Toria & Dom

Desde: Gran Bretaña

  • ...

    Tipo de cuenta

    Cuenta conjunta

  • ...

    Viajar a

    Croacia, Eslovenia, Estados Unidos, Francia, Gran Bretaña, Grecia, India, Italia, Nueva Zelanda, Portugal

  • ...

    Fechas de viaje

    01/04/2019 - 31/12/2021

  • Medallas

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Nuestra situación

    viajando


    We are in southern France at the moment (October) and would love to help out and meet local people.

  • Descripción

    Hi fellow adventurers and kind hosts. We are Toria, a friendly independent soul, a lover of wild places and of simple living, and Dom, a sociable fun-loving dad of two grown daughters, adventurous, enthusiastic and loving new experiences. We are based in Dom's converted supermarket delivery van, Jim (Morrison)!

    This used to be just Toria's account, so watch this space for more from Dom below! In the meantime...

    Toria: from the U.K. but my nomadic tendencies mean I have worked on incredible projects and jobs all around the world. My main network is around Bristol and Devon, and I spend a lot of my time in the latter, and in Wales too. I always enjoy new adventures and experiences and keep a level of flexibility in my working life for this.

    I love meeting people, especially others who are passionate about having a small footprint and staying connected to the natural world. The kind of opportunities I am hoping to find are in rural places, with positive people. My preferred help exchange areas are mostly practical, largely with animals or working the land, as I love being outside, but I'll put my hand to anything! I'd love to learn more about permaculture and growing.

    I've been lucky to hang out in some special places over the years - my highlight so far being a few years living in the interior of Guyana, a time that left a real mark on me. So I'm good at getting on with things under my own steam and adjusting to all sorts of situations. Some of my favourite things are pubs, dogs, maps, comedy and blues music. I love camping out, hiking, swimming in rivers, watching wildlife, soaking up the sunshine, yoga, swing dancing and small folky festivals. I’m a social bean, but quiet time is important too.

    I'd like to spend more of my future helping people reconnect with the natural world and healing or slowing down - this is my greatest passion.

  • Intereses

    Montaña
    Naturaleza
    Acampada
    Navegar / barcos
    Deportes de aventura
    Deportes acuáticos
    Deportes de equipo
    Yoga / bienestar
    Ciclismo
    Baile
    Actividades al aire libre
    Senderismo
    Vida en autocaravana
    Trabajo de caridad
    Jardinería
    Carpintería
    Sostenibilidad
    Animales
    Mascotas
    Arte y diseño

    mostrar más
  • Habilidades y conocimientos que queremos compartir o aprender

    Nos interesa:  

    Proyectos artísticos
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Jardinería
    Compañía para ancianos
    Mantenimiento general
    Vida en una granja
    Proyectos ecológicos
    Hostelería/turismo
    Trabajo de caridad
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

    Podemos enseñar:  

    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    Toria: My working background is mainly in field ecology & community development - I'm a great organiser and planner and good with people including setting up and running projects in a developing country. I have also worked as a PA and have a variety of administration experience.

    I've got a tonne of experience animal sitting for all sorts of beasties and I'm potty about animals. I grew up with horses and have cared for a great variety of other animals over the years - from tiny furry things to milking cows. I've looked after dogs of all shapes and sizes from Leonburgers to Jack Russels.

    I think I’m a fairly hardy sort! I’ve done a lot of practical conservation work through my life from the land management side of things to wildlife monitoring and aviculture. I prefer being outside but am great at cleaning too if it needs doing. I’m all about attention to detail and have worked in b&bs and for the YHA - I really enjoy hospitality. I think I’m a pretty easy going can-do sort of character with initiative and love to learn new skills. I'm good with people and customer facing work and have experience in rural eco and adventure tourism in India and Guayana.

    I've done a little renovation and can throw a bit of common sense at most practical projects if you show me how!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Español: Principiante
    Francés: Principiante

    Más información sobre tus intereses idiomáticos
    Este workawayer ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro. Ponte en contacto con él directamente para hablar sobre ello.

  • Edad

    43 & 47

  • Algo más...

    Toria: I’ve got a good knowledge of British wildlife and a fairly recent post grad in Ecology if that could ever come in handy, or happy to share skills. I’m really keen to learn about community living and rural living as well as sustainability.

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia

    • Dieta especial
      Toria tries to only eat dairy or meat if she know it's source. Dom is vegan

Fotos

Comentarios