Sydney & Alan

Desde: Estados Unidos

  • ...

    Tipo de cuenta

    Cuenta conjunta

  • ...

    Viajar a

    Estados Unidos

  • ...

    Fechas de viaje

    05/05/2020 - 01/01/2021

  • Medallas

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Nuestra situación

    viajando

  • Descripción

    Hi! We are Syd and Alan.
    We are married, in our early 30s, and decided to step away from our careers for a year to travel the world. We want to learn more about ourselves and others, build relationships, learn to speak Spanish, and find opportunities to help and give back. Our international travel plans have been postponed due to Covid, but we are not letting that get us down! We want to make the most of our time in the western United States through Workaway…sharing and learning skills, meeting new people, and disconnecting from a lot of the busyness of life.

    We are hard-working, respectful, and open-minded people who love spending time outdoors, from mountain biking, to skiing, to backpacking and hiking. Syd is an environmental engineer who’s work is focused on water treatment. She enjoys beading (making jewelry) and baking all kinds of sweet and savory treats! Alan is a business leader with a background in finance. He loves music (playing guitar) and geography.

    We have experience volunteering in several different capacities. Both of us have done light building work through Habitat for Humanity. Alan volunteered on a sustainable macadamia nut farm in Mexico. He also has experience volunteering with kids in after school programs and also helping to build a playground. Sydney volunteered at the Songhai Center in Benin, Africa building ceramic water filters and helping with other building maintenance projects. She also has been involved with a local women’s shelter, and has participated in art projects.

    We consider ourselves very teachable. We want to soak up as much knowledge/skill as a host is willing to share with us. We are independent and well-organized. Our goals during our Workaway experiences are to be present, to learn, and to be open to new experiences.

  • Habilidades y conocimientos que queremos compartir o aprender

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Compañía para ancianos
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Vida en una granja
    Proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
    Hostelería/turismo
    Trabajo de caridad
    Práctica de idiomas
    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet
    Enseñanza
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    Yard work
    Gardening
    Arts and crafts
    Painting
    Organizing
    Basic computer help
    Cooking and baking (specializing in vegetarian/vegan)
    Great with kids and animals!

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Principiante

  • Edad

    32 & 33

  • Algo más...

    We like playing card games and board games like Gin and Codenames, and are into folk music. Syd is a lover of pugs (and really all animals) and also the Harry Potter series (she even has a HP tattoo!). Alan is a complete fanatic for his favorite football/soccer team, Liverpool FC.

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia

    • Dieta especial
      We typically eat vegetarian/vegan

Fotos

Comentarios