SophiaRefoy

Desde: Gran Bretaña

  • ...

    Tipo de cuenta

    Cuenta individual

  • ...

    Viajar a

    Austria, Dinamarca, Estonia, Gran Bretaña, Islandia, Noruega, Polonia, República Checa, Suecia

  • ...

    Fechas de viaje

    27/06/2019 - 01/01/2021

  • Medallas

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Mi situación

    viajando

  • Descripción

    This year I am looking to learn more about farming and sustainable practices! I'd love to learn more about keeping and caring for livestock. I have some farm experience which I'd like to build on. I did a workaway placement during the lambing season on a working sheep farm in England where I helped with the herding, herding-dog training, milking of the sheep and general day to day work on the farm, and another in Estonia. However I didn't have the chance to be involved in the cheese-making as I was so busy with the animals! I'd love to learn about cheese-making, preserving food and maybe even bee-keeping! I'd quite like to learn how to fish.

    I have also worked on a small scale organic food farm in Turkey where I helped plant seedlings and prepare the soil. My family members are keen gardeners and my dad has an allotment in the city which I help him with when I visit so I have some experience with plants and growing food but this is an area I'd need to learn more about.

    I love cooking and baking and I like learning about new recipes I can share at home. I do catering for the big cycling events at my local long-distance cycling club's races in London. I cook hot meals and cakes for between 60 and 150 people each time and so far I have used Moroccan, French, English, Finnish and Iranian recipes. I'd love to learn new recipes and I can help with some cooking for you as well. I usually make Italian style food (one side of my family is Italian) or traditional English dished (It has a bad reputation but I promise it's good)

    I really enjoy working with other workawayers in a team or alongside them and I enjoy the company but I'm also capable and comfortable working independently. I try my hardest to pick up new skills quickly and work efficiently and I have never needed constant supervision.

    I'm always open to learning new creative skills such as knitting, weaving, wood carving etc!

    I am not qualified for childcare and I don't feel comfortable babysitting or childminding.

  • Habilidades y conocimientos que quiero compartir o aprender

    Me interesa:  

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Proyectos ecológicos
    Proyectos artísticos

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Jardinería
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Vida en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
    Hostelería/turismo
    Trabajo de caridad
    Práctica de idiomas
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    *️️️️️️️Farm Experience:
    o -Organic sheep dairy farm in England
     Walking the fields each morning to checking for new lambs or any livestock in distress.
     Herding sheep with working collies into the main farmyard and parlour for milking every day.
     Cleaning sheep’s udders and manually attaching pumps for mechanical milking.
     Cleaning yard and sterilising equipment to maintain hygiene and ensure milk is fit for cheese making.
     Twice daily refreshing of bedding and feeding of sheep, pigs and poultry.
     Daily checking and counting of herd of cows.
     Bottle-feeding lambs three times a day.
     Helping repair fences.
     Various odd jobs such as feet trimming of some sheep, once went to farmers market to help sell cheese.
    o -Animal rescue ranch in Turkey
     Daily feeding of horse, ducks, chickens, 100 cats and 30 dogs.
     Egg collection.
     Attending to any animals needing bandaged changed or other attention.
     Daily vacuuming, mopping and cat litter changing.
     Exercising, training and playing with dogs.
     Successfully supervised the running of the ranch for a weekend while the owners went away for a break.
    o -Organic food farm in Turkey
     Planting seeds
     Transplanting seedling in field
     Digging ground to prepare for seedling transplantation
     Lots of watering!
     Helping with turkeys and chickens

    *️️️️️️️Animal Experience: Lots of experience with dogs and cats, not so much with horses but I'm willing to be taught.

    *️️️️️️️Food Industry Experience:
    -Catering for cycle races. I plan and making hot meals and cakes for the finish line at long-distance cycling events
    in London during spring (150 people).
    -Cheesemonger selling award winning British cheeses at the famous Neal's Yard Dairy in London.

    *️️️️️️️Hostel experience: I worked in a hostel in Tallinn for a summer where I worked in a team with two other workers to run the hostel and we took turns doing shifts at the reception desk, cleaning and interacting with the guests.

    *️️️️️I'm a keen photographer and I'm happy to help out with photos for social media/websites. Examples of my work can be found at refoy.co.uk

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido
    French: Fluido
    Spanish: Principiante

  • Edad

    25

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia
      Peppers (not life-threatening but makes me ill)

    • Dieta especial

Fotos

Comentarios