Sid

  • Gran Bretaña
  • Inicia sesión para ver la actividad reciente

Medallas (1)

Explorer

Información de perfil

  • Información de viaje

    Ahora estoy

    viajando

    Mi próximo destino:

    Mexico - Desde Nov 2021
    Ver todos
  • Descripción

    Sid, 22, UK

    In 2019 I volunteered on Kibbutz Nir Yitzhak (Israel) for one year as a gardener. I fell in love with working the land, being in nature (the Negev Desert) and small community living. Now i am travelling Latin America looking to do more of what makes me happy.

    I was in southern Mexico for 3 months, in Oaxaca for 2 of those months on a workaway. We camped in a beautiful forest doing adobe house bio construction, taking care of gardens and making organic peanut butter.

    Then I spent one month camping in the jungle in Peten, Guatemala doing more gardening, Mayan bioconstruction with limestone and building palapas. On this project we were building a permaculture school and taught local kids about plants, working the land and a little bit of English.

    My third workaway was on the volcano in Lago Aititlan where we grew a lot of dragon fruit so the work mainly involved using the pickaxe and iron bar to dig out rocks from the mountain, then build a stone structure to grow the dragon fruit. Also here I built a deep irrigation system for the small garden.

    4th workaway was in a small village in San Luis Potosi for one month. There i helped with the construction of a foundation for a cabana, took care of gardens and sometimes worked in the pizza restaurant owned by the family. Also here was a big climbing community, I had never rock climbed before but I love trying and learning new things and the passionate community really taught me a lot, made me fall in love with climbing and helped me realise how strong I am.

    5th workaway was in in Xalapa, Veracruz where i did more adobe bioconstruction, paintint, sanding and helped build a mirador from bamboo.

    In my 9 months of travel most of the time I have been sleeping in a tent, I love camping always have since I was a kid. And the workaways all had no electricity, dry toilets and very secluded from cities. I do not like cities so much, I much prefer to sleep and live in tune with nature with only the necessities. Being outdoors is freedom.

    I am trying to learn about permaculture, bioconstruction and medicinal plants through workawaying. I have experience with lots of tools; machetes, pickaxe, shovel, iron bar, wheel barrow and a little experience with power tools also. I love getting dirty and working with my hands. I have some knowledge of gardening and like to take care of plants, nothing tastes better than a tomato you planted yourself.

    In my free time I love to play cards (love learning new games) and board games, listen to music (all kinds but mostly jazz) and read and write. Community living is very important to me so I treat everyone I have the opportunity to live with like family.

    My Spanish is not perfect but i try to speak as much as I can and want to continue practicing!

    At the end of July i am coming to South America, first Colombia to continue my journey, growing and learning.

    I hope we get to meet in person and share some experiences together. Peace x

  • Intereses

    Montaña
    Playa
    Naturaleza
    Acampada
    Actividades al aire libre
    Senderismo
    Trabajo de caridad
    Agricultura
    Jardinería
    Carpintería
    Sostenibilidad
    Animales
    Mascotas
    Idiomas
    Arquitectura
    Arte y diseño
    Bricolaje y manualidades
    Escritura
    Libros
    Música

    mostrar más
  • Habilidades y conocimientos que quiero compartir o aprender

    Me interesa:  

    Práctica de idiomas
    Trabajo de caridad
    Proyectos artísticos
    Enseñanza
    Hostelería/turismo
    Mantenimiento general

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Vida en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    Gardening, machete and hand tools, irrigation, bioconstruction, permaculture.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio

    Más información sobre tus intereses idiomáticos
    I want to learn Spanish during my travels and am happy to teach English!

    Buscar un colega de idioma

  • Edad

    22

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia

    • Dieta especial
      vegetarien all my life but eat meat when it is offered to me

Amigos

Fotos

Comentarios