high school, he was in the Colombian Police Force before starting on ships. There, he worked in different sales departments; his favorite was in the art gallery. He speaks multiple languages and loves to practice them with anyone he can! Victor's greatest skills to be utilized are his attention to detail and persistent focus toward a goal. Any technological, organizational, or cleaning task given will be executed thoroughly. His English is also near-perfect, after having lived in England for a year.
    From April-June 2020, we worked with four different Workaway hosts while traveling around in our van through the Western United States.
    **Workaway-specific experience: With past hosts, we have done: composting, weeding, (of beds/gardens as well as general property weeding) weedwhacking, planting of seeds and transferring of smaller plants into gardens and beds, watering, construction of planters/large beds and wooden patio furniture with power tools, spiritual/cultural exchange, teaching English to children and adults, animal care, home renovations, dry stone construction, painting, coffee processing, home organization, general cleaning, general physical labor, and more!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Francés: Intermedio
    Italiano: Intermedio

    Más información sobre tus intereses idiomáticos
    Alexis is a native English speaker from Minnesota, USA. She is fully capable of holding a conversation in Spanish, but could always use more practice! Victor is a native Spanish speaker from Bogotá, Colombia. He is interested in expanding his intermediate holding of Italian and French. We are currently learning American sign language together.

    Buscar un colega de idioma

  • Edad

    29 & 27

  • Algo más...

    In between work experiences, we like to hike, bike, swim, kayak, read, write, cook, learn languages, meditate and practice yoga, and cook some more.
    We enjoy discussing poetry, philosophy, spirituality, space, travel, you name it!
    We love games! Board games, card games, word games. Victor is a chess champion. Alexis almost always wins Connect 4, though.
    Other preferred sedentary time passers include reading, writing, watching documentaries and movies, practicing languages, and creative projects when possible.

    ***In response to our one 3-star review: That was left for us after we had left a 4-star review for the host. The host was upset because her English Institute sells packages to students promising to be taught by native English speakers, but isn't willing to pay for teachers, so she only uses Workaway. By us giving her a less-than-amazing review, we hurt her chances of getting unpaid volunteers, thus potentially toppling her whole business structure, which is honestly a bit of a scam. We do have standards but we do not think we are demanding. We are very communicative with our hosts before and during our stays, we remain flexible about living and working conditions, but we always leave factual feedback for future volunteers because this is a community in which honesty is invaluable. We hope you will be able to look beyond her sour and spiteful review and give us a chance to help out on your projects.***

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia
      No known allergies aside from seasonal/airborne irritants (for Alexis)

    • Dieta especial
      Between vegan and vegetarian.

Comentarios



Amigos

Fotos

Comentarios