Thane

Desde: Canadá

  • ...

    Tipo de cuenta

    Cuenta individual

  • ...

    Viajar a

    Canadá

  • ...

    Fechas de viaje

    14/07/2015 - 27/07/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    330

  • Medallas

    Explorer
    Super Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Descripción

    Hello , My name is Thane(r)....Thank you for taking the time to read my profile.
    I will try and make this brief to give you an overall snapshot of who I am.
    I have recently retired early and have time on my hands to continue travelling, meeting people, learning cultures and becoming involved... with longer month(s) stays of course....what better way to do this than wokaway.
    When I travel I prefer to spend my time more constructively and interact with like minded people in the community, I don't consider myself as a tourist but a traveller. SO when I travel I stay in accommodations that are going to give me interaction with local people, hostels and the like. I am a host and have been hosted on couchsurfing.com for approx. 10 years.
    https://www.couchsurfing.com/people/thaner
    I have stayed thru non profit and volunteered with organizations in Central America.
    www.laislafoundation.org. I prefer this way to travel, It is about the people.
    Lifestyle;
    I am extremely active, I run to keep fit and compete in various half marathons and triathlons. Recently I've completed my Life guarding certification. I cycle everywhere and have biked across Canada, I paddle my kayak, canoe and cross country ski in the winter. I practice yoga regularly. I am a certified diver thru PADI and have recently (2017) completed my Divemaster certification in Indoneasia
    I camp in the back country here in the Canadian wilderness and have survival skills. I care about the environment and the impact humans have on mother earth. I am involved and try to be active in my community here at home and regularly attend and volunteer at festivals, art projects and non profit organizations.
    I have attended and participated in an art festival called Burningman several times, the reason I mention this is because of the overwhelming and unique experience. I have also worked as a host in campgrounds here in Canada and while travelling in my camper van, recently I have been a guest host at a Bed and Breakfast in a ski resort area here in the mountains in Western Canada.
    http://www.alpenroserevelstoke.com
    http://burningman.org/
    At home I love to garden, I have vegetable gardens, fruit trees, herbs. I have preserve my wares, canning to dehydration, making jams in the fall and have developed exceptional cooking skills. I draw in my down time and enjoy a good book. I have also worked in the film industry locally as an actor from time to time.
    I'm a male, 50 and served 27 years professionally employed as a public servant in emergency services. With this comes a well rounded set of skills such as; communicating with people, problem solving, multi tasking, organizing and managing people, attention to detail, computer skills as well as first aid and first responder level training to name a few.
    I am Canadian, and I live in a city of approx. 850,000 called Winnipeg, Canada. Our climate is very diverse, from -30 in winters to 40 degrees in the summer months. I was born and raised in a small farming community before making my trek to a much larger city where I have lived up to this point. I have 2 adult children in their 20s.
    Growing up on a farm also gave me a wide variety of skills. You name it , If I haven't done it before I will learn quickly. I have operated large farming equipment and machinery, worked with animals, horses, (some riding experience) and cattle also I am a lover of dogs. I consider myself a carpenter of sorts and have renovated 3 homes in the past, ripping apart bathrooms, total "gut" jobs etc. Im mechanically inclined and have worked on cars over the years, I own a VW westfaia camper Van so repairs are often. Lets see what else, any type of landscaping and or outdoor manual labour I can manage myself. A past time passion of mine is To reclaim or re-finish antiques and have the appreciation for fine furniture.
    I have worked part time with a tree removal service operating small engines like chain saws and pruners. I have worked with cement, repairing and pouring foundations, worked with brick and mortar and of course tile, my problem sometimes is that I am a perfectionist. During the renovations that I mentioned included, framing and structural integrity, plumbing, electrical, insulating and shingling the roof. I can use a welder and cutting torch. Recently I have installed a pump system to draw river water up to my gardens.
    I digress, my profile is a work in progress......
    2017 has given me experience in teaching overseas, partially thru Workaway...I taught english to business executives in Budapest Hungary and english to High school students in Vietnam. I had also worked in the Netherlands for a couple months at a collective doing house maintenance. While in Indoneasia (Gili Air)I worked at a dive shop for 2 months while completing my Dive Masters. I am also available for house sitting duties.
    2018 Ive traveled and lived in my VW van from Alaska - Baja Mexico, and places in between US and Canada. From painting million dollar houses on Vancouver Island to building a fence in Topanga Canyon in California , working as a host at a Bed and Breakfast in Revelstoke BC and cleaning the Zoo aquariums Tanks that house the Polar bears and Seals at the Winnipeg zoo, and many more experiences....I feel so blessed with the experiences.

  • Tipo de ayuda

    Jardinería
    Construcción
    Mantenimiento / bricolage
    Cocinar / compras
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyecto ecológico
    Ayuda en casa
    Ayuda con animales
    Turismo
    Ayuda con idiomas
    Projecto artístico
    Enseñar

  • Que habilidades tienes?

    Carpentry, framing, roofing, painting, shingling, Electrical, Plumbing, Concrete finishing, foundation work, mechanically inclined, welding. Gardening, landscaping, manual labor in all areas have worked in the arborist community.
    Certified in First aid and first responder, Certified through National Lifegaurd Saving Society. International Drivers licence. Certified PADI DiveMaster
    People skills, I'm a very entertaining and a laid back personality, I make anyone feel at ease. I also teach English.

  • Idiomas hablados

    English, learning Spanish

  • Edad

    50

  • Nacionalidad

    Canadian Aboriginal with a Scottish mother

  • Algo más...

    Bonded, trustworthy, Canadian Peace officer status for 27 years, reliable work ethic.

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia

    • Dieta especial
      I eat, therefor I am

Fotos

a recent project in my back yard
Yes I painted the canoe!!
My previous life as a professional
Art Project at Burningman
Renos to my home
Blacksmithing course
Workaway, teaching english in Vietnam
A workaway build out of re-claimed lumber
Workaway- Stain glass window restoration project in Amsterdam
Workaway, teaching english in Hungary
Sometimes there is a chicken around
Working at a dive shop, getting my master diver certification.
Working at the zoo cleaning the polar bear and seal tanks
Painting a Canvass fence

Comentarios